We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality plus”
Review of La Chaumiere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Chaumiere
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Quillan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had driven virtually across France. Starting from Leipzig, Germany as we travelled south the air became balmier, sunnier and French. However our dilly dallying, taking in the French ambience and cuisine made us late for our hotel arrival time. After passing the village of Quilaln twice we finally pulled up outside La Chaumiere at three a.m. There was not a soul in sight. We tinkled the bell. Nothing. Almost resigning ourselves to sleeping in the car we heard the sound of voices coming from down the street. The voices were that of the cafe owner a block down from the hotel La Chaumiere. In our falting, school age French we explained our sitatuion. The cafe owner rang La Chaumiere and the owner opened up for us. The air outisde had chilled and our tired muscles welcomed the warm shower, luxurious beds and beautiful decor.. It was a great place to satge daytrips around the beautiful Languedoc.and the staff were friendly and very accomodating and hospitable. La Chaumiere had a family friendly feel that we really enjoyed and with our four year old in tow this was one quality that stood out for us. Not to far from the Mediterranean coast and set in the foothills of the Pyrenees, La Chaumiere is my dream hotel come true.

Room Tip: Our room had a great view to the east form the balcony so we sat tehre in the morning sun.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tabboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for La Chaumiere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 187 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2011

My wife and i spent 3 nights at Hotel la Chaumiere in October. I chose it on the basis of some very good reviews and on the fact that Quillan, while not a place of huge interest in and of itself, is a very good base for visiting Cathar castles both to the east and west.
all this worked out pretty much as i had planned. The hotel room was very modern - the owners have obviously put a lot of money into renovation - while the restaurant has been restored to a more traditional looking site. Since we were staying 3 nights, we received a discount of 5 Euros each on the demi-pension. We also received free garage for our vehicle.
The food at both breakfast and dinner was excellent, and at the rate of 25 Euros each per day was a real bargain.
Our room for 75 Euros a night was spacious and spotless. All in all, I would say this was an excellent place to stay, especially if you are interested in visiting the Cathar castles and the surrounding beautiful countryside. If you look at a map of htis part of France you'll see why.

Room Tip: No advice to offer here.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steveSantaFe_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

A really nice stay. The service and food were very good although we thought that the rooms were only ok. It was rather noisy at times something that we found generally a problem here in France; I think that we would go back for the food however.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cycleripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We found this hotel a real pleasure. Excellent service, clean bright rooms. We stayed on a demi-pension basis and the evening meal was excellent and superb value for money. We travel a lot and can say that this part of France in general provided some of the most consistently high quality food we have had ain a long time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MJLSML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

I can not agree with the other reviews posted on tripadvisor. We loved the hotel itself and I think that it is the best choice for Quillan. The room was spacious, modern, clean, - the bathroom as well. Beds were comfortable, reception nice - so nothing to complain about!?

As foodies we were happy to try out the 7 course menue in a stunning and really nice atmosphere with an exerted and rather nice waitress, it was rather expensive for what it was (55 Euros). Many choices in between the courses of the cheaper menue were not existent on the day we ate there, as we were told on the very beginning.
Wine was tasty, unfortunately we had a problem with the food, our fish was good but partly totally burned (black) outside, lambchops: really very good meat but it was drawn in a sweet sauce. The amuse bouche was a piece of puff paste -- we did not feel that this is value for money, really not. (and we are ready to spend much money for food and restaurants)

Would I go there again: Yes, I would, but next time I would choose the restaurant in front of the hotel. Landscape around Quillan was really stunning

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beaujolais31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

My Family and I stayed at La Chaumiere in September for one night as we explored the region. We stayed in a family room called eva. The hotel was in a great location and easy to find, and its beautiful. The gentleman on reception was very helpful - his english was about as good as my french so we managed to communicate ok.

Our room was on the 2nd floor. we had a bunk bed away from the main bedroom, a large bathroom with wetroom, a large bedroom with desk and balcony - its very modern and the views are great - mostly mountain which surrounds the village - its in a bowl.

We has dinner in the restaurant, the menu was difficult to understand - the waitress helped us a lot - I had a veggie dish which was great, and the childrens menu was fab, we had an amuse bouche plenty of bread and lovely dessert - the prices were the same as everywhere else we ate whilst we were in France. The wine list was very good.

Worth a drive up to Axat and Gorge Saint George - probably the most amazing drive I have ever done!

We had brekkie there in the morning too. I thought the choice was a bit poor for the price.

There was no coffee/ta etc in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank natlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

I have been going to Quillan now for some 5 years and have stayed at the hotel La Chaumiere many times. When we first stayed there the current owners had only just taken over and were in the process of refurbishing the entire building--and what a job they have made of it.
The rooms are very modern and very comfortable. The showers are very powerful and the towels are plentiful, not like in some French hotels.
The dining in the hotel is second to none- Dinner is an expierience-Set in the stunning dining room, we spoiled ourselves last time we were there and had the 7 course set dinner. I chose the Pidgeon for my main meat dish and I wasn't dissapointed. The meal was helped down with a couple of bottles of the "Local Champagne" Blanquette. served to your table for 11 euros a bottle. Fantastic.
The breakfast is the best.. Served on the open air decking/roof terrace, lovely relaxing music in the back ground, overlooking the foothils of the Pyrenees. Buffet style help yourself to an aray of fancies from pancakes to fresh yogurt and honey and fresh fruit. Bacon sausages and eggs too. Then relax in the big comfy chairs or hamocks and chill out for an hour or so in the glorious sunshine.
When staying at this hotel you grt that feeling that you are million miles away from anything you have known previous. The hotel is a little gem and if you stay ther you will want to go back with your friends or familly just to show them how good it is.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mudnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quillan
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cartier
Hotel Cartier
#2 of 3 in Quillan
152 reviews
6.0 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
0.9 mi away
La Pierre Lys
La Pierre Lys
#3 of 3 in Quillan
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hostellerie du Grand Duc
23.0 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
447 reviews
9.1 mi away
L'hostellerie de l'Eveche
L'hostellerie de l'Eveche
#1 of 1 in Alet les Bains
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chaumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chaumiere

Address: 25 boulevard Charles de Gaulle, 11500 Quillan, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Quillan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Quillan
Price Range: $87 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Chaumiere 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Restaurant La Chaumière welcome you in the heart of Aude Upper Valley, nearby main Cathar stunning sites in the Corbieres. You can enjoy our fully renovated rooms and facilities nearby Rennes le Chateau, Bugarach, stunning Aude river or Galamus canyon. located between Carcassonne, Perpignan Andorra and Foix , relax in a our standart or superior room and savor traditional french cuisine in our restaurant and get at your ease on our under the stars outdoor terrasse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Chaumiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing