We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to be treated as a friend, stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lazy Falken Hotel & Backpackers
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Loved it! The location is perfect, a few blocks from Interlaken city centre. The rooms ranging from very large to very small, but i´s OK. What deserves congratulations is the service. Both the receptionist and the owner of the pub's owner were very nice to us. Recommend, everything worked.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalcenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for The Lazy Falken Hotel & Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 68 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Everything about the hotel was good......I Had read in the earlier reviews that you cannot check in before 16:00 but we reached there at 15:10 and we were given the keys to our room so nothing to complain about..... A very friendly and helpful staff...... The only thing that was upsetting was that they didn't have a double bed, two single bed were joint with a big gap in between....

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adigarud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We booked it through booking.com. The booking was for 2 rooms with attached bath and toilet. When we reached the hotel at 3 PM, we had to wait 1 hour to check in.To my utter shock, the 2nd room has no bath and the room is nothing more than the size of a toilet in a small US hotel. There was niether air conditioning or a fan in the room when the temperature is around 35 C during the day. The check in guys are the real consolation. They are both extremely nice and helpful and even volunteered to get our clothes laundered ( for a small fee, though). The stay would have been a disaster but for the wonderful yourng man and woman who managed the front desk. The common toilet in the 3rd floor did not have a light and even after telling the guy at the desk, he did nothing until our checkout.A very tiny staircase on which you had to lug your bags 4 flights up. I would never have booked it if I knew half of the problems with it.

Room Tip: Never ever go to this hotel unless this is the last place in the world.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frequenttravelelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Great big rooms, clean bathrooms, free internet, great location (close to the train station) and a really awesome breakfast. Also the staff are amazing, extremely helpful and they are full of great suggestions! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nay06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

positive points: good price, quiet hotel, free internet computer, there is bathroom and TV in the room, it is 5 min by foot from west train station, there is supermarket near.

negative points: basic breakfast, they charged me 4 swiss francs per night(I stayed 4 nights) due to the payment by card(it was the only place among 4 hotels I have been in Switzerland that charged the payment by card), check in 4 pm(which seems to be common in Interlaken), it is forbidden to eat in the rooms

In general is an excellent place, with very good cost-benefit relation

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gbrm2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Great experience staying here for our 2 day stop over. Great and helpful staff and the best possible view to knock back a few on the rooftop terrace.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thatguy702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

First and foremost, I enjoyed my stay in the hostel. I can only give it a "3" for reasons I'll list shortly. I liked the desk staff. Very informal, college dormitory feel to the interaction and they are mostly British and Australian, so they speak English and Swiss German. I am over 50, but hostels have figured prominently in my travel plans for years and this is the most at ease I've been in any of them. The kitchen was accessible and clean and there were cooking pans and tools and plates and silverware. Just a 10 minute walk from the train station, it was conviently located and, on sunny days you can lounge on the slightly cluttered (a kayak, some weeds, some lawn chair, a broken table and an ash tray) roof top and drink a local beer and gaze at the Alps
The down side: Mildew in the showers, you can't eat in your room, the beds are just a little uncomfortable and I imagine it could be noisy during the high season (I was there in September)
Despite my average rating, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank euro13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,238 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#30 of 40 in Interlaken
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Aarburg
The Aarburg
#3 of 8 in Unterseen
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 40 in Interlaken
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
#1 of 25 in Interlaken
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lazy Falken Hotel & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lazy Falken Hotel & Backpackers

Address: Spielmatte 8, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland (Formerly Falken & Backpacker Interlaken)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Unterseen
Price Range: $68 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lazy Falken Hotel & Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lazy Falken Hotel & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falken & Backpacker Interlaken Hotel Unterseen
Falken And Backpacker Interlaken
The Lazy Falken Hotel & Backpackers Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing