We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunningly simple” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt Suites & Executive Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salt Suites & Executive Rooms
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Pollonia
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Stunningly simple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Although a lot of hotels/restaurants etc.. offer the true Greek Island style of white-washed walls and simple but tasteful art scattered around, Salt does it really well. How they keep this place so gleaming is beyond me! I had a side suite so my view wasn't as lovely as the ones on the main side of the hotel but was absolutely pleasant enough and the room was gorgeous. I had a separate living area with a fridge, coffee machine, etc... next to the lovely bathroom which had a fab 'cave-like' shower with awesome water pressure!

My bed was huge and comfy and the wifi/tv worked really well when relaxing in bed after one too many Ouzos!

Outside the terrace is beautifully appointed with the squishest day-beds and big wicker chairs from which to lounge and look over the bay. There is no beach here as such but 5 mins walk away there is Pollonia Beach and all the lovely restaurants and shops Pollonia has to offer.

Didn't want to leave and Salt certainly helped add Milos to the top of my Greek Island charts.

Room Tip: A suite with a Jacuzzi on the main side of the hotel - although, be warned, they ain't that priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    22
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
92
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 9 nights. Located conveniently to the center of Pollonia (10 min walk), Salt is the perfect place to relax and disconnect. The white and spacious rooms are equipped with high-end technology (Philips flat screen, Nespresso machine, free wifi..) and very comfortable beds. Everything was impeccably clean. From the terrace, you can enjoy beautiful sunsets. We also liked the service, e.g. receiving helpful advice on which beaches to visit.

Two little downsides: Breakfast is brought to your room each morning, but there isn't too much choice what you can have and after more than a week, it gets a bit monotonous. Also, we benefitted from mid-season prices, but for the high season the rates were considerably higher (too high in my view).

All in all, we enjoyed our stay a lot!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkyponky83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

My husband and I booked Salt through Hotelopia 3 months in advance. We have paid for a seaview suite. Upon arrival, as it appeared, Salt did not have our suite available, but they did notify Hotelopia during the booking process about it. Staveos has offered to the Hotelopia's agent to book the seaside view room instead(we have seen the e-mail conversation where Hotelopia agent said it is ok to have a seaside view room without our consent!). Obviously no one from that website thought it is important to notify us. (Our lesson: always book through a hotel's website directly). As a result, we were a bit upset, but the location was amazing and our suite was great (even with a seaside view) that we have decided to let it go. However, Stavros together with the owner decided to accommodate us at best of their abilities, and make us feel like honeymooners. They gave us their Seaview Villa!!!!!! I cannot express the exquisiteness of the villa! It was something unreal. Patio with famous Pollonia's sunset that you can observe while sitting in the hot tub. Full kitchen with everything you need to prepare an amazing dinner, and a Master Bathroom with all amenities you need, two balconies and same sunset view as from the Patio. Needless to say that my husband and I did not want to leave the Salt villa at all (only to go to a supermarket). Stavros brought us breakfast every single morning and it was great! Not sure why people are complaining about it. He even was patient with us when we, paranoid New Yorkers, have woken him up at 6:25AM freaking out about not having a taxi at 6:25AM when ordered it for (6:30). (Stavros, we are still very sorry for that). Ultimately, we can say with great assurance that Salt Suites was our best place in Greece. We have fallen in love with Milos considering it a jewel of Aegean Sea. We have visited many islands (including Santorini), but there are none like Milos. Big thanks to Salt Suites and Executive Rooms for a best honeymoon location!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank malerka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonferful time at Salt. We recommend it for its perfect location. Breakfast could be better ( too simple , no fresh orange juice , ...) but oterwise it is really nice. The hotel is quiet and the rooms are beautiful.the service is good . we felt well in this hotel and we would definitely come back!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Whitepompon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorinchem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very nice and secluded spot at end of Pollonia. Would very much recommend.
Overlooks the Sea and you'll have the most stunning sundowners.
Close to beaches and the best restaurants on Milos and good place to move around on the island.
Would advice to rent a car for 1 or 2 days to drive around and visit the best beaches on Milos.
No complaints about breakfast, don't think people will have such an extended breakfast back home. Cute little basket with choice of food.
Suites are wonderful, lots a space and feels like a sort cave. Everything in white which feels kind of luxuruous.
Would defintely want to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephandeboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

When our travel agent Barbara, at Aegean Thesaurus, suggested Salt Suites in Pollonia as an option for accommodation for our planned visit to Milos in May, it didn’t take long for us to decide that this was exactly the type of place we were looking for during our 7 days on Milos. Within minutes of arriving at Salt, and after the wonderful week we enjoyed at this hotel, we concluded that we had made the right choice. Aside from one aspect of the resort that was a bit of an annoyance (see below) Salt is a beautiful, comfortable, romantic and relaxing resort and without hesitation we would highly recommend Salt to anyone planning a vacation to Milos.

We were promptly met by the driver at the port in Adamas when we stepped off the ferry and within 15 minutes we had pulled up to the resort to be welcomed by Stavros, the manager. Stavros does an excellent job of keeping things running smoothly and during the week he was extremely helpful with recommendations, arranging transportation, lending us some beach towels and responding to any number of requests. This quiet, charming, fellow is one of the reasons the week was so very relaxing and perfect in most every way. The staff at Salt is also impressive. Salt’s design, both inside and out, is stunning, but with the vast majority of the resort decorated in that pure dazzling-white Cycladic style and design, it obviously takes an enormous amount of work to keep things looking so pristine. They do it! Every inch of the resort and our room were spotless and cleaned each day from top to bottom.

Salt’s location is terrific. The resort is located on the very edge of the residential and resort area to the south and west of the beach and village of Pollonia and situated right on the edge of a lava rock shoreline. There is one other resort to the southwest, but due to the way that the resort is positioned facing the gorgeous views of the peninsula and coast line rock formations, every room has a breathtaking view – especially of the sunsets. The views are not in any way impeded by other development as alluded to. You are right on the waterfront with the aquamarine and blue sea spreading out from below the resort. Our seaview suite – the Provatas was the second of the four suites on the lower level. The suites closer to the entrance also have views of the beautiful island of Kimolos across the channel. From our perspective, the three upper level seaview suites would also be an excellent choice of room and although there is no private Jacuzzi, the private balconies and views are likely even a bit better than the ground floor (since part of the view on the main level suites, for privacy reasons, is obscured by the bamboo dividers seen in the pictures). Not to worry – as the photos show, the views from the loungers and the jacuzzi’s are magnificent. I’ve taken a picture of the resort from the front (standing down near the shore). The entrance is at the front corner. You can see the seaview suites, upper and lower, extending to the right of the entrance in the photo. The “sideview” suites can be seen on the left extended back from the entrance. The lower level sideview suites do indeed have an asphalt road running beside them, but beyond lies Kimolos and the sea. We would certainly recommend the seaview suites and rooms as excellent choices and value, and I would think that the upper floor sideview rooms would also be most excellent for balcony sitting, views and location. The unit at the top front corner, with the private balcony would also be superb (which I believe is the sea house).

That’s the layout – the design of the resort is stunning and cleverly organized. Georgios, the owner, has adopted the classic Cycladic style but with a bit of a twist. There are few straight edges anywhere and the walls, partitions, ceilings and entrances have all been constructed with an organic, freeform feel that is soothing. The bathroom is especially cool with the amorphous cave-like shower (and the rainforest shower with side multiple body spray) vanity and shelf area – as if you were in a cave, accented with purple touches. All of the materials, doors, fixtures and surfaces are top of the line. Almost all surfaces, furniture, doors, built-ins and cabinetry are white with organic touches of wood, hemp rope, seashells and weavings as accents. The bedroom area had a low comfortable bed, excellent linens and pillows, purple mood lamps and chiffon drapes separating it from the living room area. The room was equipped with a pod-coffee maker, china and glassware, an iPod docking station and a small fridge which was practically put to good use chilling wine for sipping on the balcony and in the Jacuzzi. There is plenty of cupboard space. Subdued recessed lighting adds to the calming, intimate feel of the room.

Outside, the balcony Jacuzzi is raised which means hot-tub soaking vacationers are perfectly positioned to take in the view. The tub is surrounded by a touch of hemp and decorative rocks and functioned flawlessly. In mid May, with the weather, it was not too cool, nor too hot during the day, and in the evening we turned up the heat and luxuriated as a million bubbles soothed our aching muscles (after sea-kayaking), as we watched the sun set, looked up at the stars and sipped our wine. The porches have two large and very comfortable built-in couches/settees to relax on, with a wooden table – we enjoyed breakfast out here every morning and a few afternoon snoozes occurred during the week. The view, as can be seen from the pictures, was spectacular. The private verandah and Jacuzzi was indeed a selling point, and one of the best attributes of those rooms at Salt resort. It would be an awesome honeymoon location.

The one and only downside to this terrific sea-side resort is something that is more of a pet peeve for non-smokers such as ourselves. We’ve experienced the same problem at other resorts (and once-upon-a-time on cruise ships) where the solitude and privacy of our own verandah or balcony has been intruded upon by the stench of cigarette smoke from adjacent guests. The rooms at Salt are smoke free, and in an ideal world, smoking would also be prohibited on verandahs. We spent the week beside the same guests who were very nice, but treated us to the horrid smell of those extremely odorous European cigarettes almost continually when they were out on their verandah. I admit I’m overly sensitive about this, and of course, I have to accept that I am in Greece after all, where public smoking is a national birthright unlikely to be eradicated as it has been in North America. This was really only a minor annoyance, and in no way a reflection on the Resort.

We much enjoyed breakfast. Although other reviewers have commented on the limited nature of breakfast, we loved the basket of goodies delivered each morning and our relaxed private breakfast ritual of reading and relaxing – particularly since we could make fresh coffee by the cup with the pod machine in the room. The pastries were fresh, the fruit was plentiful and of course that awesome Greek yogurt covered in honey. My photos include an “unboxing” of breakfast. The fridge in the room was extremely convenient and we bought some wine, water and goodies from the excellent bakery in town to munch on each day.

We were not certain what the week would be like staying in Pollonia but overall we very much enjoyed the town and the seaside setting. It was a little too early to swim, but with the private verandah calling us we preferred settling in there each day. There is not much to see or do within Pollonia in the month of May. Shopping is limited and there are no historic buildings or sites to see. However we weren’t in Pollonia to be entertained, or for excitement, – we were there to relax, enjoy a seaside Greek village and do some kayaking. Two of our days on the island were set for sea kayaking excursions with Sea Kayak Milos (awesome!) and otherwise we just relaxed and enjoyed the tavernas, (especially Gialos, our restaurant of choice for the entire week) and strolling through town. The town is perfectly situated for a day visit to Kimolos, as the ferry departs from here – it was on our list of things to do, but alas we heard the Jacuzzi and lounge chairs, and the good food and wine at Gialos, calling to us each day and being lazy took precedence that week. We elected not to rent a car, and whenever we needed transportation the local taxis provided excellent service and Stavros was able to arrange for a cab (usually driven by a very nice lady) at any time we needed it.

We would highly recommend Salt Resort as an accommodation option if you are travelling to Milos. Beautiful, relaxing, well-maintained, and a first-rate option if you wish to stay in Pollonia. Georgios told us, one day, that the beauty of Milos is best appreciated from the sea – we agreed wholeheartedly when we toured the island in our kayaks that week, and the Salt Resort in Pollonia is certainly located where you can best appreciate the beauty of the seaside shores of the Greek Islands all from the comfort of your own verandah or balcony. Yassou.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Northerngirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

After checking out several other properties in Milos we chose SALT and we are SOOO thankful we did. We've stayed on many of the Greek islands and most hotels are similar with very basic rooms for sleeping and showering and not much outdoor personal space - we were so impressed with SALT and it exceeded our expectations in every way - pure luxury, quiet seaside beauty with everything you may want for a relaxing romantic vacation.

After getting married in Santorini we took the 2 hour ferry to Milos, Stavros the manager of SALT, graciously helped us rent a car prior to our arrival with EuropeCar, with its pickup office right at the port, literally across from the dock. It was very convenient, and we got a great daily rate. Milos is an island you will definitely want a car to explore the hidden beaches, visit the numerous seaside villages and make the most of your visit.

The drive from Adamas (Port) to SALT Hotel in Pollonia is only about a 15 minute drive and its beautiful. We checked in with Stavros which was easy, and we were given the Paleochori Suite at the end of the ground floor suites. WHAT A GORGEOUS ROOM! The privacy was fantastic because you are at the end corner of the hotel, the view is fantastic of the sea both from the room and the outdoor veranda and the sunset view was amazing. The room was bright, airy & immaculately clean, the linens were fresh, the bathroom products were very nice and the bed was super comfortable and looked directly out to our balcony and the sea. The best part about the suite is the jacuzzi on the outdoor private veranda. It is a modern 8 person sunken jetted jacuzzi, kept warm at all times so all you have to do is get in. We requested the Jacuzzi temperature be increased since the nights were chilly and Stavros helped us right away. Breakfast is served at the time you request directly to your balcony and consisted of small sandwiches, yogurt, honey, a variety of pitas (spanakopita, tiropita, lahanopita) and fresh juice. The Nespresso Cappuccino machine in the room made great coffee and the plates, wine glasses and silverware were a very nice addition to the suite. The refrigerator and microwave also came in very handy.

Pollonia itself is an adorable, safe, family oriented village with a beautiful beach and tiny port. The village is about a 5 walk from SALT with very nice tavernas (both Armenaki and Enalion were our favorites both had amazing service and the freshest seafood around). From Pollonia we drove to visit just about every beach and village on the eastern side of the island and we were happy that the furthest village/beach in the south of the island was only about a 30 minute, very scenic, drive. Try to visit as many beaches and villages as possible, they each have their own beauty, character and charm. Another perk was we traveled during the beginning of "low season" early October and the weather was perfect, 80 F (26 C) Sunny and the island wasnt too crowded, tavernas were busy but there was no waiting and the beaches are practically your own.

Visiting Milos is a must - we were thrilled to explore another island with incredible beauty, some of the best beaches in the Aegean, amazing food and sincerely wonderful people. We really could not have had a better stay and we hope to return to Milos soon and will definitely stay at SALT HOTEL. Thank you Stavros and staff for making our honeymoon perfect!

Room Tip: Go for a Jacuzzi Seaside Suite - it is 100 % worth the extra money. The Paleochori Suite has fantast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElleMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pollonia
0.3 mi away
Delmar Apartments & Suites
0.1 mi away
Tania Milos
Tania Milos
#1 of 7 in Pollonia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
6.7 mi away
Psaravolada Resort
Psaravolada Resort
#3 of 34 in Milos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Santa Maria Village
Santa Maria Village
#1 of 17 in Adamas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nefeli Sunset Studios
Nefeli Sunset Studios
#2 of 7 in Pollonia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glaronisia Hotel
Glaronisia Hotel
#6 of 7 in Pollonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Suites & Executive Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Suites & Executive Rooms

Property: Salt Suites & Executive Rooms
Address: Pelekouda, Pollonia 848 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Milos > Pollonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pollonia
#5 Family Hotel in Pollonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salt Suites & Executive Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Salt Suites & Executive Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Suites & Executive Rooms Milos/Pollonia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing