We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Friendly Hotel”
Review of Downings Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Downings Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed three nights early July and had a great time; staff were so friendly, polite and helpful. Rooms were clean and tastefully decorated - tea/coffee facilities in room a great help too. Restaurant/Pub food really delicious and great value. We hope to return for another three-night stay in Aug. Children loved the Kidz Kingdom activity centre, pool etc. Two minute walk to beach. Would highly recommend this hotel, especially to families with small children.

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustineB825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    86
    34
    14
    5
See reviews for
71
101
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Parents were from Donegal so have visited on numerous occasion over 50+ years.

First time in a hotel and really pleased with this choice . Very friendly staff , good food selection and ideal spot for beach and visiting other beautiful places in the area .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannymcgeehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just back from the Downings Bay, I have been here numerous times and I JUST LOVE IT! The staff are friendly and attentive, the food is amazing and the scenery just makes the most relaxing break! The hotel is positioned right on the beach and there are several pubs and quaint villages nearby. I would def recommend for families or couples.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilminx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The downings bay is a fine hotel, spacious rooms with good decor and sparklingly clean. The staff are nice. The rooms are comfortable but strangely airless. Some previous reviews set very high expectations for the food which was, at best, fair to middling standard bar fare. The breakfast was basic, even a bit of variety of breads would have done a bit to add a bit of va va vvoom to breakfast. The breakfast room was really airless alsi. For really good food don't miss the singing pub round the back of the village.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Food and service was great and rooms were decent, but quite warm. Beds were very comfortable and bathroom was clean. Great value.
We stayed for one night and then headed round the coast a bit for the day - beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSDS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2012

loved this hotel. rooms very clean and comfortable. food in restaurant excellent and breakfast too.definitely be returning

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

I think it was a decent place with a nice location. Though the beds were like hospital beds and the food was horrible. I think if you are going to stay only stay for one to two nights as you won't get a fantastic nights sleep. Though alright hotel and I would stay again if I had to.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downings
0.1 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
389 reviews
5.3 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
401 reviews
10.2 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
783 reviews
18.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,122 reviews
18.4 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downings Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downings Bay Hotel

Property: Downings Bay Hotel
Address: Main Street, Downings, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Downings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Downings Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the North West of Donegal on the beautiful Sheephaven Bay lies the thoroughly modern and luxurious Downings Bay Hotel with our award winning accommodation. The Sheephaven Suite is available for 20 – 350 people. JC’s Bar & the Haven Dining Room serve locally sourced fresh food daily. Magherabeg Leisure Centre & Kidz Kingdom are available complimentary to hotel guests. Local activities include golf, fishing, walking, horse riding & water sports. Within driving distance of Glenveagh National Park & Horn Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Downings Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing