We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Downings Coastguard Cottages
Reviewed September 27, 2011

My friends and family have stayed in Coastguard Cottages many times.....always excellant! Love the cottages, love Downings, love North Donegal.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneRankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 64 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

Have just returned from bank holiday stay in Downings Coastguard Cottages. We decided at very short notice to book a weekend in Donegal, Seamus was extremly helpful and booked us a Type A cottage with great discount for bank holiday weekend.

We had wanted to stay in the circular type D cottage but Seamus had only one cottage left so we were allocated Type A cottage, no 8. We were not disappointed, on arrival you could not be disappointed with the breathtaking views. The cottage was very clean and extremely comfortable and so well equipped. The kids had plenty of room to run around with the open plan layout of kitchen/living/dining area. Seamus supplied a cot for my little one to sleep in which was a treat compared to the normal travel cots that are supplied, Victoria had 2 great night sleeps.

We have been to Donegal on numerous occassions staying in lots of houses and Downings Coastguard Cottages is one of the best. We will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

What a fantastic holiday home! We stayed in the round fort type house (I think Type D) and it far exceeded my high expectations. Clean, modern and with AMAZING views. Seamus and Verity were wonderful to work with and so very helpful. They really do all that can to make sure you have a wonderful stay.

Type D has an open kitchen, dining and living room plan which made it great with a little one running/crawling around. The master bedroom has a nice bathroom and the main bathroom of the house is very spacious. All 3 bedrooms were well sized and had plenty of storage space for clothing. My only complaint (but I wouldn't take off a "star" for it) would be the quality of the bedsheets and pillows or the quality of the TV. There is a DVD player and at night we would watch movies, but the TV is a bit small from what I'm used to. Sheets/towels/linens were provided. The bed linens were clean but the blankets and pillows did seem a bit "tired." There is a washer in the house and line outside for drying. There were pots and pans so cooking was easy. To buy food it is a short drive to a nearby town (maybe a 5-10 drive) to a Centra that had a decent selection of goods. Just remember to bring a shopping bag as you get charged for those if you don't bring one.

It was the perfect environment for family. In the center of all the houses is a fenced in tennis court and there were always children or dogs running about. I would feel safe letting my kids go outside to play (especially b/c it's easy to keep an eye on them due to the numerous/large windows around the house).

The Singing Pub is a 5 min drive from the house. Downings town center is a 5-10 min drive (a MUST is the McNutts coffee shop and the tweed shop - great food and beautiful blankets/scarves/souvenirs).

We drove to this house from Armagh (about 2 -2.5 hours) but a few of our family members took a bus that went from Belfast to a nearby town (about 15/20 minutes away).

We hope to make this our family vacation spot whenever we visit Ireland. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inl0vewithtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitDonegal, General Manager at Downings Coastguard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. The management team and our staff always like to receive feedback. It allows us to improve the customer service and product quality that has been a focus of our family-managed business for almost four decades.

We were delighted to read that:
1. The cottage exceeded your expectations.
2. You felt the cottage was clean and modern.
3. You enjoyed the views and that the configuration / space of all the rooms was to your liking.

Verity and I were more than pleased to help. You are most welcome.

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit at McNutt's. Our guests, especially our many repeat ones, consistently rate McNutt's highly and recommend it for future guests.

Thank you for highlighting two areas that we can improve upon:
1. The quality of the bedsheets and pillows. At the end of 2010 / beginning of 2011, we removed the pillows from all of the cottages, assessed the quality of them, replaced about 25% of them, and covered them all with new high quality protectors. Based on use over the last 6 months it is possible that others need to be replaced, so I will see to it that same is checked at the earliest opportunity, especially in the cottage that you stayed in.

I am disappointed to learn that you found the bedsheets etc. "tired". We wash the duvet covers, pillow cases, and sheets after every use and due to this our coloured items can appear washed out over time. It would be disingenuous of me to say that I will have the offending articles replaced immediately: it would be difficult given that all of our bed linen is either in use or being laundered these weeks with it being our peak season. I will however commit to personally reviewing the quality of same at the end of the season.

2. The quality of the TV / the TV is a bit small from what you are used to. The electrical appliances in all of our cottages are of high quality: we purchased reputable makes, so I would hope that aside from the size, that the TV in your cottage was of high quality. The size of the TV screens in our cottages meets or exceeds the minimum 4 star standard set by the Irish tourist board, Fáilte Ireland. We purchased the TVs for the Type D cottages before the cottages were finished. To be fair, you make a very valid point. As these were the first round cottages that we built, with their unique almost semi-circular living area, we had underestimated just how spacious they were going to be. With this in mind, in hindsight we should have purchased larger TVs for the Type D. This is not something that I can immediately address, however I do have personal access to 2 larger TVs at another property (not at Downings) and I will duly switch them with those in the Type D whenever I can co-ordinate a suitable time (keeping in mind the lettings of all said properties).

Thanks again for your valued comments. It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope that we can welcome you back for a future break.

Kind Regards,

Séamus and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Every now and then you come across a special place on your travels (and as a journalist and cameraman, I see a lot around the world) and this is one of them. The Atlantic Drive is one of the most beautiful places on Earth and the quality of these cottages (we stayed in one of the original circular buildings at the top) is superb with a wonderful view over Downings Bay and top quality fixtures and fittings. We also agree with previous correspondents that Seamus who managed our visit there made such a difference. He booked us golf and gave really friendly support and advice on restaurants, bike routes etc. A strong recommendation while staying there is to try the Olde Glen Bar and restaurant in the village of Glen nearby. It's probably the best pub in the world I have ever been in and the restaurant behind sells superb seafood.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank businesscameraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We stayed for one week and played golf, excellent service and big thanks to Seamus!!!
The houses was clean and the beds where good. The standard of the house was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lussiluss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Excellent accommodation with Superb views across the bay.Seamus & his staff are more than willing to help with any issue or query.Take advantage of the Golf facilities whether playing or eating or drinking,but make sure you book via Seamus & you receive substantial discounts.

Great local beach that you can drive on,superb for young children as it is very shallow.Cold for adults but kids don't care.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayeshammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

With two small children under 4 we had a wonderful 5 nights in the Downings coastguard cottages. We even had the best weather of the summer in this idyllic location, near all sorts of wonderful sandy beaches. The cleanliness of the house was superb and we had friendly, helpful service from Seamus- including lots of tips on things to do in the locality. Everything was supplied to make this a home from home.We can't wait to go back again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTLBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downings
0.7 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
280 reviews
17.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.6 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices

Been to Downings Coastguard Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downings Coastguard Cottages

Address: Rosapenna, Downings, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Downings
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Downings
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Wild Atlantic Way, for over 40 years the McGinley family have been welcoming guests to this rugged corner of North Donegal. Only 30 minutes from Fanad Head Lighthouse, one of just three Signature Discovery Points in Donegal on the Wild Atlantic Way, and also 30 minutes from the unspoilt expanse that is Glenveagh National Park and Castle. The safe and secure family-orientated location with large open grassy areas and a tennis court on-site is an ideal base for exploring all that Donegal has to offer. Adjacent to great value links golf at Rosapenna with stunning sandy beaches, watersports, horse-riding, and leisure centre locally, as well as a choice of traditional pubs, restaurants, and cafes. Free Wi-Fi in all of the cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Downings Coastguard Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downings Coastguard Cottages Hotel Downings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing