We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Inn for all Seasons”
Review of Blue Ball Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Ball Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Countisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An Inn for all Seasons”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We keep returning to the Blue Ball which offers good food and drink in an old pub atmosphere furnished with log fires and interesting objects - a boars head and a stags head come to mind! The staff are simply excellent and the house dogs behave so well! Most guests seem to bring their dogs, leading to a lively social exchange, and children are also welcome. The surrounding area is of great interest and excellent walking direction sheets are provided.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NODirection75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    106
    19
    14
    6
See reviews for
72
250
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

After five weeks in the UK, this was one of our all time favorite pubs for dining (and we virtually ate our dinners in a pub nearly every night). Fireplaces throughout the pub. On a hill in the countryside above Lymnmouth. Popular with people all around, and very much the locals. Worth the stop.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend and found the hotel friendly, cosy and characterful. The setting on the edge of exmoor is spectacular. The hotel is an old coach house type place with low beamed ceilings. We especially enjoyed the comfortable chairs by the open fires in the secluded lounges.
Our room was basic and in need of some maintenance but clean and tidy. Some rooms were in fact being refurbished during our stay.
The food was tasty, plentiful and reasonably priced, though I would keep to the basic fayre. There were a fine selection of real ales on tap.
This is a dog friendly place and several residents were staying with their dogs. If you donot like dogs in the restaurant or the thought that dogs will have stayed in your room then this may not be the place for you, otherwise I would heartlily recommend it.
We will be returning - with our dog!

Room Tip: Ask for a recently refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashfordlyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We decided to stay for a long weekend after having a great Sunday Lunch on our last stay last year. Have had a few short breaks in Lynton and Lynmouth but this was by far the best. Our room was clean and comfortable and exactly what you would expect in an old Inn. In fact we had the best sleep!! The food did not disappoint and everybody was friendly and welcoming. We will definately be back next year...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinP345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you just want to get away and you always fancied a place, and an area with olde world charm....Then this is it.Fantastic food, very friendly staff and really super dog friendly.This was our second visit, and we are already planning our third. The Blue Ball is ideally situated for hill walking . photography, or just doing nothing, we did all 3 !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was a stop off for us on our way home from a holiday in Cornwall, but we both wished we'd stayed longer. This is a beuatifully located Inn on the edge of the beautiful twin towns of Lynton and Lynmouth with wonderful competent friendly and obviously dedicated staff, a committed and caring owner and a very special 'feel'. This is not just a dog friendly Inn, as another reviewer has commented its a dog-centred Inn. So if you don't like dogs then I think you may find its not a place for you. However if you like travelling with your canines (or meeting other people's) and are on the hunt for a really warm and welcoming place to stay in a stunning landscape then you couldn't get better than this. Our room was warm, very clean and cosy. The bathroom was spotless and there was stacks of hot water and nice toiletries. We ate dinner here and the meals were both good - and came in such huge portions we really couldn't finish! Breakfast was very tasty - I particularly enjoyed the porridge which was most welcome on the first day of cold weather this year.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 which was lovely with views of Exmoor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SevernTrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenterden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a must for walkers and there dogs. We found the accommodation clean and comfortable . Breakfast very good and portions more than enough. We ate in there also in the evenings and dogs were more than welcome to be with you at all times, providing they were well behaved. And the walks around were superb , views stunning. Watersmeet not to be missed .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidTenterden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Countisbury
1.5 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
310 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
713 reviews
1.7 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
125 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Rockford Inn
The Rockford Inn
#1 of 1 in Brendon
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ball Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ball Inn

Property: Blue Ball Inn
Address: A39 | Countisbury, Lynmouth, Countisbury, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Countisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Countisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Ball Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Ball Inn is a dog friendly traditional Inn located in the heart of the country’s most spectacular Hiking and Walking Trails on Exmoor, North Devon. Stay with us to relax, or to follow one of the seven circular walks through stunning countryside that start from the inn. Horse riding for experienced riders or complete novices can be arranged. Plenty of parking on site. Dogs, children and walkers are very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Blue Ball Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ball Hotel Countisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing