We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camping Tohapi La Foret du Pilat
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Guitoune(Pyla-sur-Mer)(Great Value!)
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Etche Ona(Pyla-sur-Mer)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Ha(a)itza(Pyla-sur-Mer)
$420
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Co(o)rniche(Pyla-sur-Mer)
$627
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Yatt Hotel(Arcachon)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ttiki Etchea(La Teste-de-Buch)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Marinette(Arcachon)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveler rating
70
146
84
68
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
146
84
68
46
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 414 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We liked this Camping-site very much, because we got a nice place in the shadow. The toilets were okay and the prices allright. The view from the Dune is magnificent and every one should take the steps of to the top.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartiniBianco00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing location! A chalet amongst the pines behind the spectacular dune de pilat.
Can't really go wrong. Also only £30 a night and could sleep 4.
Shame about the weather but we did find some cheesy but entertaining on site show to watch (guessing what was being said)!
I think the site is nice as it is, its not luxury but they could make a killing if it was. I was glad to afford it. Tres bon!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jollyhollydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I went here in the last week of August (last full week of the French school holidays) in a campervan (known in France as a campingcar) with 3 boys (5, 7 & 9).
The camping site is in a fantastic location - backing onto the dune. It is amazing looking up at a wall of sand where the sky should be.

The campsite was crowded, but many of the sites had hedges between them and allowed some privacy. The toilets and showers were clean, however you have to bring your own toilet paper and there are no toilet seats. This is a bit unusual for us, but we quickly got use to it and it was no problem. The showers are hot. The staff were excellent and most spoke fluent English.

The bar area was great, especially for kids. There are many games machine (table football, pinball, driving and shooting arcade games, pool and table tennis) at 1980s prices - €2 for 5 credits! The mini-golf is free and the swimming pool is good.

The restaurant served pizza, local mussels, hamburgers etc priced at €10 – €12. The food and service was good.

There is a surprisingly well-stocked shop selling fresh bread, pastries, milk, fruit and vegetables, as well as many other food stuffs, beach toys etc. It makes the campsite entirely self-sufficient.

Because it was the school holidays, there was some form of entertainment every night, starting at 2130 and finishing at 2330. There were no yobbos – it was very family orientated and a lot of kids were running around. But it was loud and could keep you awake, especially if your site is close to the bar. Best to ask for a camping site as far from the bar as possible. I doubt the entertainment continues outside the July/August holidays.

Also I remember being briefly woken by the big waste hoppers being emptied by the council at 0630 – also best to get a site away from that!

As for the dune – fantastic! There is a ladder to climb a few minutes walk from the campsite, but we just went straight up the wall of sand. The beach is beautiful, with golden sand for building castles. There are no waves due to a sandy island between the beach and the ocean. There are strong tidal currents, but the children were OK up to their chests and with close supervision. A few big German bunkers have fallen onto the beach about 2km done the beach – a great mornings walk with the kids. Low tide lets you climb into them. There were 30-40 paragliders over our heads all through the day.

In summary, I thought it was great and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Away from the bar and rubbish area - close to the dune.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SMBiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

In a private family survey we did, at the end of our three week camping holiday, having stayed in three French campsites and one Spanish, La Foret came out top for location, shop, pitch and entertainment. The campsite was our overall winner. and the view from the sand dune was just amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jeroen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews