We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We love Topsail Island”
1784-3 Shipwatch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1784-3 Shipwatch
Aerial View from your deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
16 reviews
1784-3 Shipwatch
Aerial
View from your deck
Living Area
Living Area
Dining Area
Kitchen
Kitchen
Deck
King Master Bedroom
Master Bath
Queen Bedroom
Full Bedroom
Shared Hall Bath
1/2 Bath off Living Area
View
Shipwatch
Beach Access
Street Side View
Street View
Aerial
Aerial
Aerial
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
North Topsail Beach, Topsail Island, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kim J
1 review
“Ok property if you plan on only sleeping and eating there”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We got over the fact there was no wifi as advertised (unit around offered which didn't make sense) and the unit lacked tvs and tv channels to keep everyone entertained while it was raining. We arrived to find bulbs burnt and it took them several days to get them replaced (Called on Sunday, took 3 people to figure the bulbs were burnt, and till Thursday to get them replaced with checkout Saturday). We also informed them of an ant problem within the unit. We brought a can of Raid and told they can't do anything till we checked out. We were happy to see curtains were put up but people could see thru them since they were sheer.
The only good thing was the location and view of the beach. Otherwise, for what we paid, we regretted our choice.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verna C
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We love Topsail Island”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We come to Topsail Island every single year. We love it. We tried staying in another property that was not a Shipwatch property and we were sorry we did. We love the proximity to the beach and the whole set up of the place. The only issue we had was that there wasn't a curtain in sight in the place. My 13 year old daughter's room faced the street and she couldn't be in her room at night with the lights on because there was no way to shield her from everyone's view. The same for my room and the upstairs room. No curtains. Freaky. But we managed. Other than that it was wonderful! We loved it and will return next year.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tausha B
Troy, Ohio
1 review
“Great Area, Nice House, Good Value”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Typically our family vacations at the outer banks, but due to financial restraints this year, we had to find a new place. This was our first time at Topsail (pronounce Topsull I found out) Island and it was really a great place to stay.

I am definitely glad we booked in this area, as the houses were much nicer/newer than the homes we saw when driving on the south side of the island and the beach much less crowded. The Shipwatch townhomes had great access to the beach with outdoor showers as well as great access to the sound with a nice gazebo and dock you could launch a kyak from. The townhome we stayed in looks like it has recently been updated (newer carpet, walls painted, bathroom remolded with modern finishes, etc.) and was really pretty nice.

Negatives:
* The position of this town home in comparison to the ones next to it, place the decks where you have to look around other home's decks in order to see along the beach (your direct in front view is not hindered, just side to side).
* The washer/dryer and microwave need to be updated desperately.
* The outdoor shower is not enclosed (if it was I think it would slow down the wear and tear on the house itself, because you would take a full shower outside and change/dry off before coming in).
* It feels a little cramped when you first walk in because the first floor are bedrooms and not the living area like you expect to see when first walking in.
* If you changed the layout of the furniture in the living room (small sofa along the deck door and a larger sofa along the main wall) it would be much more conducive to a large family relaxing. I did read in one review that they only had one sofa, but by the time we stayed here the owner has added two additional chairs for extra seating in the living area. Having things set-up this way would make the living area feel larger.
* Restaurants are a little drive from here (suggest you try Daddy Macs Beach Bar and Grille, and Baked Pizza).
* The trash schedule was not clear and it was confusing.
* The master bedroom door handle was broken and you couldn't close the door... that has to be fixed before more renters come because it was a pain to deal with.
* Wish they had a grill to cook out.

POSITIVES:
* Their was nice furniture on all the decks to relax in.
* All the bedrooms were spacious (and two out of the three couples with us, had kids staying in their rooms, so that is saying a lot).
* The kitchen was extremely spacious and ample utensils/cookware.
* There was a nice storage area under the house for your beach stuff when you came back at night.
* The cleaning service made it easy to get out and not have to worry about too much clean-up and the house was very well cleaned when we got there.
* The beach and sound access was great, and the beach was not crowded.
* The linen service was nice, but I probably would just bring my own stuff next time, unless you don't have the right sizes at home.
* The extra half bath on the main floor was very convenient.
* Treasure Realty (so far) was easy to deal with (still waiting on security deposit back).
* They did have cable hooked up on the main floor, but I couldn't get the TV/Box to work in the master.

Overall a good experience and I would be willing to book there again for the right price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Beach
Liked least: The Living Room Area
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
Reviewed July 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of privacy and lack of creature comforts
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2014
Thanks for your candid review. I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying direct ocean front. I regret to hear that this unit did not meet your expectations otherwise. As advertised, the unit does not have wifi, but the kitchen should be equipped with the basics. Had you notified us that you needed additional utensils, we would have been glad to take care of that for you. This owner has opted for curtains on most of the windows rather than blinds. As pictured, some of the slider doors have smaller window treatments. We will share your feedback about the curtains and other furnishings with the owner, and see what we can do. No one has complained about the DVD player, but our maintenance department will check into that and loose curtain rods as well. Please accept my apology for the inconveniences. Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience with us. Please let us know how we can assist you in the future: 800-762-3961. Sincerely, Amy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
beckley
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2013
Dear Riffle’s,

Thanks for your review. I am sorry to hear that this unit did not quite meet your expectations. The pictures have been updated (probably subsequent to your booking) to show the new couch the owner purchased, which is smaller than the original one unfortunately. We have shared your valuable feedback about that and your desire for additional TVs with him. I’m pleased to hear that you did find the unit to be clean and the beds comfortable. Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your patronage. Please let us know how we can assist you in the future: 800-762-3961.

Sincerely,
Amy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pa
Reviewed July 25, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ohio
Reviewed August 13, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing