We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best French meal in the Pyrenees”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L Aristou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L Aristou
Ranked #1 of 1 Barbazan B&B and Inns
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best French meal in the Pyrenees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

After over 20 years eating out in the Garronne valley area this is a gem. The chef takes real pride in the menu and the food. The small Logis hotel is set above the Garronne valley 5 minutes drive from the N125 main road through to central Spain. We were there with friends for Sunday lunchtime and will return without question.
If you live in the area this is well worth the drive and if you are travelling through France and Spain this is the perfect stop over.
The fixed price menu dishes have been put together to compliment each other and no substitution of a dish from the A la carte is allowed. Go with the chefs choices.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobPat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel in the small village of Barbazan has charming floral rooms and the dining experience we enjoyed here was the best we had in six weeks of travelling in France. The meal was quite superb with brilliant sauces. Breakfast the next morning was rather ordinary, but still a very worthwhile stay and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PG_Dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights, sadly not longer. The rooms are well appointed, as are the dining/ bar areas.
The menus - we sampled 2 price levels were both excellent- absolutely nothing bad to say about any of the dishes served, except my wife wouldn't let me sample more of her choices!
All round excellence...

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julius H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2008

We (a party of four) stayed here for one night in the foothills of the Pyrenees on the way south to Spain. In the event, we wished we could have stayed longer. Although small (only 6 bedrooms), it has a large and well appointed dinning area, plus a delightful terrace with a nice garden. The bedrooms we had were each very comfortable and quiet. The highlight however, was the evening meal. The owner is an excellent Chef who has devised a well-balanced menu; he produced some wonderful food for us, with an excellent selection of drinks too. We ate out on the terrace on a warm summer evening; it could not have been a more delightful way of spending a relaxing evening. We paid €60 per night per room, plus €6 each for breakfast. The wonderful evening meal (we chose one of the fixed-price menus) was €148 for the four of us (including a bottle of wine and other drinks).

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arandale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2005

My husband, daughter and I stayed here at the beginning of July this year - 2005. This hotel has a 3-star rating, but should have a 5-star rating for the food alone.

The food is so good that we stayed an unscheduled third night in order to taste more. The Aguillettes de Canard is, quite simply, out of this world. The wine list is excellent and affordable. The setting is a delight, and each evening we enjoyed one delicious course after the other in the shade in the lovely garden.

We had a small suite of rooms with sitting area and bathroom. This meant that we could open windows on either side of the building to allow free circulation of air at night, and this was a gift in the heat which hit France at that time.

The young owners of this Logi could not be more pleasant or more attentive to detail. I cannot recommend this little gem of an hotel highly enough. If you're heading for the Haute-Garonne, don't miss it. We certainly hope to return.

Helpful?
10 Thank JCP1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barbazan
2.7 mi away
Hostellerie des 7 Molles
Hostellerie des 7 Molles
#1 of 1 in Sauveterre-de-Comminges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#1 of 1 in Saint-Gaudens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
6.3 mi away
L'Hostellerie des Cedres
L'Hostellerie des Cedres
#1 of 2 in Villeneuve-de-Riviere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chateau De La Lanette
Chateau De La Lanette
#1 of 1 in Salechan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
3.2 mi away
Du Cote de Lacoume
Du Cote de Lacoume
#1 of 1 in Anla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L Aristou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L Aristou

Property: L Aristou
Address: avenue du Chateau, 31510 Barbazan, France (Formerly Hostellerie de l'Aristou)
Location: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Barbazan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barbazan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your L Aristou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing