We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need”
Review of Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We called in late on Saturday night, cold and tired after a days surfing, hoping for a room for the night and were extremely well looked after by the very helpful Mairead and Charlie. Given the short notice, aswell as everything else that was going on in the hotel (Shane the local singing sensation currently appearing in The Voice of Ireland had a fan-club who'd taken over the hotel for the night!) we were sorted out with rooms and even had time for a lovely meal downstairs. The staff were fantastic, and all in all - it was just what we wanted. I just hope Shane wins now and they have the after-party in the hotel!

Room Tip: Tell Charlie his cravat is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 401 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in feb 2013. From the minute I walked thru the door I was made welcome.Very modern hotel,,, free wifi was a great boost , food was excellent , had a lovely evening meal in the lounge, bedrooms are clean warm and modern ,,, bar staff was full of chat, pool table and darts available ,Next morning I had a lovely full Irish breakfast,Mairead and Charlie could not do enough for me and my family,,,,,This hotel does not use the word NO.... Everything was yes yes yes,, This hotel is on the beach , a great location, It's a pity that other hotels and business in the country don't adopt the same attitude and approach as these people... . I will be back and next time hopefully for longer... .This hotel is priced very reasonable.... Don't consider anywhere else.. This hotel ticks all the boxes... 100%

Stayed: February 2013
4  Thank Sandrafla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a great stay in this beautiful hotel. We had a fantastic welcome by Mairead and Charlie who made us very welcome and looked after us well from start to finish. The hotel itself is modern and clean and the superior room we had was really impressive...with all mod cons. having wifi throughout the hotel was great as I need it for my work.

Everything was spotless and the dinner we had was excellent! The great Irish coffees went down particularly well too!

We can heartily recommend the hotel to anyone thinking of coming to this part of Donegal....great location and a warm welcome is ensured! .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steviemac48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed with wife and family for 2 nights in December. The warmth of the reception and attitude of the staff was amazing. Rooms were great, food was excellent and the management went out of their way to make us feel at home. Would highly recommend to anyone travelling (or thinking of travelling) to this beautiful part of the world.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank pk7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Played golf early on saturday morning and didn't get back to hotel until 11.30am. We were still served a full Irish Breakfast--fantastic!!! The staff were brilliant--especially Mariead . She also ensured everyone was in time for the wedding bus

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed in the Beach Hotel, Downings for 2 nights. The Hotel is modern, well appointed, comfortable and is scrupulously clean but what sets it apart from the rest is the staff - this hotel had the friendliest and most helpful staff we have ever encountered and they are the best ambassadors for Irish hospitality, warmth and good service.
When we arrived and were greeted by Darragh who gave us plenty of information about the area and what entertainment was available whilst we were there. We had emailed to ask for a roome with a seaview but on arrival we were allocated room 105 which faces onto the street and houses opposite which was slightly disappointing. However our room was cosy and warm with comfortable bed (a double & single in the room), good shower (wall mounted shower & soap dispensers which I hate!!), and free wifi. The bedding and towels were immaculately clean, however there was no floor mat available in the bathroom. If TV is important to you, you will find only the 4 Irish stations which I am assuming is a result of the digital switchover.
Breakfast and dinner were excellent with great service - hotel owners Charlie & Mairead McClafferty are always around to greet guests with a welcoming chat (I don’t think that they ever sleep!!) and Shauna was on hand at reception to answer any queries with a friendly smile. The blue flag bleach is just a few steps away and we had a lovely stroll there in between the heavy rain showers and the Atlantic Drive has some magnificent views not to be missed. All in all, a very pleasant experience which we would recommend to others.

Room Tip: The even numbered rooms face towards the beach - a much nicer view than the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

my husband and i had a great time a lovely Hotel and very friendly staff.. Breakfasts lovely and staff very plesant.we ate in the restaurant and had bar food both great..will be back again alovely part of Donegal..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LouthCraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downings
0.1 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
277 reviews
10.2 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
417 reviews
15.6 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
418 reviews
22.8 mi away
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Caisleain Oir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annagry
435 reviews
18.3 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel

Address: Downings, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Downings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Price Range: $104 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Hotel Downings is a newly renovated family run hotel located in the heart of the seaside village of Downings over looking Sheephaven Bay. The Beach Hotel offers 30 stylish en-suite bedrooms, fine cuisine in both the Restaurant and the Bar along with regular live traditional Irish music to liven up the atmosphere. The Hotel is situated along the fabulous Wild Atlantic Way and is approximately 35 minutes from Letterkenny, 55 minutes from Derry and is the perfect location for all the near by attractions and activities including Fanad Lighthouse, Glenveagh National Park, Atlantic Drive, Golfing, Angling, Surfing and many more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing