We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Anchorage, Port Seton”
Review of The Anchorage B&B

The Anchorage B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchorage B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Prestonpans B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 9, 2011

An excellent Bed & Breakfast, very clean and well-appointed. The bed was very comfortable; the breakfast was very tasty; the portions were large and filling. The landlady (Mrs. Ralston) was there when I arrived and warmly welcomes guests. She is also very helpful about giving directions and guidance on local places of interest. The price was exceedingly reasonable and, as I said to friends, this is an ideal base for people visiting Edinburgh - capital accommodation, capital food and much lower than Capital City prices. I heartily commend The Anchorage and I am looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 26 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2009

Stayed two nights here with my wife as we couldnt find a room in Edinburgh ( Rugby cup Final )
Very pleased with the room and Gina was the perfect host
We stayed in the front bedroom which has a comfy Double and a set of Bunks-The room overlooks the sea and is very clean with an ensuite and Tea and coffe making facilities
Full English ( Or is it Scottish ) was great and Gina asked us what time we would like to eat ( although we were the only visitors
The B&B is less than five minutes drive from the Train Station which has free parking and then only about 10- 15 mins to Edinburgh
Port Seton seemed a very quiet place with not a great deal to offer - We didnt use the pub but did use one of its many takeaways - we also saw a chinese restaraunt
Overall - The room was very good as was the welcome extended by Gina - But i would expect to pay slightly less given its proximity to any attractions

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ridinggod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

We have stayed at The Anchorage on several occasions in the last 10 years. My husband has relatives in the area and this is our B&B of choice when visiting.

It is a darn good B&B. Gina is a friendly & accomodating host, the bedrooms and bathrooms are super clean and a delicious cooked breakfast is served. There is ample parking on the street and you see the sea as soon as you walk out the front door.

When we last visited 3 years ago, the decor was a bit dated. But this is not a 5* Hotel. It's a lived in home and the overall feel is welcoming.

We have tried 2 other B&Bs in the area - one is no longer open and the other is, quite simply, attrocious.

If you want quality B&B accommodation in Port Seton, this is it. Don't look anywhere else!

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank marysj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2007

We have just had a long weekend outside Edinburgh at the Anchorage B&B in Port Seton.
It is a small friendly B&B run by Gina who prides herself on providing a nice clean comfortable place to relax and a breakfast that sets you up for the day.
As it is situated off the high street its location overlooking the harbour is picturesque with a magnificent view across the firth of forth
We found it convenient for transport by train and bus into Edinburgh rather than drive and have to find parking.
There is a good pub just down the road "The Thorntree" and the local were welcoming and friendly, a fantastic Chip shop along by the harbour and good chinese on the main street.
We will definately go back.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SpeyValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: demander vue sur mer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apviel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krol4onok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank holzwurm49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Anchorage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage B&B

Address: 1 Elcho Place | Port Seton, Prestonpans EH32 0DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Prestonpans
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Prestonpans
Price Range: $90 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Anchorage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing