We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best Hostel in Iceland”
Review of Hia Marlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hia Marlin
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed 2 days at Marlin's , she is so caring and thoughtful , we got very good tips, it is very clean and her cuisine is excellent , we had a wonderful lamb dish. Thanks Marleen
Marleen is Belgian living for a long time in Iceland.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treeserik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 49 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a really good experience living there, the owners were really nice and warm people like the rest of the Icelanders. Definitely a place we want to visit again. A little inconvenience might be slow internet and the kitchen which is located in the other building.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterSarkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Very nice owners, the room was just perfect in a nice location, everything felt so comfortable, clean and cozy, for an excellent value. Very nice little restaurant attached. The best place we stayed in in Iceland

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

we stayed in a very nice room, 2 nights in june 2011 - Marleen and Jon gave us a lot of information about the region - they also took us on a trip with the 4x4 to less know, but beautiful places - breakfast and dinner were fantastic - Hja Marlin is a place to come back, every time we are in Iceland

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geertc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

My sister and I stayed in Reydarfjordur's guesthouse for 2 nights last winter and we absolutely loved it. We got great service from the hostel owners, who were very kind. They drove us to a mine nearby and showed us around, and even took us to the swimming pool on the way back. It was wonderful. The room in the guesthouse was also great, and the rest of the house too. It had a nice style seen from the outside and inside it was cosy and everything we needed was available. The surroundings of the guesthouse are beautiful by the way, we could see the fjord from our bedroom window -- great views.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrkek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank NinchenBienchen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Miguel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hia Marlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hia Marlin

Address: Vallargerd 9 and 14, Reydarfjordur, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Reydarfjordur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Reydarfjordur
Price Range: $126 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hia Marlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing