We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and accommodations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quillan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L'Olivette Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 11 Quillan B&B and Inns
Atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and accommodations”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay with Silvia and Roy and found it to be an excellent location for visiting the Cathar castles. Silvia and Roy are very hospitable and are eager to make their guests comfortable and feel at home. We had dinner with them both nights and had wonderful food and conversation that went on for 3 or 4 hours. The breakfasts were also excellent--our hosts even offered to make eggs to go along with the croissants, pain au chocolat, breads, home-made jams, fruits juice, etc. We think it would be a great choice for someone who wants to see that area and wants to enjoy a bed-and-breakfast experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusiequeAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We spent a week in Southern France recently, driving from town to town, and had booked accommodation for all but the last two nights of our trip. As we were flying out of Perpignan, and had spent our second to last night in Foix, we decided to stop over in Quillan en-route. And what a perfect decision that turned out to be! We'd made an enquiry by email and had a lovely call from Silvia to say that she and Roy would be delighted to accommodate us.

The weather may have been appalling, but that was forgotten as soon as we met Silvia, Roy and Scampi the dog! We settled in and headed into the town to grab some lunch at a restaurant that they'd recommended. Afterward, we strolled through the town, taking in the sights and stopping off at some of the antique shops along the way.

Silvia and Roy had made a booking for four people for dinner that evening, and asked if we'd like to accompany them. This turned out to be a wise decision, as their knowledge of the area and the food and wine proved to be priceless. Roy's stories of the time he worked with Pablo Picasso kept us entertained throughout the evening, and we then strolled through the town for a nightcap at a bar beside the river, before retiring to the house. It was a really lovely night, and we'd commented several times about how welcome we were made to feel.

Saturday dawned grey and wet, but a hearty breakfast put paid to the blues, and we were soon on our way. We left l'Olivette feeling that we'd known Silvia and Roy for years as opposed to less than 24 hours, and have promised to return for one of Roy's highly-regarded home cooked dinners.

If you're lucky enough to be going to Quillan, give them a call or drop them a line - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malachy_Geelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

l'Olivette is a great location for the airport, major towns, cute villages, and the Pyrenees.

Roy and Silvia are the most friendly people I have ever met.
They are very very helpful - can you imagine they have waited 8 (!!!!) hours with me at the Toulouse airport for my bags. They cook fantastic food with a lovely dinner-party atmosphere.

It is worth making a trip to Quillan just to stay here, and then to be able to take advantage of the local offers is a bonus. The B&B is only 5 mins walk from the centre of Quillan, a reasonable drive to the heart of the Pyrenees, and surrounded by some brilliant hills with amazing views.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacekSmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Not only is l'Olivette a great location for the airport, major towns, cute villages, and the Pyrenees, but the friendliness of Roy and Silvia is second to none and feels more like visiting family friends than staying at a B&B. Roy and Silvia are lovely people, very very helpful (such as where to go / what to do) and, as many other reviews have mentioned, cook fantastic food with a lovely dinner-party atmosphere.

It is worth making a trip to Quillan just to stay here, and then to be able to take advantage of the local offers is a bonus. The B&B is only 5 mins walk from the centre of Quillan, a reasonable drive to the heart of the Pyrenees, and surrounded by some brilliant hills with amazing views. There are also spectacular gorges within 10/20 mins drive and opportunities to kayak or white water raft, or, just chill out at the B&B in the little swimming pool!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal_onhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We stayed one night with Roy and Sylvia, and will definitely be going back. Such a beautiful place, with stunning views of the mountains and just a couple of minutes' walk from the centre of Quillan. Our room was lovely, and our hosts couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Faced with preparing a meal for me (vegetarian) and my partner (who eats fish), Roy cooked a wonderful four-course dinner, with seafood for my partner and a delicious mushroom risotto for me. They gave us lots of advice about the local area too. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, BC CANADA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

We stayed with Sylvia and Roy for two nights in the middle of a month-long cycling trip. They were very hospitable, and after the first night's dinner, we were very glad that we had booked both our evening meals with them. Our room was clean and quiet with its own entrance, looking out onto a hillside of native plants. The town of Quillan isn't a tourist centre, but we found it surprisingly scenic and very pleasant to explore for a day. Roy and Silvia are English, but Silvia speaks fluent French and they have lived in France for many years. They provided us with lots of interesting information about Quillan and the surrounding area.

The meals were the highlight of our stay and some of the best we ate in France. Roy is a semi-retired professional chef. He owned his own restaurant on the Isle of Wight, but trained and worked in France. He not only cooked for us, but entertained us with his stories, and provided us with recipe suggestions. Silvia makes the breakfasts and desserts. Her generous petit dejeuners, with fresh-baked croissants and eggs, kept us going on our bicycles far longer than the usual baguette and coffee, and the two dinners they prepared for us were nothing short of superb. The duck with black cherry sauce, the fennel in cream, the lovely cheeses and Sylvia's rhubarb apple tart will not soon be forgotten.

We would definitely stay at L'Olivette again and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Quillan.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldkoot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Country, England
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We turned up on unplanned our bikes late one evening and asked for a couple of beds for the night, we found our hosts most accommodating, the food was superb, we were spoilt. If we hadn't the need to do more miles the next day we would have stayed on longer, lovely village and countryside.
Plan to go back next year as we pass but will book a whole weekend to take in the village night life aswell.
English hosts but fluent French speaking and totally familiar with French way of life and surroundings, they helped us make the best of our routes across France. Lovely. Paul & Guy

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valvebounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quillan hotels
0.4 mi away
La Chaumiere
La Chaumiere
#1 of 3 in Quillan
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cartier
Hotel Cartier
#2 of 3 in Quillan
141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Domaine de L'Espinet
Domaine de L'Espinet
#1 of 4 in Quillan
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Pierre Lys
La Pierre Lys
#3 of 3 in Quillan
20 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chateau View
Chateau View
#2 of 11 in Quillan
26 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Canal Quillan
#11 of 11 in Quillan
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Olivette Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Olivette Bed & Breakfast

Property: L'Olivette Bed & Breakfast
Address: Chemin Noir | Route de Foix, Quillan, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Quillan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Quillan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 5 minutes walk from the centre of Quillan on an ancient Cathar trail towards Puivert, we offer our guests a peaceful and tranquil setting for their stay with magnificent views from the terrace across the high valley of the Aude and the foothills of the Pyrenees.l'Olivette is a modern 5 year old bungalow set in two acres of natural gardens with over 80 olive trees. All our 4 bedrooms have their own private bathrooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing