We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Chateau de Queribus
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Cucugnan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

It was with a great sense of achievement that I climbed up to the top of the castle and admired the spectacular view, I am no athlete and found the climb a little challenging but extremely worthwhile. The inner chamber of the castle reminded us of something out of Lord of the Rings, ancient and beautiful.
I would recommend you take the effort to see this and enjoy the view to the Pyrenees. It wasn't too windy on the day we went but we were warned by locals not to go up on a windy day. Good walking shoes and maybe gloves as some parts require you to hold onto rope.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jcu13909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    141
    25
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful...so glad we did it!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

It's quite a gradual slope to conquer on the way up to the ruin.
Once you've made the climb and you see the ruins it just humbles
You. If you have done this one you must do Perpeyteuse. I'm glad
We have done this ruin. We were very fortunate we had good
Warm weather.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Picky_1_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Magnificent castle with a terrible history”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were lucky enough to be taken to Quéribus with a guide and so learnt a great deal about the history of not just the castle but also the region
Whilst it is well known as the last refuge for the Cahors before their final murder, there is a lot more to learn - a guide is thoroughly recommended
The views are also stunning and we could look across to the snow-capped pyrenees

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank whd100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Its location draws you like a magnet”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This should be visited if you are in the area visiting the Château de Peyrepertuse as they are about 10 km apart and clearly visible from one another. Whereas Peyrepertuse is far larger and occupies a ridge, Queribus sits atop what is probably a volcanic plug so it has the more impressive setting.

As with Peyrepertuse there is a long walk from the car park but this one is just a straightforward uphill climb on a well surfaced path.

Queribus is a small castle of mainly ruins surrounding the dominant and solidly built keep. This is in remarkably good condition with a spiral staircase and rooms with vaulted ceilings.

Well worth a visit for the views.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank The_Welsh_Travel_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

When you are driving towards it, it looks quite small, and once you reach it and start climbing it, you realize it is not as small as it seems. It's quite a work out getting up to the top, but once you're up there, oh man, it's amazing! the view of the surrounding area is spectacular. I loved it! It is incredible to believe that the castle was built with no modern construction tools/machines! Jaw-dropping!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank wholisa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau de Queribus also viewed

 
Lapradelle-Puilaurens, Aude
Salses-Le-Chateau, Pyrenees-Orientales
 

Been to Chateau de Queribus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing