We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel room ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best hotel room ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in one of the Bayview Suites in Rosapenna at late notice on 26th May 2014.
Our room was second to none with a spectacular view of Downings Bay and contained every comfort.
The bedroom, with the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on, was furnished and decorated to perfection. The ambience was one of totally understated elegance and the beautiful sofa and armchairs facing the scenic bay view were much appreciated and utilised.
The bathroom was the largest and most luxurious I have ever seen and I can't wait to visit again.
Our meal was first class with fresh local ingredients to the fore.
Breakfast, with a view of Downings Bay, was excellent, the service faultless and the whole experience has just left us counting the days until we can go back.
Service from the bar, to the restaurant, to the front desk was exemplary and the room was prepared perfectly.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates the finer things in life and with a hairdresser and massage therapist available I know where I am going to relax and be pampered while my husband enjoys the unsurpassed links golf.

Room Tip: Choose Bayview Suites for a really spectacular view and luxurious experience but all rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morsiemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    42
    10
    8
    5
See reviews for
43
77
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We were here last year for a family Sunday lunch. It was excellent and we rated it highly on tripadvisor. However the experience was not to be repeated during our recent visit. While the atmosphere and the staff and service were all excellent, the food was mediocre. We have had much better Sunday lunches elsewhere for a much lower price. The food and its presentation were lacking in imagination. A very ordinary meal.
We love the area and it is sad for us to have to report the above experience. A pity. Could do better! Hope it improves.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank FANDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed for two nights with friends during the second week in May-14. We really enjoyed our stay and everything exceeded our expectations. Check in went smoothly and we were delighted when we were advised that we were being upgraded to a suite. The suite was spacious and had everything you could ask for. The bathroom was huge with a bath and separate walk in shower. The suite had a large flat screen tv, table and chairs, fridge, sink/tap, safe etc. The Wi-Fi in the bedroom was very good. The balcony overlooked a beautiful golden sandy beach. We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant each day and we were not disappointed. The breakfast was excellent with a lovely buffet for juices, cereals, breads etc and a freshly cooked breakfast. We had a three course dinner each evening and the quality of the food was excellent. The menu had a good choice of fresh fish and meats. The dessert trolley had a tasty selection and no problem selecting more than one!!!!The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and helpful. We played two rounds of golf on sandy hills and one on the old course. Sandy hills is a spectacular course carved through massive sand dunes. There are no weak holes on the course but you will be punished if you stray off the fairway. The course was maintained to a very high standard. We were blessed with fine weather throughout our stay and it was t-shirt and shorts every day! Look forward to a return trip in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dublin18_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim
Level Contributor
222 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Called here for tea and scones on a wet blustery sat
First class service , waiters wearing dickey bow ties, white napkins, scones jam and cream lush and well priced
Coffee made with milk oooooo so good

Well heeled clientele

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigmacAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is our review for the Restaurant at the Rosapenna Hotel. I was disappointed from the entrance on. No parking specically at the door and entrance is rather 'ungrand'. Tiny reception and then through a very very large shabby sofa area.(but not shabby chic!) Carpet is mixed plaint dated and then flowery dated and the wallpaper is dated to. This Hotel needs a huge amount of money spending on it. 30 years ago it would have been in vogue but now just disappointing. We were shown to our table which was nice by the window and great view. No atmosphere just a rather large room (7pm and we were the only customers). Very stiff and formal eating area. Again a sad out of date room could be really special. Staff very friendly, the room eventually got a few more diners but room was so big they were lost. Menu not large, very expensive as I wanted an all round special experience it was my dad's 79th birthday what we got was a good enough meal, over priced. Menu was not very modern can't say there was a wow factor about the food on offer. Over all I was disappointed by our meal and Rosapenna Hotel over all. Very glad we did not book to stay here. I would not recommend mainly due to the over all feeling of neglect. Staff could not be faulted but I wouldn't go back. Bathroom service again needed up dated I so wanted posh but it was just poor.

Room Tip: Perhaps older people may like the peace and quiet but for families go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaz3466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I took 46 ladies from castlerock golf club for 2 nights and what a fabulous experience . The staff , service and food excelled as usual and everyone was sooooo happy I would highly recommend this venue and congratulations to Hilary and frank and their well oiled machine that makes rosapenna the experience is !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela2667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has some great features, but some areas need attention. The reception and lounge area is furnished with comfortable sofas, with some nice antiques, lots of fine art, and a generous display of silverware. We had a delux room with a superb sea view, but the decor was dated and the bathroom was very neat. We had to ask for robes and slippers, which I would expect to get without request in a delux room. The rooms are well equipped, the pillows and duvets first class, but the bed was small!
The pool is spotless as is the sauna and steam. This area is restricted to hotel guests only, a plus in my book, but accordingly the opening hours are very restrictive - 7.30 to 11.30 and 16.30 to 19.30 only! There were also no toiletries on offer in the changing facilities, which would have been a nice touch/the norm.
The breakfast was really good. Kippers cooked fresh, and no hot buffet, so my husband's eggs, bacon etc., were all cooked fresh. Good coffee, warm, fresh toast, very good selection of fruits, fresh and dried. Well done the breakfast chefs!
The dinner menu and the evening dining experience was like a step back to the 80's. Some aspects were great like the silver service, and the sweet trolley, but the menu choices, whilst tasty, were a bit too 'plain fayre' for a four star hotel in 2014. Prawn cocktail, soup, melon, asparagus tips, and the likes for starters, and the usual steak, fish options for main. The vegetables both nights were totally overcooked and luke warm, which was disappointing. There were plenty of waiting staff on, but they lacked attention, and I had to ask for a water jug three times. That said, the staff were most pleasant and the bar staff were friendly and attentive.
Coffee after dinner is self - service in the lounge, which would have been very pleasant had it not been for an inconsiderate fellow guest allowing their toddler to bang on the piano. Not the hotels fault of course, but it did mean that we had a night cap in our room instead.
We had lunch in the lounge - how relaxing, however the seafood chowder needs 'beefed up' with some fish!

In general Rosapenna is a lovely hotel, well located, with great golf on offer, and reasonable value for money - but it's not cheap.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rankonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downings
0.5 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
18.2 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
13.3 mi away
Rathmullan House
Rathmullan House
#1 of 2 in Rathmullan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
15.3 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 5 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Rosapenna, Downings, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Downings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort is one of Ireland's premier 4 star luxury hotels, and has been since 1893. It sits in an 800 acre estate on the edge of the Atlantic ocean, where the bays of Mulroy & Sheephaven meet on the coast of Donegal. The hotel boasts a health & wellbeing Centre, Tennis Courts, Billiards & Card Rooms, Putting Green, Driving Range as well as two 18 hole championship Golf Courses and state of the art Golf Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosapenna Hotel And Golf Resort
Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Downings
Rosapenna Hotel Downings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing