We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Fief des Cordeliers
Capel Curig, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We only stayed one night but wished we stayed a week. The accommodation was great and so was the pool. The art in the main house was beautiful and the host were very welcoming and spoke perfect English. The views from the back of the house are breathtaking and they appear in the main photo. We plan to go back with the family hopefully in the very near future. I would highly recommend the property!!!

Room Tip: Any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyinlondon1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
24
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at 8 B&B's during our two weeks in France. This is a charming place, but not much interaction with the couple who run it. The room was incredibly cheap, but we were charged for breakfast much more than it was worth. We asked for a second croissant and were told that's all they had. When we arrived we were given a time for breakfast, but didn't know until we checked out two days later that we were being charged.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dancer099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lefiefdescordeliers, Propriétaire at Le Fief des Cordeliers, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
I need to react on this comment. First we did not give a time for breakfast, we ask when people would like to have breakfast within a time frame. Second, you have booked through booking.com and on your reservation it is clearly written that the breakfast is not included in the price of the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We really enjoyed our 1 night in this lovely B&B. Our room was so nice, grounds were beautiful, breakfast was delicious, location was great and above all MaryLyne was such a superb host. We would liked to have stayed longer to enjoy the lovely pool and the warm hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geeannWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed here during our driving holiday in France, having driven down through Brittany from Cherbourg over a few days. We were delighted to find this place as it is perfect for exploring the vinyards in the Loire region. This guesthouse is very French. It is an old, almost colonial, property which the owners bought and are developing. The owners themselves are very helpful and friendly. This is a house, situated overlooking the Loire, where you are free to roam the gardens, have picnics etc and there is a very nice outdoor pool to relax beside. The rooms are very big, well furnished, with four poster beds and huge ensuites. The views are spectacular. There is a winery close by ("Chateau du Putille") which does some very good value wines. (Also pay a visit to close by Brissac where you will find a "Cave du vin Loire" which does good wine tastings). They do not serve food in the evenings here (and breakfast is extra and usual French standard) but the village nearby has an excellent restaurant. The local bars are served by a pizza van that comes in the evening and a very pleasant evening can be had sitting outside by the Loire, drinking a beer and munching an excellent pizza! All in all, a very enjoyable few days here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrelandHolidayqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oeiras, Portugal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We only stayed 1 night on our way to Nantes, so we did not enjoy the full potential of this place. We got lost on the way and we called the owner to let her know and maybe get some directions, and she was great, so helpful. She was waiting for us when we arrived to show us the room. The room was very spacious, the bathroom was almost the same size as the bedroom itself. In the morning we took a walk around the property and it is beautiful! If you are travelling on summer (or warm days) please be aware of the mosquitoes and gnats, which are perfectly normal, but nevertheless...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptkaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I stayed in the gite here and it was very comfortable. The owners are wonderful hosts and speak very good english. It is about 1 km from the town so probably best for drivers and is located in lovely grounds overlooking the Loire.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kc972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Although only here for a brief stay I cannot say enough about the welcome we received from Thierry and his wife. The location is secluded though not kms away from anywhere, close to Anger, just off the motorway, and a multitude of vineyards to tempt you.

Relaxing, romantic and still be ideal for families as it's totally safe with a secure pool, lovely rustic paths around the main house and amazing views of the Loire river.

Perfect location too for a group stay, for a conference, wedding or family reunion.

We will certainly be back, we have promised Thierry, for a longer stay. Best for us, only 4 hours from the Ferry!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JasperTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montjean-sur-Loire
0.6 mi away
Hotel Auberge de la Loire
Hotel Auberge de la Loire
#1 of 1 in Montjean-sur-Loire
63 reviews
1.6 mi away
Les Jardins de l'Anjou
Les Jardins de l'Anjou
#1 of 1 in La Pommeraye
6 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel au Poisson d'Argent
Hotel au Poisson d'Argent
#1 of 1 in Le Mesnil-en-Vallee
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Les 3 Lieux
Les 3 Lieux
#1 of 4 in Les Ponts De Ce
56 reviews
19.6 mi away
Le Champalud
Le Champalud
#1 of 1 in Champtoceaux
80 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chateau de l'Epinay
Chateau de l'Epinay
#1 of 3 in Saint-Georges-sur-Loire
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Fief des Cordeliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Fief des Cordeliers

Property: Le Fief des Cordeliers
Address: Bellevue, 49570 Montjean-sur-Loire, Mauges-sur-Loire, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Mauges-sur-Loire > Montjean-sur-Loire
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Montjean-sur-Loire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moments from the mighty Loire Valley river lies this pretty manor and its own private 5-hectare parkland and vineyards. The view on the river Loire is gorgeous from the overlooking terrasse, and from 4 bedrooms. 7 Double bedrooms, 2 family suites and a self catering accomodation compose the property. A couple of meeting rooms are also available, as well as an exterior heated swimming pool opened from mid May until mid September. A perfect stop for both tourists and professionals with full high speed Wifi available in all the bedrooms as wells as in the meeting rooms.Located 5km from the A11 highway, le Fief des Cordeliers is very easy to access.Close to the Chateaux de la Loire (Serrant, Angers, Brissac), it's a perfect starting point for discovering the Loire valley. You may also choose to do hot air balloon over the rive Loire, or jump for a tour on the river with the "Ligeriade". For cyclists, Le Fief des Cordeliers lies along the "Loire a velo", "Loire by bike" circuit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Fief des Cordeliers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing