We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home from home on the Donegal coast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosapenna Hotel Golf Resort

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rosapenna Hotel Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Downings
Attraction details
Auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A home from home on the Donegal coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

A very special place with staff who really care about traditional hospitality.Spent 4 days here and enjoyed great food and the most scenic of views over the coast.It is not a corporate badged 4star property but highly individual and moves snoothly to the pace of its guests.We had a room overlooking the bay that was very comfortable and most relaxing. The only noises were sheep,seabirds and the waves on the beach.Leisure facilities are secondary to the golfing but that's to be expected here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank earthwormAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    4
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Service comes naturally to this place. Not in - you - face but gently. Spotless, beautiful place. We've only been coming since 1984. I've taken my Mum & Dad. mother-in-law - all my friends - my 50th and my 60th and I don't even play golf.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank irishjohnLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
234 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Sandy Hills Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Have played the Old Tom Morris and Sandy Hills Courses before and only played Sandy Hills this time. This is an excellent links course with quite a bit of play in some dramatic dunes with elevation changes. Nice combination of shorter and longer holes, many with view out over the bay.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clubsecretary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Top class golf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great club house. Helpful staff. Wonderful and challenging links course. Unbelievable views over tramore and downings bay. One of the best courses in Ireland

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Themightypen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“As always excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have stayed here now a few times it's one of the great family hotels run well serving beautiful food in wonderful surroundings.
Dinner was amazing i had the scallops & my wife the sea-bass breakfast was also great i had the fresh Plaice which was excellent & our server was fantastic.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mj o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosapenna Hotel Golf Resort also viewed

Downings, County Donegal
 
Carrigart, County Donegal

Been to Rosapenna Hotel Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing