We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class experience!”
Review of Wemyss Hotel

Wemyss Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prestonpans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wemyss Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Prestonpans B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“First class experience!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had lunch here today, very impressed on its recent upgrade.. Staff very pleasant, professional and extremely helpfull! Food was served quickly and delicious, lots of it aswell... Thank you, Callum and Susan.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

had lunch here yesterday it was a gem of a place to eat homemade food right down to the kids chicken nuggats the chef breaded his own the prescentation was lovely the waitress who served us was very helpful and cheery this hotel is a must to visit we will certainly be back well done wemyss hotel and staff

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We booked a weekend break at the nearby caravan park and decided to try this place for some food before we checked in to our accommodation.
On arrival we were greeted by a pleasant young woman and shown to a big table in the restaurant.right away we had drink orders taken,and given a high chair for the baby.the high chair was spotlessly clean,matching the decor and carpet,and alongside this,the place was warm and cosy,all good so far!
The lunch menu served til 6 had a variety of starters and mains at great prices.
There was a fantastic kids menu and also a specials available and the options of light bites(smaller portions of the main meals)
We chose our meals and in no time,our starters were served.
My partner chose the jalapeño poppers,and my mother and I chose the garlic mushrooms.
We were served up with large plates full which were cooked to perfection!
We scoffed up and struggled to eat all we had,even though we wanted to.
My son chose the kids make your own pizza which came on a large plate.
It was a freshly rolled pizza with huge chunks of fresh diced chicken breast and slices of ham!"better than pizzahut anyday" was his words!
As the baby is still learning to eat,the pleasant waitress got the chef to make a small portion of macaroni cheese for her.
She was given a large bowl of fresh home made macaroni cheese which was lovely and moist and cooked perfect for her little self to eat.daddy scoffed a few spoons too and said it was yummy!lol!
Next came our mains which followed as soon as our starters were cleared away(no waiting around like a lot of other places) fantastic!!
My partner took the curry which was another large portion and yet again had large chunks of moist chicken breast,it was scoffed in no time(even though he struggled to eat it all)
My mother took the "light bites" portion of macaroni and it was large!!she also said it was pasta cooked to perfection and the sauce was delicious.
I chose the lasagne(I make my own at home and like to compare),well,,,I can say my own is nothing in comparison.
It was another large plate full with the lasagne coming in it's own dish with a lovely side salad,steak cut chips and garlic bread.
The lasagne was full of more perfect pasta,loads of real steak mince and the yummiest sauce.i tasted a "secret ingredient" and was told it was red wine!delicious!
We all ate til we were fit to bust and the waitress was very attentive(offering more drinks etc another great service which can be missed in a lot of places)
Sadly my partner was heading off on a nightshift once we were booked into our accommodation so we didn't have time for dessert,although we would have struggled to find room in our tummies!
We got the bill and another added delight was the price!!we had just eaten one of the nicest meals we've had(even beating the raddison and apex hands down) and it was probably about a quarter of the price!
The service we had was outstanding and the waitress was very friendly and genuinely trying to ensure that we were satisfied.
We loved it so much we went back the next day and had yet again the exact same perfect service and perfect food!and Plan to visit again.
Also if like a lot of mothers with babies,and like me,a clean baby change facility is as important as the clean high chair then again,this place is faultless!!

This wee place is great and is well worth a visit,,or two,,or three!!
A definate rarity and wins hands down!
Gordon Ramsey and Tam Cowan would happily dine here!

Compliments to the chef!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kickboxinqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Best fish n chips I've ever tasted!! Staff were absaloutely fantastic nothing was ever a problem for them and I'm quite fussy with my food. Like to mention Lynne the girl that served us she is a great asset to the place, was very helpfull and chatty and made sure we were well looked after. She had only been there a few weeks as well so good on her. As for the rooms I didn't stay here so not sure but staff and food were 1st class will defo be back again. Thanks to the staff at the wemyss hotel for making my holiday special!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HonestReviewx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Wemyss Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
We are pleased that your member enjoyed the Fish and Chips. As importantly - they also enjoyed the professional and friendly customer focussed staff and we have passed the comments to Lynne.

The bedrooms are still in the process of being upgraded and are coming on line at end of July. There is only 5 and they each will have en-suite showers in the room.

Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

must be under new management the food is excellent, the staff are very pleasant and helpful. lovely place for a meal with the family. not far from seton sands holiday park. well worth a visit

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandLjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Wemyss Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
We are indeed new owners and managers. We hope to show what a bit of TLC, focussed customer care and a great locally recruited staff can do to a site that was neglected (and was actually closed when we took it). Our on-site General Manager (Nicky) is driving our business forward and while we are experimenting to get the right level of food offering we are happy that we have the right level of staff. All local. We also have a new wine offering from Hamilton Wine Company.

Our rooms are being upgraded and we have a new function room and public bar and beer garden at rear (near to the harbour)

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestonpans
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
4.7 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
0.2 mi away
The Anchorage B&B
The Anchorage B&B
#1 of 2 in Prestonpans
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Drummohr Holiday Park
Drummohr Holiday Park
#1 of 3 in Musselburgh
210 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ravelston House
Ravelston House
#2 of 5 in Musselburgh
31 reviews
5.6 mi away
Letham House
Letham House
#1 of 8 in Haddington
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wemyss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wemyss Hotel

Property: Wemyss Hotel
Address: 18 Links Road | Port Seton, Prestonpans EH32 0DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Prestonpans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Prestonpans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing