We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveler rating
45
73
23
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
45
73
23
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade jams nice terrace bed was comfortable kanak sofa kettle bungalow accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 149 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2018

We enjoyed the pretty and very comfortable bungalow with its high and nice terrace. The restaurant was also excellent and the breakfast not to be missed with its buffet of fruits and cakes!
The lodge is located in a nice garden decorated with beautiful kanak carvings.
Everyone was very nice and welcoming!

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laurence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal T, Gérant at Ka Waboana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018
Google Translation

Bonjour Madame,

Merci beaucoup pour être passé au Ka Waboana Lodge,

Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez passé un agréable séjour,

Nous espérons vous revoir à nouveau sur Hienghène,

Avec nos sincères remerciements

Cordialement,

La direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2018 via mobile

Reception: check in perfect
Staff are professional
Food: home made and DELICIOUS
Breakfast: was a buffet full of goodness! Thanks to Maithe for the special orange juice☺
Bungalow: very clean, bed very comfortable, sanitary and bed linen clean. TV fridge kettle coffe /tea
Terrace: clean and comfortable sofa
Price: really reasonable compare to the quality of food and type of accommodation
The only things we could advice are:
- may be including the breakfast in the room price
- change the really ugly broken unbrelas and garden furniture that downgrade all the effort that you have put in this charming place.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank sandrine-mathide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal T, Gérant at Ka Waboana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018
Google Translation

Bonjour Madame,

Nous vous remercions pour votre avis et votre passage dans notre Lodge,

Merci pour les compliments à l'équipe, nous allons le leur transmettre,

Nous avons bien pris note de vos remarques et nous vous informons que les parasols et les chaises abimés ont été réparés en février 2018,

Merci encore pour votre avis, c'est cela qui nous permet de nous améliorer chaque jour pour répondre au mieux à vos attentes ;)

Au plaisir de vous revoir au "Ka Waboana",

Cordialement,

La Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017

This is a good place to stay if you are visiting the area. The rooms a comfortable, with nice decks and views through the trees to the river. Unfortunately the food in the restaurant is mediocre, and there is nowhere else in town to eat. You can buy French bread from the local store and make yourself a picnic. The store is limited in what it sells, so if you are driving up I suggest you stock up on ham and cheese etc before you cross over to the East Coast. I advise doing the short drive north to the waterfalls (Cascade de Tao etc) and having lunch at the "Snack de Cascades" the only place I've found that does nice food in the area.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farah T, Gérant at Ka Waboana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017
Google Translation

Bonjour Madame, bonjour Monsieur,

Merci pour votre avis,

Nous sommes ravis que l'emplacement de notre Lodge au centre du village de Hienghène vous ai plus.

Il permet à nos hôtes de pouvoir rayonner parmis les activités et sites présents sur :
- la commune : centre de plongée babou à la tribu de Koulnoué, excursions nautique avec Sarl Daalik au départ de la Marina du Village de Hienghène, location de canoé kayak ou paddle avec Nord Aventure à la base nautique..
- la Côte Est, entre les cascades de Pouébo et les aire de pique-nique de Touho par exemple..

Nous sommes désolés que vous n'ayez pas trouvé notre restaurant à votre goût. Nous essayons au quotidien de proposer des menus variés accompagnés de produits locaux que nous allons chercher au marché de Hienghène (igname, taros, manioc, patate, choux kanak, chouchoute,...en fonction des saisons) et auprès des fournisseurs habituels.

Le but étant de faire découvrir la cuisine et beaucoup de produits locaux à nos hôtes durant leur séjour. Bien sûr, nous proposons également des plats plus classique (nuggets ou frite saucisse ou sandwich jambon beurre etc.,..), aussi n'hésitez pas à consulter notre équipe lors de votre prochain séjour à Hienghène.

Quand nous le pouvons, nous essayons de répondre aux sollicitations de nos clients avec diligence.

En vous remerciant pour votre passage parmis nous et en vous souhaitant un agréable séjour dans notre beau Pays,

Cordialement,

La Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017

Hienghene, its complex bay and its valleys are without doubt the best aprt of New Caledonia's East Coast. Ka Waboana is a good base from which to explore. It has a very good restaurant with a varied menu and great views over the bay.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farah T, Gérant at Ka Waboana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2017
Google Translation

Bonjour,

merci pour votre avis et au plaisir de vous revoir à notre lodge,

avec nos sincères remerciements,

La direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2017

I can recommend this hotel.

It just works well: great location, spacious bungalows, simple very tasty meals - the right mix for a reasonable price (for NC). I liked the slightly quirky mix of high and mid-range fittings (mostly wood but some laminate floors, fan but no a/c, generous balconies, excellent shower, cheaplooking but solid roof), the spacing of the bungalows and the tasty simple supper menus. Oh, and all the staff were very friendly. But then they start a garden rubbish fire right next to your bungalow - to give your drying laundry that authentic smell ....

Why Hienghene ? Waterfalls, hill walks, diving, swimming, canoeing and more ... Do them all or take your pick. It's a truly beautiful part of the world for which a combination of remoteness and expense limits visitor numbers - and will continue to do so I think for some time. I am fortunate indeed to have been able to experience it.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farah T, Gérant at Ka Waboana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2017

Hello and thank you very much for your opinion. I hope to see you again at KA WABOANA LODGE. See you soon.
Farah TJIBAOU
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews