We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly and cosy”
Review of Andreas Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pollonia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Andreas Rooms
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We had a great stay in April! Brigitte & Andreas extremely friendly and helpful. The cats very cute, our daughter adored - this place is a must for animal lovers. Beautiful flowers, awesome sunsets from our terrasse, delicious vegetables, rooms neat and cosy. Simple greek living at it's best (mostly outside), we warmly recommend. Must be even better from May onwards when Andreas gets his boat out to the seas!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nosteli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 56 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2010

We just returned from a great trip to Milos this week (early June 2010). Andreas Rooms is a fantastic find. The owners, Andreas and Brigitte, are friendly and approachable. Andreas is quite a character, a bit of a "dude". He gives guests free organic vegetables and cheese during their stay. The views are amazing as you can see from the picture on their website - it really does look like that! And it is very quiet and peaceful. Each room has a balcony with a sea view. More about Andreas and his traditional boat below - he offers trips to surrounding beaches inaccessible by road and to nearby islands.
http://www.andreas-rooms.gr/en/

There are lots of very friendly cats owned by owners of the B&B (not strays! very healthy looking) which were not afraid to come into the room and jump up onto the bed! A nice grey cat woke us up one morning by jumping onto the bed and meowing very loudly.

The B&B is budget accommodation, which explains the 45 euro per night price tag - it is clean and basic, but not luxurious. Note that there is no shower curtain or shower holder or air-conditioning. If you stay anywhere on the island without air-con it is necessary to buy or borrow from the owners a mosquito-repelling device which you can plug into the wall. Otherwise you will be eaten alive at night.

Each room is actually a studio with a mini-kitchen. I gathered that this is standard for most of the B&Bs on Milos from speaking to people and research on B&B sites. It was nice to sit on the balcony in the morning with a melon for breakfast. You can walk down to a small rocky shore from the B&B although there are much better beaches elsewhere on the island (the subject of another review). Did I mention that the view is amazing? It is. If you are a British person you might like to take your own tea bags because only Lipton is sold in the shops there.

SAILING TRIPS WITH ANDREAS
Andreas has a boat called "Perseas" which he uses to take people on sailing trips around the island. These trips are very small and intimate, unlike those which depart from Adamas. He goes wherever it is best to go depending on the weather for the day, and also adapts the trip to the preferences of the people on each trip. He only takes about 6 people. The sailing trips from Adamas are also quite good. We went with one of the Adamas based boats too. It was unfortunately marred by bad weather during the return journey but I would higly recommend it nonetheless.

We had a really fun trip with Andreas. Unfortunately we had unseasonably bad weather that day too (I know! Bad luck!) but Andreas improvised and we went to a cave that he knew and we had a barbecue on the beach. Andreas made a fire in a pit in the beach and grilled some pork and vegetables which were incredibly tasty - we all had to help collect dry wood to make the fire and also had to help cut the vegetables! I felt like I was in an adventure story. Then Andreas dived down to the sea bed and got some live sea urchins for us! They were really yummy. To some people this might sound crazy but in Japan this is a very expensive delicacy. All the people on the trip really liked it, even one American vegetarian and my British boyfriend who does not like sushi or strange raw things (except extremely fresh stuff - case in point).

MILOS/APPOLLONIA GENERALLY
Milos is a quiet, sleepy island known as probably the most romantic Greek island. I don't know why people say it's not great for beaches - it is! The beaches were probably up there among the most beautiful beaches I have seen in the world, and I have been to many beaches in Thailand, Australia, the Red Sea and the Italian coast. And I am from South-East Asia myself so I know what I am talking about when it comes to beaches. The water is extremely clear - well maybe the water at the sandy beaches is less clear, but it's that way anywhere in the world. There are sandy and rocky beaches, beaches which are very quiet as they are not very accessible, accessible beaches, beaches with astounding scenery, beaches with shallow water and deep water. So there's something for everyone whatever you prefer. You can ask Andreas which beach is best for the weather on that particular day e.g. if a strong North wind is blowing obviously it might be nicer to go to the beaches ont he south side of the island. The island is extremely child-friendly by the way.

The town of Adamas and fishing village of Pollonia are charming and there are plenty of nice local tavernas around. It's not too touristy, yet there are enough tourists around so that you don't feel out of place. Anyway it's so incredibly friendly that it doesn't matter. The waiter at Armenakis (terrific seafood restaurant in Pollonia) actually reserved us a table without us asking after we passed by earlier in the day, said hi and mentioned that we were coming for dinner that night!

You get free dessert in most tavernas so don't order dessert unless you can eat 2 rounds of it! We were constantly being plied with free drink (ouzu, limoncello) the whole time - everyone is so friendly. On our first night there we saw Andreas at the little marina at Pollonia and he spontaneously took us on a mini night cruise around the harbour and gave us some ouzo to drink while he drove us round (ok, sailed us... but he always says "drive the boat" so I think of it that way now).

Anyway this is spilling into a review of the town, so please search the appropriate section on Milos and Pollonia if you want to read more. Look for my review on tavernas as well.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank israphale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Wonderful position on the sunset directely on the sea!!! Very nice rooms, confortable and clean. Wonderful tour on the "Perseas", boat of 10 meters, around Milos and other little islands, with barbecue, good meat, fresh cheese and vegetables. If you want go in Milos you can't lose this beautiful experience!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

it is a beautiful place with view on two bays, so close to the sea that you can hear the splash of waves against beach when you read book on the balcony. We had breakfast enjoing with the look at the seals in the bay. Rooms are quite and very clean and close to the center of Pollonia. The owners of studios are so kind....and you can find fresh cheese and vegetables as welcome food, great and lovable!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molliconaRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2007

We spent 8 days in Andreas Rooms in May 2007 and had the best time. Milos is a truly beautiful island, relatively untouched by the crass commercialism of the many other Greek Isles. It's a little gem of a place you that can stow away and forget all, whilst you mellow in the beautiful surrounds.
Andreas Rooms are located in Pollonia on the North East tip of the island, a 20 minute drive from the main town of Adamas where the port is located and also 20 minutes from the airport. We paid €30 per night for our room, which was very spacious and had and an excellent view to the sea and the sunset. In fact there are only 5 rooms in this complex and they all share the same stunning view. The rooms were basic and clean with cooking facilities, which we really took advantage of because Andreas, the owner, gave us a regular supply of organic vegetables from his nearby fields. He also gave us some fantastic local cheese. Apparently he does this for everyone. He made us very welcome and gave us plenty of good advice on where to go and what to do.
Andreas Rooms is an ideal choice if you are on a budget and looking for a serene location to unwind.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yvesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2006

Spent five days in Pollonia from October 3rd to October 8th at Andreas' Rooms, then moved onto Adamas for 4 nights.

After a short and pleasant 20 minute hop by taxi from the airport (pre-booked by Andreas' wife, Brigitte), we arrived to what the their website visuals showed - complete peace, relaxation and stunning sunsets. Throw in the hope of being able to go fishing with Andreas himself during our stay, and the fact it only cost 35 Euros per night for 3 people and you'd be thinking I was making this up.

We were welcomed by Andreas and Brigitte, given a pristine room with 3 beds, a balcony with a remarkable view, refreshments, some fresh bread from the local bakery, and fresh goat's cheese.

The position of the pension makes it spectacularly unique because the back of the rooms look onto a bay with a stony beach(25 meters away) where the sun sets, and the front looks out over a lush garden, the sandy beach (100m away), the harbour and its restaurants, and not to forget the morning sunrise. If you manage to avoid indulging in too much food and drinking too much at the excellent fish restaurant on the right on the road to the harbour, then get up at first light. The aural activity that goes with the sunrise is excellent - all the animals of Pollonia activated in a short 30 minute burst.

Of course, if you're a keen fisherman like me, you sometimes want to work to get food on the table instead of buying it at a restaurant. Andreas is obsessed with fishing, and I’m someone who has always stood green with envy at fisherman returning with their catches in rural Greek harbours, so staying at this pension is the absolute superlative, especially when the mahi mahi are around in September-October. They fight like crazy, range from 1-4kg, taste absolutely ace, and you can cook them yourself on the barbecue outside, or in the oven in your room.

Get in!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2006

My Wife and I stayed here for 6 nights.I only
wished a review of the place had been published
prior to our booking. Firstly let me say that Pollonia
is a lovely little village, but it is situated on
a headland and when that Meltemi wind blows you
really feel the force of it here.
Andreas apartments are situated on high ground
over looking the bay ,on the North west side of
the headland. Our balcony was a no go area for 5
days of the holiday. The wind just blows in straight
off the sea taking everything of the tables and
blowing the chairs over. Breakfast on the terrace?
No way!
Also we e-mailed the owner twice about our
arrival time, prior to our holiday - no reply each
time. My wife made an enquiry about room
availability. Hey presto! Reply straight away.
I also found the owner a little strange, Friendly
smile and a good morning from us was returned
with a stare and not a flicker of emotion on her
face.
Her husband was a nice guy, gave us a few bits of
fruit and veg from his garden.
But overall, I was disappointed with our stay
here

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank colis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pollonia hotels
0.3 mi away
Tania Milos
Tania Milos
#1 of 7 in Pollonia
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delmar Apartments & Suites
0.3 mi away
Captain Zeppos Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heliotropio Hotel
Heliotropio Hotel
#3 of 14 in Pollonia
102 reviews
0 mi away
Kalimera Studios
Kalimera Studios
#18 of 25 in Pollonia
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
En Milo
En Milo
#1 of 14 in Pollonia
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andreas Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andreas Rooms

Address: Pollonia 84800, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Milos > Pollonia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Pollonia
Price Range: $41 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Andreas Rooms Milos/Pollonia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing