We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four kinds of potato every night!”
Review of Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

And that was from a selection of eight. Excellent food and gigantic portions.

Really just wanted to thank the management for the champagne they gave us Scots to celebrate Andy Murray's win at Wimbledon. Not often you come across generosity like that. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Ask to be far away from the bar. Some of our group found it difficult to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gailforce10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 399 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

We (7 persons) went as a family group to celebrate my xxth birthday. The rooms were a good size and clean and modern. The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay and on the Saturday night decorated around our table with balloons and banners wishing me a Happy Birthday. A surprise and a lovely touch. The food was good, dinner and breakfast, and the drinks were sensibly priced - €4 which compares to Belfast and is a lot cheaper than Dublin.
There is a lovely beach nearby and all in all it made for a lovely chilled out weekend. I would thoroughly recommend you to head to Downings and the Beach Hotel if you want to get away from it all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toberwino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a great wee hotel with lovely staff, big bedrooms, free wifi and fantastic food at great prices. Dominics (Tramore) is a great wee pub across the road which had an amazing band on one night.

Not much to do in Downings if the weather is rubbish but relax and enjoy the quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyGeekGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Can I simply say to anybody thinking of staying in the Downings area, choose the Beach hotel as your base. The staff, accommodation, food and service were excellent. Myraid and her staff can not be bettered. There were eight of us in the party and everyone agreed. The food and wine were of a very high standard as were all the rooms the team stayed in. I have never written on trip advisor, that's how strongly I felt about the experience. It certainly beats ALL the other hotels for value in the area, (even if one has a swimming pool) We played golf at Portsalon and because of the new bridge 'The Beach' Hotel proved to be the perfect venue. Recently renovated, the atmosphere that has been created was light and airy. Book early....we were lucky we got a cancellation,( thanks to whoever they were) I'll not be surprised if its hard to get a room in the future if I keep telling people about it. Thanks again to Myraid and her staff, your smiles and attention made a lasting impression. I would have no hesitation at all in recommending it to families, golf societies, couples etc. Jonathan Brady, Malone Golf Club, Ulster Cup Captain June 2013. PS... we beat Portsalon and again thanks to John Logue,(who recommended the Beach ) and his team for a great days golf.

Room Tip: Choose any room, they were all of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights as part of lengthy tour of Ireland. Perfect place to chill out, catch a breath and view some of the great scenery the Donegal coast has to offer. The owners Mairead and Charlie are special people who make the experience even better. Pub meals great value, plenty of parking, comfortable rooms all made for a fantastic break. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WPS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in the beach hotel after our wedding for a 2 night break and ended up staying for 3 nights it was so good. The food is lovely especially the cooked to order breakfast. There is a nice bar attached to the dining room for an after dinner drink. It had a really nice atmosphere and the owners and staff were all so friendly and welcoming. The rooms are a good size with everytihing you could require and the shower is particularly good. It is a perfect base for exploring atlantic drive, glenveagh national park and surrounding area, We were lucky to have fantastic weather but the scenery is stunning all round this part of Ireland and the beach hotel is a relaxing place to return to after a day exploring. We will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orla88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were passing through the Downings around teatime and called at this hotel for something to eat, what a treat!! They had a special meal deal on at 16 euros per person for two courses and a glass of wine, at first we wondered what the quality would be like at that price but we need not have worried as the food was top quality and service likewise. I can only urge anyone whose passing to call in and experience the friendliness and value for money that his hotel has to offer.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Smg27Lisburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downings
0.1 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
277 reviews
15.6 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
947 reviews
18.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
3.1 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
885 reviews
5.4 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel

Address: Downings, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Downings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Price Range: $102 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Hotel Downings is a newly renovated family run hotel located in the heart of the seaside village of Downings over looking Sheephaven Bay. The Beach Hotel offers 30 stylish en-suite bedrooms, fine cuisine in both the Restaurant and the Bar along with regular live traditional Irish music to liven up the atmosphere. The Hotel is situated along the fabulous Wild Atlantic Way and is approximately 35 minutes from Letterkenny, 55 minutes from Derry and is the perfect location for all the near by attractions and activities including Fanad Lighthouse, Glenveagh National Park, Atlantic Drive, Golfing, Angling, Surfing and many more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing