We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing & private sanctuary”
Review of Prana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prana Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chintsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Was very relaxing. Private, secluded and excellent attention to detail.
Really enjoyed our meals including a picnic hamper for lunch looking out over the ocean
A great way to relax and take some time out or have a romantic getaway

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
There are newer reviews for Prana Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 307 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

If there is one place to visit in South Africa, then it has to be Prana Lodge. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and luxurious and have their own garden, private plunge pool and fireplace (perfect for a romantic getaway). The owners and staff make you feel like you are their top priority at all times and the food is heavenly. The Thai themed spa is serene and with real Thai therapists, you know that you are getting an authentic experience. I could go on and on, but the point is that there is nothing to not LOVE about Prana. You leave this heavenly place feeling energized and inspired...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Wow, where to start! My fiancé and I had dreamed of a small wedding since we had decided to get married! One of our favorite local vacation spots is Cinsta Bay and when we found Prana Lodge we just knew this would be the perfect place to tie the knot!

The lodge went above and beyond our expectations to arrange our intimate wedding for 10. We initially wanted the ceremony on the beach but the wind wasn't playing along, this may have been a blessing in disguise as Megan and her team ended up setting up the deck that has the most spectacular ocean backdrop and everything went off smoothly!

From the amazing canapés served to the 5 star 4course dinner everything was perfect and so elegant,just as we had envisioned!

We stayed In the ruby suit which was done up beautifully for our wedding night, there was nothing that Prana did not think of! We ended our beautiful wedding with breakfast in our suite the next morning, amazing as could have been expected!

Thank you so much to Megan, Gail, Jaycee and the rest of the Prana team for making our dream wedding a reality!

We will definitely be going back!!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AnyaRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Escape from the hustle and bustle of your daily life and enjoy the beautiful nature of South Africa.

Walk along the 21 km pristine beach, have your taste buds spoiled, enjoy the lush surroundigs and go for that gorgeous Thai massage!

We had a lovely room with our own plunge pool, inside bath and outdoor shower. Very spacious rooms with own lounge area and fully equiped for the discerning traveller. The design is fantastic.

Management is extremely helpful and friendly, this makes the place very special.

Megan and staff, thank you for looking after us!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place was just wonderful. I came here with my husband 1 year after we were married for a way overdue honeymoon. I think it had just opened. There was a young couple managing it. We stayed 3 nights in 2011 and I will never forget it.
From the moment we arrived til the moment we departed we were treated so well. There weren't to many other people staying there at the time but it didn't mean they were staffed any less. Everyone was delightful and the room/suite/private bungalow was just amazing. it was super spacious and very inclusive with little snacks and drinks and a very nice plunge pool. The food served at the restaurant was delicious and the breakfast unforgettable. Everything so fresh and tasty. We got Thai massages as well in the SPA and I'm now forever sold on Thai massages. Never again a traditional massage for me. The Spa staff was great too, even if they spoke no english.
The owners also lent us a few bikes to go biking on the sandy beaches which I had never done before. It was great and there was not a soul on the beach.
I'm not just saying this all because I was in honeymoon bliss! Honestly it was great and I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I assume they are all as great as the one I had.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camilleiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Prana lodge is designed around the vision of the owners to share the special peace in the natural forest on the Indian Ocean shoreline. It has all the elements needed to spend reconnecting with nature, yourself and your loved one - privacy, natural beauty, long walks, birdlife, superb dining, friendly and professional service. Not to forget the Thai spa, where the masseurs will ease away all your worldly cares.

Room Tip: If you don't need your personal pool, choose the room in the heart of the forest.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We went here as the first stop of our honeymoon after our wedding in Cape Town.

The food - exceptional, try the room service as well, was very good.
The service - couldn't be better
The Spa - Wow!
The suite - the best I've seen, tastefully decorated, gas fireplace, comfortable bed, bath big enough for two, very spacious!

Well worth the money!

Room Tip: Any of them are good, apparently the only one that is different (except for colour of decoration) is...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chintsa
8.8 mi away
Haga Haga Hotel
Haga Haga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
143 reviews
15.3 mi away
Morgan Bay Hotel
Morgan Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morgan's Bay
439 reviews
22.3 mi away
Trennerys Hotel
Trennerys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kei Mouth
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 14 in East London
242 reviews
14.6 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prana Lodge

Address: Chintsa Drive, Chintsa 5275, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Chintsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chintsa
Price Range: $225 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Prana Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury stay over: your own private haven awaits at Prana Lodge.At Prana Lodge, understated luxury pampers your body, mind and spirit. Only 8 individually designed suites, featuring select pieces from a private collection of famous South African artists, Persian carpets, luxury linens, and oversized bathrooms with garden views promise relaxation of the first order. Completely private and secure behind your own garden walls, relax on your patio with your own plunge pool. The ultimate romantic retreat, specializing in mini-moons, honeymoons and baby-moons,Prana Lodge has the perfect package for your romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Prana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prana Hotel Cintsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing