We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Outside view of the property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside view of the property
Living room with wood burning stove Sitting room with open fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Outside view of the property
Living room with wood burning stove
Sitting room with open fire
Main bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Kitchen
bathroom
Back of house including yard
The Mourne Mountains
Guests in the kitchen
Guests visiting Finnis Southerraine
James on the quad
Florence the donkey
Marty the bull
The cattle
Lagananny Dolman
Way to travel at Grove Fort
Over the Rib on a snowy day showing the potato drills from 'famine' fame
Scarva Canal walk,
Fort Road - Great place for a walk!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dromore, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chinchitc...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stopped here for 4 days, lovely cosy guest house. When we arrived the heating was already on which we appreciated very much!

There was handmade scones left for us by Annette which was a lovely touch.

The accommodation was great, basic facilities which worked well. We had the fire lit in the front room most evenings which we enjoyed.

Every morning we would pop over and feed Florence the Donkey which we will miss!

Would deffo recommend and stay again, thanks to Ivan and Annette for making us feel welcome as soon as we arrived!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave the review. It is very much appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mervyn d
1 review
“Beautiful House Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed May 3, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Everything possible was done to make our stay as pleasent as possible Location was very good. Easy to find. Great for a family get away

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2017
Thank you very much for that lovely review. We appreciate the effort very much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyl0ckh...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent stay!”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Peaceful rural location surrounded by farmland with straightforward access to shops (20 min drive to large supermarkets near Lisburn with smaller shops 10 mins away). Farmhouse was very comfortable and well equipped. Annette was an excellent host and we enjoyed the scones on arrival!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. It is very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Scenic and Peaceful Holiday”
Reviewed April 12, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The owners could not have been more helpful in our booking and welcome, complete with fresh baked Irish scones! The cottage is well equipped and clean and and set in such a quiet and peaceful location. Our three sons (10, 8 and 5) loved playing in the courtyard, feeding the donkey carrots and playing on the trampoline! Our son cried when we had to come home!!

Thank you for such an warm, friendly welcome and making our holiday so enjoyable and comfortable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2017
Thank you for that lovely review. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family. Really enjoyed hearing the children playing, brought back memories. The countryside is missing these noises nowadays!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a good review. Much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marjorie...
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed November 10, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We found Grove Cottage by chance. It is off the beaten track but the Mourne region and Belfast are easily accessed. The house is comfortable and the bedrooms just right for a cottage, tastefully decorated and so quiet that a good night's sleep is guaranteed. Hospitality is apparent in the kind provision of basics on arrival, and the good folk of Grove Cottage do their utmost to make a stay enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a place to ourselves but with access to owners
Liked least: Initially found it difficult to find
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 16, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. It is very much appreciated! Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLENN P
CLEARFIELD
1 review
“Writer”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Very clean and tidy. Nicely decorated. Lovely and quiet out in the country. Annette and her husband are so nice and embody the Irish charm and hospitality. Always there when needed but not intrusive. Lots of room for family and friends. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review. It is very much appreciated. Annette & Ivan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing