We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our lunch at La Corniche”
Review of La Co(o)rniche

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Co(o)rniche
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pyla-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved our lunch at La Corniche”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had such a beautiful day at La Corniche. They have an amazing view of the sea and the food was so good. It was our highlight of our trip to France.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatcoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    190
    82
    58
    34
See reviews for
139
281
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

the room we stayed in was very stylish but the balcony outlook described (and charged) as sea view was over the roof of the kitchens you cold see the sea if you leaned out. If you get a good room the hotel is idyllic.

Room Tip: insist on a full sea view (not oblique) or pay less for other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2TB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

we had Sunday lunch overlooking the bay. A truly cool location with spectacular views. Service was attentive and genuinely friendly. Food was beautifully presented and extremely tasty. Would highly recommend this for a lovely meal out.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miak008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Situated with a direct view of the beach and the dune de Pyla, this hotel is a real gem. All of the personnel whom we encountered were anxious to please and friendly; our greeting was enthusiastic and warm and we had a similar experience when making the reservation.

Our room was small, decorated mostly in white with lots of mirrors and glass and had a small private terrace overlooking the dune. Although the room was attractive, it was not very comfortable. The lighting in the bathroom was much too dim and there was no place to put a suitcase that didn't block the circulation.

The restaurant has an enormous terrace overlooking the beach. There are plenty of portable heaters and blankets to cut the cold wind blowing off of the ocean. The food is fine but not particularly creative or interesting and the same menu is served for lunch and dinner. The breakfast was excellent and particularly enjoyable on the terrace. There is also a beautiful indoor dining room also facing the beach, but it appears to only be used in inclement weather.

A minor inconvenience is that there is no parking, valet, or short term parking area for registration. In the popular summer months it would be next to impossible to find a place to stop to unload suitcases and even harder to park.

This is a fun place to stay for hiking the dune, walking the beach, and making a visit to Arcachon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDADenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The photos on La Co(o)rniche's website don't even begin to do this place justice. The views of the dune, Cap Ferret and the Atlantic are sublime - you dine at night overlooking the most incredible sunsets imaginable.
The hotel itself is very trendy but not coldly so - it's v like the Daylesford Organic restaurants but on a much larger scale and by the sea!
I expected the service to be a little less than warm/friendly as it so often is in the more 'trendy' places - not at all. The thing here is that it's really a few rooms attached to a large bar/restaurant (don't be put off, if this isn't the coolest bar/restaurant around then I don't know what is!), so as a guest you sometimes want to be 'spotted' to avoid queuing for tables etc etc. Despite the numbers of guests and staff we were always found and loooked after really well.
The best bit is that they rope off the best bit of the terrace (separated from the restaurants by the infinity pool) so at whatever time of day as a hotel guest you can get a front line sunlounger and feel completely uncrowded.
They only had the ground floor room available when we booked. So amazing are the views from the pool/terraces that this didn't bother us. The room was great - large, cool design, amazing bed and sheets.
The food is perfectly acceptable - but I wouldn't call it destination dining. The view is what will make this a memorable stay. We must have been the only Brits- ideal!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryWallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2011

They also have a fantastic restaurant and terrace with one of the nicest views I have ever seen. Nice interior by famous Starck. One thing, the pool is tight in front of the terrace where external guests are having lunch and dinner. As a hotel guest you should have more privacy especially for the price you pay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LatourDijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

The coorniche hotel is located in a beautiful setting by the sea, there are huge sand dunes nearby and the view is breathtaking. The hotel looks nice and the rooms are nicely furnished, modern design and all that.

In terms of cleanliness however, it was a bit lacking. There were hair in the toilet upon arrival and it did smell like toilets, i.e., bad and even after asking that they clean it thoroughly, it still smelled bad the next day. Quite annoying.

Had both dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and though it looked good, the food was nothing special and the service oh so slow. There's tons of waiters around, setting tables but not rushing to meet the clientele's needs. Breakfast was better but yes again slow. The bar staff was more efficient and it was nice to enjoy a glass there.

I would recommend for the view not so much for the rest.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GammelMont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyla-sur-Mer
3.6 mi away
Hotel les bains d'Arguin
Hotel les bains d'Arguin
#5 of 32 in Arcachon
481 reviews
10.6 mi away
Domaine Du Ferret Balneo & Spa
4.8 mi away
Hotel Le B d'Arcachon
Hotel Le B d'Arcachon
#1 of 32 in Arcachon
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Design & Spa Bassin D'Arcachon
Best Western Plus Design & Spa B...
#2 of 4 in La Teste-de-Buch
639 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#2 of 32 in Arcachon
537 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ibis Arcachon La Teste
Ibis Arcachon La Teste
#3 of 32 in Arcachon
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Co(o)rniche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Co(o)rniche

Property: La Co(o)rniche
Address: 46 avenue Louis Gaume, 33115 Pyla-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Pyla-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pyla-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Co(o)rniche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Corniche - La Co(o)Rniche Hotel Pyla-Sur-Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing