We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cracking B&B - a hidden gem”
Review of The Anchorage B&B

The Anchorage B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchorage B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Prestonpans B&B and Inns
NorthEastUK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Cracking B&B - a hidden gem”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This really is a hidden gem of a B&B. The location may not be suitable for everyone, but is convenient for the A1 west of Edinburgh.
A friendly welcome, excellent room and facilities (I was lucky to have the sea view from the front, which had a huge bed and excellent bathroom).
Street parking is available, no problems as it's a quiet street.
Only breakfast available, which is excellent, but food in the evening can be either local Fish & Chips, Chinese or there is a very good Pub (The Yewtree?) which is close by.
One point of note is that this is a Cash Only establishment.
I will definately return when I'm next in the area.

Room Tip: Front room gives excellent view of the waterfront and harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilb1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Comfortable and quiet, this B & B provided everything that we needed. The decor was a little dated but the room was spacious and the bathroom was nice and clean. Parking was ample and there was a nice walk along the sea front not too far away. Not many places to get dinner nearby unless you want fish ‘n chips or Chinese takeaway. Hosts were friendly and welcoming and we definitely felt like we had privacy. Breakfast was okay – generous portions but a little bit greasy. Would probably just stick with cereal and toast next time but would definitely recommend this place as a base to explore Edinburgh. Train station in the next village (5min drive away) and trains every 20mins into central Edinburgh...a lot cheaper than day parking!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

An excellent Bed & Breakfast, very clean and well-appointed. The bed was very comfortable; the breakfast was very tasty; the portions were large and filling. The landlady (Mrs. Ralston) was there when I arrived and warmly welcomes guests. She is also very helpful about giving directions and guidance on local places of interest. The price was exceedingly reasonable and, as I said to friends, this is an ideal base for people visiting Edinburgh - capital accommodation, capital food and much lower than Capital City prices. I heartily commend The Anchorage and I am looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Stayed two nights here with my wife as we couldnt find a room in Edinburgh ( Rugby cup Final )
Very pleased with the room and Gina was the perfect host
We stayed in the front bedroom which has a comfy Double and a set of Bunks-The room overlooks the sea and is very clean with an ensuite and Tea and coffe making facilities
Full English ( Or is it Scottish ) was great and Gina asked us what time we would like to eat ( although we were the only visitors
The B&B is less than five minutes drive from the Train Station which has free parking and then only about 10- 15 mins to Edinburgh
Port Seton seemed a very quiet place with not a great deal to offer - We didnt use the pub but did use one of its many takeaways - we also saw a chinese restaraunt
Overall - The room was very good as was the welcome extended by Gina - But i would expect to pay slightly less given its proximity to any attractions

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ridinggod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2008

We have stayed at The Anchorage on several occasions in the last 10 years. My husband has relatives in the area and this is our B&B of choice when visiting.

It is a darn good B&B. Gina is a friendly & accomodating host, the bedrooms and bathrooms are super clean and a delicious cooked breakfast is served. There is ample parking on the street and you see the sea as soon as you walk out the front door.

When we last visited 3 years ago, the decor was a bit dated. But this is not a 5* Hotel. It's a lived in home and the overall feel is welcoming.

We have tried 2 other B&Bs in the area - one is no longer open and the other is, quite simply, attrocious.

If you want quality B&B accommodation in Port Seton, this is it. Don't look anywhere else!

  • Liked — Friendliness of the Owner & How Clean the Property Was
  • Disliked — Think the price is a bit high; but no more so than other B&Bs in the area
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank marysj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown On Spey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2007

We have just had a long weekend outside Edinburgh at the Anchorage B&B in Port Seton.
It is a small friendly B&B run by Gina who prides herself on providing a nice clean comfortable place to relax and a breakfast that sets you up for the day.
As it is situated off the high street its location overlooking the harbour is picturesque with a magnificent view across the firth of forth
We found it convenient for transport by train and bus into Edinburgh rather than drive and have to find parking.
There is a good pub just down the road "The Thorntree" and the local were welcoming and friendly, a fantastic Chip shop along by the harbour and good chinese on the main street.
We will definately go back.

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere / Great Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SpeyValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestonpans
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
4.6 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
7.2 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Lodge at Craigielaw
The Lodge at Craigielaw
#1 of 2 in Aberlady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
26.4 mi away
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Old Aberlady Inn
Old Aberlady Inn
#1 of 3 in Aberlady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage B&B

Property: The Anchorage B&B
Address: 1 Elcho Place | Port Seton, Prestonpans EH32 0DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Prestonpans
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Prestonpans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Anchorage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing