We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great skiing base”
Review of The Aarburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Aarburg
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great skiing base”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Used this as a base for our ski trip in March 2013.

The hotel is a 5-7 min walk to the station and an easy stroll to some of Interlaken's highly reviewed/regarded restaurants.

We were put up in room 8, no view of the river/mountains but generously sized for all our ski gear. The beds were two singles pushed together, comfortable and warm. Some updated towels would serve the hotel well.

Wifi connection was good.

Breakfast was generous, providing much needed fuel for our skiing days.

We can't thank friendly Gabriella enough for all her help and advice.

Australian travelers.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_time9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    37
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
47
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My boyfriend an I stayed here for 3 nights over Christmas and were extremely pleased with our stay. We ended up arriving several hours before the check-in time, but we were welcomed by a cheerful staff member who let us drop off our bags in our room and rest a while even though our room was not entirely ready. We booked a double room and were slightly surprised by two twin beds pushed together instead of a double bed - nonetheless they were very comfortable. The room was spacious, clean and offered the most incredible view of the alps. The included breakfast was delicious and each morning we were offered tea, coffee or hot chocolate by a sweet woman who was also very knowledgeable of activities and sights in the area. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Interlaken.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanieM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Aarburg for 3 days and we booked a double room. When we arrived the staff gave us the family room which really exceed our expectation. The room size is very spacious and clean. Bathroom is also very clean.
The staffs are very attentive and friendly. We also met Britta, the owner of the hotel, she gave us some recommendation on what to visit in Interlaken. We had some drinks in the restaurants with some friendly regulars and we felt welcome not only by the owner or the staffs but also the locals. Unfortunately we did not dine in the restaurant, but I am sure next time if we visited Interlaken we will definitely stay here again and taste the meal of the restaurant.
Thank you Britta and all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizzkepik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I booked a double room and to our delight was given a family room. The rooms and toilet were spacious and clean. Each room has a TV. The double room faced the lake which is beautiful turquoise colour. I would strongly recommend taking a stroll along the lake.

The restaurant serves good authentic Swiss food, price pretty much the same everywhere. Breakfast (included with room reservation) was good and filing too.

The owners/waitresses were very friendly and helpful. One of them helped us with our luggage up the stairs. This is the only down side -no elevator!

On the whole, we had a wonderful experience staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twilightlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Interlaken in early September. We chose this hotel after reading great reviews and had booked a double room in May. Our trains were delayed so we reached Hotel Aarburg late evening. When we got there the lady looked confused and was clearly not expecting us. We gave her the printout of our reservations and she was even more confused and said they didn't have a room for us and were not expecting us, they didn't have any reservations!!! She checked her book again and said she only has one single room vacant but it would be really small for us. She said it wasn't her fault that they didn't receive any reservations from us, which is weird since we had a printout confirming one! Finally she rang another hotel and found us a room there and we were too exhausted to argue. Thankfully the other hotel was comfortable and the owners there were really warm and helpful! We later got to know that this does happen and often they find a room for the guests in another hotel. We had to pay the same room-prices as were decided when we booked and Hotel Aarburg would settle whatever extra.
PS: I guess since i didn't stay here I can't say much about the Value and Sleep quality rating, but i am unable to undo the ratings. Oops.

Room Tip: I understand that such things can happen but I would suggest that you call and confirm your bookings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saghag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We ate here on recommendation from our hotel and were not disappointed both my wife's and my meals were freshly cooked and were wonderful. The waitress, whom we assume as the owner was very friendly, we even tried to tip, and she returned some of the tip, explaining it as too much as most if the service is included. The service was a little slow, however was on par with the rest of Europe! I highly recommend this place for Athentic Swiss cuisine.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siberian District, Russia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

It's a very interesting hotel. The main business is a restaurant with great local cuisine on the first floor and only after that as an additional function it is a hotel with ten rooms on the second and third floors. This feature means that there is no reception at all - you take your room key from a waitress. If you need any service you should ask waitress directly. Despite this approach the hotel itself is quite cute: rooms are clean, but not too spacious. The price is more or less affordable, breakfast is nice and wireless internet is available everywhere. The view from the window is magnificent: mountains and rivers. It's exactly what you expect from Switzerland.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Begemoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#13 of 40 in Interlaken
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#31 of 40 in Interlaken
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#11 of 40 in Interlaken
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#17 of 40 in Interlaken
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aarburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aarburg

Property: The Aarburg
Address: Beatenbergstrasse 1, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aarburg 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Aarburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aarburg Hotel Unterseen
The Aarburg Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing