We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lagoons of Aigialia!”
Review of Aigialia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aigialia
Ranked #8 of 14 Pollonia B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lagoons of Aigialia!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you have a chance to stay at Aigialia apartments, don’t hesitate, you will not regret it! We spent a week at Aigialia in Pollonia, Sept-12. It was end of season and the sea was lovely with pleasant temperature, a couple of days we had some strong winds and high waves.

Location
The location of Aigialia apartments couldn´t have been better. It’s a situated in a calm part of Pollonia, little at the side, with beautiful nature surrounding it. We arrived at midday under hot sunlight, it felt a bit far away while struggling with our bags, but it is actually only 5 minutes’ walk to the town beach, stores and restaurants.
Just outside hotel garden there are small lagoons made from smooth cliffs. There is also a little mini beach, so the entrance to the water is easy. The water in the lagoons is safe from big waves if the weather gets stormy. There were almost no people at all out on the cliffs so the hole area felt private, might be different in high season though..
Cypresses in the garden gives nice shadow and there are comfortable chairs in which we relaxed during hot afternoon ours. My man looked like Hemingway in his chair, with a cigar, book and a hat, looking at the sea from time to time. The atmosphere is dreamlike! I really recommend this place for nature lovers who likes quiet and private staying’s. It is very romantic too :)
Two minutes’ walk from Aigialia we enjoyed the most spectacular sunset the Island has to offer. You can sit on a cliff and watch the red sun rolling down into the sea, it sort of glides of the side of a big rock into the water, that’s addictive!

Hotel
The owners are a nice and caring family who gives the place a cosy atmosphere, they keep a low profile when they are around. All rooms have either a balcony or a patio facing sea and the garden is nice with small lamps that lights up in the evening.
Rooms are clean and very well kept. It all looks quite newly done. Decoration and colours are modern, in my opinion apartment standard is better than average on the islands. They clean and change blankets and towels every day. Beds where comfortable if you don’t want them very soft.
In the room there is a micro oven, a mini stove for coffee, fridge, a small icebox and some china. It’s not possible to cook your own food in the apartment, which at first was a disappointment, but the freshness of the room (without trace of cooking) compensated that. We had some very good cold plates for lunch and used the micro too. Balcony was just big enough for having breakfast, our hade walls on the sides that protected us from windy weather, choose one of those if you can.

To do
There is a nice spot for snorkelling at the side of a steep cliff across from the lagoons, to the right. If you don’t want to swim to the other side there are stairs to use. Follow the edge of the cliff to the cape and there is a cave where you can see colourful fishes . Try to make it there early in the day when the sun lightens up the cave. Town beach is okay but if you follow the shore further on you can find nicer and more private beaches. We also took the bus to Milos town and went on a snorkelling trip around the island. We choose one of the big catamarans, it had an engine and a sail too, so we did both. The trip took all day and it would have been fantastic if the meals have been bigger and served earlier during the day. If you go, bring your own snacks, we were starving!

Don’t choose a restaurant in the right section of the harbour in Pollonia! Follow the main road towards the mountain, just 100 meters away you find a very good restaurant: Apanemia with prices that matches the experience, food here is really enjoyable! Staff is also very service minded and helpful. Just across the street there is a lovely café with sweets, marmalade and honey to bring home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank missouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Katerini, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in Aigialia for 6 days in July, we would definitely go again!The room was clean and new,the view fantastic and the owners are so sweet!It has a lovely outside area that Mr.Nikos maintains beautifully and its the best place to drink your morning coffee, or evening drink.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne_Vee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just spent a fabulous 7 days in Aigialia apartments in Milos - Poppy and Nicos cannot do enough for you. The apartment is cleaned daily with fresh towels and sheets. The whole outside area is clean and constantly maintained. In the evening, the candles are lit around the seating area - making it lovely to sit and watch the sunset! Pollonia is a fabulous area with lovely restaurants and bars....great holiday for couples! We are already planning our time in Milos next year and Aigialia will be our apartment of choice!

Room Tip: There are 9 rooms in total - 8 have excellent seaview - one apartment has view onto the road at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

New, clean, quiet, well-appointed rooms overlooking the sea. All the rooms have small kitchenette area and their own little balcony looking out to the sea - don't forget snorkelling kit! A short walk of 5 - 10 mins takes you to the harbour area where you will find some good restaurants. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Misses Popi and her husband are one of the sweetest and simplest couple you will meet in Greece. They recently set up this small hotel in a nice corner of Milos. Most of Pollonia village, including the hotels, B&Bs and restaurants are now ran by a younger generation who are trying hard to provide a great service. They have the energy and willingness to satisfy their visitors and make them want more and come back.
You'll find everything you need in the room, includign three ways of making coffee, A/C, microwave, fridge, hairdryer, blackout blinds, CLEANLINESS (the rooms are cleaned EVERY DAY even though this is more of a B&B, and they are really cleaned not just freshened up). They don't serve breakfast but that is part fo the experience; no hurry to wake up for breakfast, just wake up whenever and go the Rifaki on foot, or to the bakery or buy your own stuff.
The best though is what happens outside your room. A nicely kept garden gives way to the beach, separated by two big welcoming trees. Have a drink while they are discreetly illuminated at night with green lights and candles, or use their shade during the day to read a book, get a tan or dry following the refreshing swim. The views are spectcular with the small island of Kimolos across the bay and the ever changing colors as the sun keeps moving.
And all this for a low price.
Highly recommended for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thisisme?ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Aigialia and we just loved it. The rooms are simple, nice, very clean, quiet and with a wonderful view on the sea. Lovely to be able to get up in the morning and to go for an early swim. The owners only speak a little bit of english but are very welcoming. The rooms are cleaned daily.
No breakfast available but there is a very nice bakery in the village 5-10 min away. There are a few cutlery and plates in the bedrooms.
Pollonia is really a nice little place to go with kids. We used to go out in the evenings to the "port" and the kids could come back by foot to the house.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We escaped to Milos after an unfortunate overnight stay at a horrible room of Bounamas Rooms, Sikinos. We were really lucky that Aigialia had one available double room during that (peak) period. We immediately appreciated the tidiness and cleanliness of our room, which looked directly to the sea through a small private balcony, like all other rooms did. The room service was daily, but no breakfast was available. However, it was easy for us to buy a few supplies and prepare our own breakfast using the provided refrigerator, coffee machine, boiler, tea/sugar sachets. The sea is not only within a distance of 50 mt. away, but also its tropical/clear waters and the surrounding rocky scenery will make your swim unforgettable. After having explored most of the island, we concluded that Pollonia, is propably the best place to be during your stay at Milos: not far from the lively port, with many and decent tavernas, markets and groceries, clean waters and a sandy beach nearby. All, within 10mins. walk from the hotel.. Finally, our congratulations to mrs Popi and mr Nikos for their hospitality.

Room Tip: Less privacy in ground floor rooms. If possible, avoid them
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blunket_Vag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pollonia hotels
0.3 mi away
Delmar Apartments & Suites
0.1 mi away
Tania Milos
Tania Milos
#1 of 7 in Pollonia
460 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glaronisia Hotel
Glaronisia Hotel
#5 of 7 in Pollonia
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nefeli Sunset Studios
Nefeli Sunset Studios
#2 of 7 in Pollonia
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heliotropio Hotel
Heliotropio Hotel
#3 of 14 in Pollonia
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Perla Rooms
Perla Rooms
#5 of 14 in Pollonia
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aigialia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aigialia

Property: Aigialia
Address: Pelekouda, Pollonia 848 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Milos > Pollonia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Pollonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...Aigialia, 9 sea-sprayed rooms found in the embrace of Milos's Pollonia, in the cape of Pelekouda, where the sea divides Milos from Kimolos, where the east paints the sea silvery blue and the west tints it red and mauve...this magical spot is where the welcoming, brand new Aigialia, untouched and facing the immense blue sea - just as its name implies - anxiously awaits your arrival. The rooms seem to expand out into the sea; its aura awakens the senses and soothes the eyes.The «Aigialia» opened to its guests in 2009 and anticipates your arrival. Nick and Popi, who built it with impeccable taste, are there, at your side, to remind you that the seaside roads of the Archipelago have always been hospitable to its travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aigialia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aigialia Milos/Pollonia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing