We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good lunch in Quillan”

La Pierre Lys Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 21 Restaurants in Quillan
Price range: $20 - $63
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very good lunch in Quillan”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Had a recent very good lunch. Breaded veal cutlet, steak au poivre with excellent sauce, salade nicoise, and a creme brule type dessert and cheese plate (she brings over a selection and you take as you wish). Nice bottle of local vin blanc. Total for 4 was 73 euros. Great service and atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spinesrgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best Meal in France”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have been traipsing all over France for 7 weeks now, and happened on this hotel/restaurant today. It is wonderful. I note that previous reviewers refer to "Old France" when reviewing this restaurant. Since we were not fortunate enough to experience Old France, I am so happy that we got a taste today. After 40+ dinners so far in France, this one is memorable. Service, food, wine, and ambiance were all wonderful. Price was reasonable. I was beginning to wonder what got Julia Child so excited!

We have eaten at several Michelin-starred restaurants, and frankly, would put this up with the best in consideration of the fraction this meal cost. Flavors were wonderful. Presentation interesting. Service exquisite.

Another plus is that we sat at the table facing the river flowing by. Enjoyed the music as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thinktravelCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Will try the trout next time”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were driven here by a friend as we had never been during our time in Quillan. We were greeted with a firm "Au rlevoir" by the lady who sat us. %-) Our friend encouraged us to have the lunch menu (usually a sensible choice at a French restaurant). My entree tasted as if it were mainly out of cans. The main course was fatty veal in an odd orange-coloured sauce. We thought later that the food was more like what one gets eating out in England than eating out in the south of France. Our friend had trout and we would order that if we ever return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 42again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aude
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best food in Quillan”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We live in Quillan and have eaten at the Pierre Lys many, many times. My Brother in law has 4 restaurants and always asks when we will be having our meal there when he visits. The decor is a little dated but the food and service are outstanding. We went yesterday and ate from the 19 euro menu and the food was top notch. If you want a nice meal then my suggestion would be to go here

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stupidgirlAude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Old fashioned high quality service and food”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Quillan is a beautiful little town on the scenic road between Carcassone and Perpignan,southern France.La Pierre Lys is a small family run hotel that serves both lunch and dinner. We've had dinner there frequently over the years.The food is always first class and is very reasonable!!! What makes this establishment well worth a visit is it's atmosphere.The place has not seen any change for quite a while.Mme Rullac meets and greets as she may have done for at least forty years,her husband and sons cook and the same waitress is forever present.The crisp clean linen on the tables,the silver cutlery,the hand written menus and Charles Aznavour background music all add up to echoes of times past.The food here never disappoints but the real attraction is the "old world charm and genuine hospitality"

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearaman25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pierre Lys Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Pierre Lys Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing