We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay and food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay and food”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We enjoyed another lovely stay at the Rosapenna. Stayed in the bay view suites which are very luxurious and the balcony of the suite overlooks the beach with its constantly changing seascape. The food is excellent, lots of very fresh sea food and the service is unobtrusive but attentive. A minor suggestion-it would be nice to have some shortbread or biscuits in your room to have when you make yourself coffee.

Room Tip: Bay view suites are the best but are 5 star prices-worth the price though for a special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shauna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    42
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
44
82
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from the Easter weekend at the Rosapenna Hotel with our son. Stayed in a deluxe room which had a wonderful view of Downings beach. Everything is first class here... from the food, the staff, the lovely spa area with the pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi ... cannot fault it for a totally relaxing weekend. Our son was unwell and we had to stay in our room for most of that day and they brought him an Easter egg to cheer him up, which I thought was really kind of them. It is expensive to stay here but I do believe that you get what you pay for. Will be back soon hopefully.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelleywelly101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at Rosapenna twice. This is a golf hotel with two superb golf courses. The hotel is new, clean and tidy. Rooms are good without being outstanding. The pool is large with spa tub. There is no spa or gym available and the changing rooms are basic. The main lounge area is very large and has plenty of seating. But without doubt the best thing about the hotel is the food and standard of staff serving it. From starter to the huge dessert trolley it is simply outstanding. Try it for yourself. Breakfast is also a treat. The restaurant has great views over sheephaven bay. And finally not forgetting the golf. The tom morris is good traditional links and sandy hills is the hardest yet most enjoyable golf experience working your way through huge dunes and negotiating those pot bunkers. If you get a package deal definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Disclamer: we're hard to please and we have high expectations when it comes to hospitality. In our opinion, you either get it or you don't, when it comes to the art of hospitality. And too many people and properties have forgotten that hospitality is in fact an art. Rosapenna and their staff have not forgotten it and they do in fact "get it." Too often one can be made to feel like the staff at hotels and resorts are doing us a favor by assisting us. Not at Rosapenna. Whether it was Chris and Andrew at the helm or Liz sorting us out in the dining room, I was always made to feel that not only was I a Guest and not just a customer, but that my presence was beyond appreciated. It was welcomed.

Being a bit of a self proclaimed food snob, we have come to lower expectations when we travel so as not to be disappointed. Rosapenna's F&B team have given us reason to rethink that mindset. It's clear that the chefs at Rosapenna are passionate about food and they create a dining experience that is not to be missed.

Were we not golfers, our Rosapenna experience would be one that we'd highly recommend to travelers across the globe. Being golfers, and having had the opportunity to play their renowned golf courses, there is no option but to place the Rosapenna Resort in the "don't miss" category. As we understand that they've purchased adjacent land to add yet another outstanding golf course, we've put Rosapenna on the short list of resorts that we will return to in the very near future.

It would boggle the mind a bit if one stayed any length of time at Rosapenna and didn't have an exceptional experience. I know "things happen" and that anyone can make mistakes. Having said that, with the care and attention that everyone on the Rosapenna team puts on ensuring your satisfaction, it's hard to fathom how that could happen at this property. Well done to the entire group at Rosapenna. Thanks for making our stay at your resort a great memory!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InGolfWeTrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
2 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed three nights in Rosapenna in October 2012. Rooms were very clean, spacious with wonderful views of Downings Bay (Bay view suites). I was a guest at a wedding that weekend in the Downings and found the hotel excellent.
The food was good, decent menu with good hearty tasty food on offer. The staff and management I found were efficient friendly and v helpful (can really ask for more). The pool, sauna and steam room were pretty new and in well looked after.
Overall a very enjoyable experience in a really beautiful setting couldn't ask for more. Perfect for a weekend get away in the north west.

Room Tip: Try the Bay View suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weshtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed three nights early October. Rooms are spacious and clean with everything you need. Lovely views of the beach. The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming. The Bar staff were also excellent and If there was anything needed all you had to do was ask. The Restaurant staff were very efficient so service was brilliant as was the quality of the food with a great choice of both starters and main courses. You have to remember to leave room for something from the sweet trolley which has a marvellous selection to choose from. A very good and comprehensive breakfast menu with the food freshly prepared and delivered to your table in a very efficient manner to prepare you for the day on the golf course. (No buffet breakfast to queue for). The Old Tom Morris Golf course was in great condition all three times we played it. The swimming pool/steam room/sauna were very modern, clean and well looked after. This Hotel and Golf Resort is definitely a place I would recommend for golf, food and great hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and found the rooms to be comfortable and well taken care of. The dining room service and quality of food was very good. We played both golf courses. The Old Tom Morris course was the first of our trip and a good starter as it is not overly difficult. The greens were bumpy and patchy, so that was disappointing. The Sandy Hills course is outstanding with dramatic views, excellent greens and nicely conditioned. We took caddies for both rounds and in both cases they were well qualified, friendly and enjoyable to have helping us.

Great location and hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norseman155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downings
0.5 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
388 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
9.8 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
384 reviews
13.3 mi away
Rathmullan House
Rathmullan House
#1 of 1 in Rathmullan
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Rosapenna, Downings, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Downings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort is one of Ireland's premier 4 star luxury hotels, and has been since 1893. It sits in an 800 acre estate on the edge of the Atlantic ocean, where the bays of Mulroy & Sheephaven meet on the coast of Donegal. The hotel boasts a health & wellbeing Centre, Tennis Courts, Billiards & Card Rooms, Putting Green, Driving Range as well as two 18 hole championship Golf Courses and state of the art Golf Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Downings
Rosapenna Hotel And Golf Resort
Rosapenna Hotel Downings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing