We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pub with fantastic food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Ball Inn

Blue Ball Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good pub with fantastic food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We visited the Blue Ball on Sunday 18th November and chose the carvery. The pub was most welcoming and the food excellent. I had the roast beef and my wife had the pork, 7 different seasonal veg, scrumptious Yorkshire Pudding and everything in quality and quantity. I can wholeheartedly recommend the Blue Ball and hope to visit again soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sedith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    69
    12
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent pub food and a warm welcome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were here in mid September and the fog had descended on Exmoor that evening. The pub was however warm and welcoming as usual for both humans and canines alike. The food was excellent with large portions. I also sampled the various good ales on offer. We will be back next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect old country inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We are just spending our last night in one of our favourite places. The Blue Balls has been so welcoming and friendly. This pub has such a warm atmosphere, the food is fantastic, huge tasty portions. The surrounding countryside is so beautiful, there are fantastic walks literally on the doorstep, walking up the hill and then smelling the wood fires inside spurs you onward into the pub. Our little dog had the best time staying with us in our room and joining us for dinner, brilliant. Good value for money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simone E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Saviour on a rainy day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stumbled across this pub on a wet and misty day. Went inside for a warming rum and the food looked so appealing we stayed longer and had a Sunday roast. Large portions with lots of different veg. Really enjoyed the meal and will visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahBCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Elaine & Malcolm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Lovely pub restaurant. Independent. Very friendly, even when crowded (Friday night). Big fire. The service and quality and variety of food was excellent. We went on Friday night and liked it so much we went back on Saturday! Very dog friendly too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ball Inn also viewed

Brendon, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Blue Ball Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing