We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anchorage B&B
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ducks Inn(Aberlady)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mallard Hotel(Gullane)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveler rating
17
8
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
8
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspacious bathroomfriendly welcomejohn muir wayginatakeaway
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 26 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Coming to The Ancorage BB is like visiting an old friend, you feel at home after 2 minutes !
The rooms are clean and comfortable, the location is very easy to find.
And the lady running the place is very friendly and helpful!
She makes a Scottish breakfast that you will remember for ever!
Across the street you find the local Pub where you get new friends in minutes!
A BB of superclass !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This really is a hidden gem of a B&B. The location may not be suitable for everyone, but is convenient for the A1 west of Edinburgh.
A friendly welcome, excellent room and facilities (I was lucky to have the sea view from the front, which had a huge bed and excellent bathroom).
Street parking is available, no problems as it's a quiet street.
Only breakfast available, which is excellent, but food in the evening can be either local Fish & Chips, Chinese or there is a very good Pub (The Yewtree?) which is close by.
One point of note is that this is a Cash Only establishment.
I will definately return when I'm next in the area.

Room Tip: Front room gives excellent view of the waterfront and harbour
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilb1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Comfortable and quiet, this B & B provided everything that we needed. The decor was a little dated but the room was spacious and the bathroom was nice and clean. Parking was ample and there was a nice walk along the sea front not too far away. Not many places to get dinner nearby unless you want fish ‘n chips or Chinese takeaway. Hosts were friendly and welcoming and we definitely felt like we had privacy. Breakfast was okay – generous portions but a little bit greasy. Would probably just stick with cereal and toast next time but would definitely recommend this place as a base to explore Edinburgh. Train station in the next village (5min drive away) and trains every 20mins into central Edinburgh...a lot cheaper than day parking!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

An excellent Bed & Breakfast, very clean and well-appointed. The bed was very comfortable; the breakfast was very tasty; the portions were large and filling. The landlady (Mrs. Ralston) was there when I arrived and warmly welcomes guests. She is also very helpful about giving directions and guidance on local places of interest. The price was exceedingly reasonable and, as I said to friends, this is an ideal base for people visiting Edinburgh - capital accommodation, capital food and much lower than Capital City prices. I heartily commend The Anchorage and I am looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Stayed two nights here with my wife as we couldnt find a room in Edinburgh ( Rugby cup Final )
Very pleased with the room and Gina was the perfect host
We stayed in the front bedroom which has a comfy Double and a set of Bunks-The room overlooks the sea and is very clean with an ensuite and Tea and coffe making facilities
Full English ( Or is it Scottish ) was great and Gina asked us what time we would like to eat ( although we were the only visitors
The B&B is less than five minutes drive from the Train Station which has free parking and then only about 10- 15 mins to Edinburgh
Port Seton seemed a very quiet place with not a great deal to offer - We didnt use the pub but did use one of its many takeaways - we also saw a chinese restaraunt
Overall - The room was very good as was the welcome extended by Gina - But i would expect to pay slightly less given its proximity to any attractions

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ridinggod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews