We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

stayed for 2 nights 1st &2nd June- Mairead,Charlie &staff were so friendly & helpful.We had a room at back with a beautiful view and had all our meals in hotel-- we meant to try different places but food was so good & reasonable we didn't leave.First class hotel will be back soon Marty & Anne Boylan Armagh.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneboylan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    62
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
90
169
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast N Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have just returned from a Hen Weekend in the Beach Hotel, Downings, Donegal, Ireland. What a fantastic location in a beautiful part of the world BUT the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff knew no bounds! They could not do enough for all of us! It was really marvellous. Mairead and the staff are helpful, hospitable, Pleasant and professional! It was all lovely. We were a large party and our rooms were all excellent. The meals and the entertainment were first class and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We were so impressed. Many of the "hens" are quite seasoned travellers and have stayed in many hotels in Ireland, the UK and abroad for both business and pleasure but this level of competence and is not by any means common! The job the staff and doing in this hotel is truly excellent ! They are well trained and bring their own personalities into the fulfilment of their roles. It is obvious The "craic" was great! I will certainly be recommending this hotel to all and sundry and I will CERTAINLY be back in the future. Thanks for everything Mairead!!!!!
Mary Gordon from Belfast

Room Tip: The rooms at the back over look the water and the view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quietBelfastNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I was staying next door in the Downings Bay hotel,it was dead,nobody about,so we spent time in this Hotel,it was buzzing and the staff where lovely.

We ate in the bar on the Friday night and had the early bird deal,which was great value and enjoyable. On Saturday night our Hotel was again empty and no food served after 9pm so we ate in the Beach Hotel again . A 3 course deal for 20 EURO.Lovely seabass,melted in my mouth and the seriously best ever garlic saute potatoes,i have dreamed about them ever since.!

Can recommend this Hotel highly,and when I return to Downings,I will be staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazza444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for the second time and really enjoyed our stay. We were at a wedding in the nearby Rosapenna Hotel, 5 min walk away, and found our room clean and lovely view of the sea! Staff as always the real stars of this show, so friendly and helpful. Downings itself beautiful and a great place to chill out. Thanks everyone!

Room Tip: Get a room at back with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randalstown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

From our arrival on Friday afternoon until our departure on Sunday afternoon we had a fantastic experience. In particular the staff were second to none, we were treated llike old friends, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very nice and the food was amazing. We will definitely be back for another lovely relaxing and welcoming break!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbridge
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We went here on a living social voucher deal and also because dogs are allowed.
What a great time we had great food in the bar with our dog, the owners were always there looking after their guests, the rooms were comfortable warm and quiet.
Breakfast was top notch even dog (Oscar) got some bacon and sausage.
The beach is just a short walk away and the surrounding countryside is outstanding
So if you need a relaxing break this is a great spot but do ask if you want to bring your pet.

Room Tip: Ask f or a quiet room they have live music some nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulBanbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antrim
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

stayed at this hotel as part of a large wedding group. Wow- the friendliest and most accommodating staff I have ever come across in a hotel. The food was brilliant and the standard of the rooms amazing. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libbyAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downings
0.1 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
266 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
784 reviews
10.2 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
401 reviews
15.6 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
898 reviews
22.8 mi away
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Caisleain Oir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annagry
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel

Property: Beach Hotel
Address: Downings, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Downings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Hotel Downings is a newly renovated family run hotel located in the heart of the seaside village of Downings over looking Sheephaven Bay. The Beach Hotel offers 30 stylish en-suite bedrooms, fine cuisine in both the Restaurant and the Bar along with regular live traditional Irish music to liven up the atmosphere. The Hotel is situated along the fabulous Wild Atlantic Way and is approximately 35 minutes from Letterkenny, 55 minutes from Derry and is the perfect location for all the near by attractions and activities including Fanad Lighthouse, Glenveagh National Park, Atlantic Drive, Golfing, Angling, Surfing and many more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing