We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of Blue Ball Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Ball Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Countisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

From the rustic facility, to the friendly management and staff, to the unpretentious but high quality food, to the good beers in the bar.......Go there people it is brilliant. Oh yeah, my dog Sasha gives it a big thumbs up too.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 447 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

I have stopped here once before a couple of years ago and positively loved it so it is disappointing to write this, non the less I think it is important to share my experience. The beds need sorting, they are wooden slat beds and left me with a serious bad back. The towels are hard and tiny and need replacing. Food which has always been excellent was somewhat lacking, dry and sometimes processed and clearly frozen.. The staff were somewhat of a vast range of pleasant bar staff and some rude, ignorant morning staff. The mature lady serving in the morning seemed overly keen to talk to some and yet completely ignorant and rude to others. Although I enjoyed my break it was more because of external walks and outings than the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MandM424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We met up with friends here for a long weekend. Our children are 9 and 2 years old but were well catered for: child friendly menus, children can stay in the bar and eat in the evening and the friendly owners always stopped to talk to them. The family room, no 12, has a double & bunk bed with an ensuite and a fabulous view. The inn is very old and has a rustic feel which adds to it's charm - it's not an MDF/ leather/minimalist pad! You have to be patient with the hot water supply coming through to the end of the house and having a shower head over the bath but the rooms are clean and comfortable. If you need anything you just have to ask. The location of the Blue Ball is perfect for visiting the North Devon coastline. The walks surrounding the inn are very scenic; we saw peregrine falcons soaring the nearby cliffs each day. The food is copious in quantity and very good - you may not need to eat lunch after the Blue Ball breakfast! We will definitely stay again and our friends will probably bring their dog - another plus for dog lovers.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank demelzapoldark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

A beautiful pub fully of character and interesting artefacts. The rooms are clean and well presented, plus you get a great breakfast. The menu had lots of variety and the food was excellent. This pub really is dog friendly too. Well worth visiting, would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We paid the extra for a room with a view, and we were pleased that we did as it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We were staying in Lynmouth and the owner of our B&B recommended this as 'the place the locals go to eat' The service was prompt and friendly and the food very tasty. I had fish and chips and although I rarely eat any of the batter, this was very thin and non-greasy. My companion had the lamb stew - very generous portion and he said it was delicious.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank HelenAnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Went here with friends. Two of us had the beef stroganoff which had way too much chilli in it. Someone maybe picked up the chilli powder instead of the paprika. Chilli absolutely smothered any flavour of stroganoff. In fact within two mouthfuls our lips had gone numb! Not the effect we expected from stroganoff. The spinach and ricotta vegetarian option had rather a lot if broccoli included. Left overs from Sunday lunch maybe. The fish with the fish and chips was rather watery. The lamb cutlets were good. Would certainly think twice before visiting again

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Ended up here by mistake, booked another place with late rooms (late rooms messed up) but with the T&C when signing up with late rooms the place you booked has to find you an alternative accommodation and if it's more expensive the one you tried to book has to pick up the extra tab.
The blue ball was fab, staff were very friendly (and the dogs Molly & Poppy). The food was good quality and very plentiful, the place looked a little tiered and our room (6) the bath hot tap was the slowest ever book an appointment for a bath. All in all I would recommend the blue ball.
Well done people keep up the good work.

Room Tip: If you like a nice hot bath after a very nice long walk, phone ahead and get someone to run it for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Countisbury
1.5 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
257 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
12.3 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
317 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
755 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Parks Guest House
The Parks Guest House
#2 of 37 in Minehead
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ball Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ball Inn

Address: A39 | Countisbury, Lynmouth, Countisbury, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Countisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Countisbury
Price Range: $101 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Ball Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Ball Inn is a dog friendly traditional Inn located in the heart of the country’s most spectacular Hiking and Walking Trails on Exmoor, North Devon. Stay with us to relax, or to follow one of the seven circular walks through stunning countryside that start from the inn. Horse riding for experienced riders or complete novices can be arranged. Plenty of parking on site. Dogs, children and walkers are very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Blue Ball Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ball Hotel Countisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing