We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay in the beach hotel next door.!”
Review of Downings Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Downings Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just back from a weekend in Downings. Stayed in the Downings Bay Hotel. The room was lovely no complaints,but this hotel has no atmosphere,it was dead,nobody eating or drinking,and only for a wedding being on we actually saw a few people about. We ate all our meals next door in the Beach hotel..It was busy,buzzing,lovely staff and great food. Early bird deals,3 course deals etc.Great quality for the money and the best garlic saute potatoes ever. We tried to eat in our own hotel on Saturday night,but as it was 9.15 pm they had stopped serving..! Next door we were welcomed into a busy restaurant and had a lovely meal 3 courses for £20 euro but tasting a whole lot more.. with great staff.

Breakfast in the hotel is decidedly average.

So if your going to the lovely Downings,seriously dont bother with this dead and boring empty hotel,get yourself booked into the Beach hotel,thats what i will be doing next time. Pity,as its a pleasant enough environment .They should put up a bit of a fight and competition with next door and cheer up.

Room Tip: not near or above the night club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazza444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 277 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

I organised a staff nite out in this Hotel for the end of May. I found the reception staff excellent and extremely helpful they were more then accommodating and willing to sort out anything we requested.The rooms were gorgeous really spacious and clean.We had a meal booked for the group and the food was excellent. Bar staff were v friendly and accommodating.The location of the hotel is excellent and no transport is needed to get around the immediate area. I highly recommend this hotel as I was not sure which one to go to in the area it is clean,friendly good value for money & suits all,family's , couples or group breaks!..thanks to all especially Eileen for all her help.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna-Irl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just returned home from staying at the downings bay hotel, very clean hotel room was excellent. Good friendly staff. Two adults three children we will return. Relaxing family atmosphere. A short drive away swimming pool at kidz world also very clean and well run.

Room Tip: Speak to staff when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EunanOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Downings has several hotels including The Beach Hotel almost next door. Midweek at the end of April 2013 only two of the forty rooms were occupied but don't be put off as the accommodation is very good and there is a modern lift if you are on the first or second floor. As others have commented the bedrooms are very spacious with good bathrooms, well furnished and very clean. Bar meals only in the evening but breakfasts in the dining room are really good - and as the hotel was so quiet we had our breakfast 'by appointment' - anytime between 08.30 and 10.30. Nice people.
We will go back

Room Tip: Our room (210) was at the middle of the second floor - it had a queen size bed AND a single bed so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHB711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Downings Bay Hotel for a long weekend in April and had a really great time! It's a lovely hotel with spacious rooms, which are spotlessly clean, a nice bar and staff - super helpful and very, very friendly. The Irish breakfast we had was big and delicious. The hotel is just a few seconds away from the beach, so it's perfect for walks. And when the sun is shining it's absolutely breathtaking. I hope we return there one day. Thank you to everyone who works there - you're amazing!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here over christmas and it was the ideal quiet break away. The staff were lovely the setting was really christmassy and it was a really nice relaxing break. Brought my son back up and we spent new years here. Again it was nice and relaxing, really welcoming. There is a ballpark and swimming pool near by that you get to use complimentary if you are a hotel guest. The staff commented it was quite busy during the summer but I think it would still be a great family break.

Room Tip: We stayed in the same room twice and were warned the night club underneath was noisy but we didnt fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breffnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here over Easter with my 2 kids and parents and had a lovely time.
The hotel was spotless, rooms were spacious and we got interconnecting rooms so the girls could go between the rooms.
The breakfast was tasty and Bar food had so much choice. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
We also used the nearby swimming pool and kids play centre which was included in the price of our stay and both facilities were great and kids loved it. This is a short drive away up the hill but there are great views of the bay from it.
The hotel is right on the beach so nice for walks.

I have no complaints about the hotel and would definitely recommend it. Just wish the weather was a bit warmer so the kids could have enjoyed the beach a bit more!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leemce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downings
0.1 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
401 reviews
18.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,163 reviews
5.3 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
963 reviews
10.2 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
417 reviews
3 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downings Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downings Bay Hotel

Address: Main Street, Downings, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Downings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Price Range: $97 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Downings Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the North West of Donegal on the beautiful Sheephaven Bay lies the thoroughly modern and luxurious Downings Bay Hotel with our award winning accommodation. The Sheephaven Suite is available for 20 – 350 people. JC’s Bar & the Haven Dining Room serve locally sourced fresh food daily. Magherabeg Leisure Centre & Kidz Kingdom are available complimentary to hotel guests. Local activities include golf, fishing, walking, horse riding & water sports. Within driving distance of Glenveagh National Park & Horn Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Downings Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing