We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best honeymoon!”
Review of Prana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prana Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chintsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Prana Lodge is an idyllic destination. The service is top class, the boutique suites are exquitsite. This must go on your "bucket list"! You have not experienced luxury until you have been to Prana Lodge!

Prana Lodge is better than a 5 star destination! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 320 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2011

Prana Lodge was the only Spa I could find listed on the internet and based in East London South Africa. Needless to say I was very nervous - I have too often been lured by a picture taken with good lighting only to find the accommodation resembling scenes from a horror story!!

What A Treat!!!

Tucked into the natural vegetation of the East London Coastline, in Cintsa , is this beautiful gem - indeed, I think it is East London's best kept secret!

As luck would have it, I missed my flight from Johannesburg to East London, so the arrangements made for the next day to celebrate a 50th birthday were thrown off kilter - not a problem for Prana Lodge. Everything was rearranged without question and without complaint - A most glorious Sunday Morning was spent being massaged by able Thai hands in the exquisite surroundings of the Lodge followed by a scrumptious brunch in the fabulous garden at Prana Lodge.

The brunch was superb and the cappuchino's deletable.

It takes vision to create what is - Prana Lodge. To create out of the natural environment this sactuary, to be able to see it in your minds eye and then make it real... what an amazing gift. The natural vegetation has been largely undistrubed and certain areas have been tamed and neatened just enough for effect.

The deck overlooking the ocean is a sight to behold! I believe it is available for sundowners and private dinners - maybe the ideal place for a honeymoon or a wedding anniversary.

Thank you Prana Lodge for a wonderful morning and a great way to round off a milestone brithday!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous and the team at Prana Lodge are really helpful in finding one that suits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

My wife and I loved our stay at Prana Lodge. The tranquil settings and friendly staff added to the luxuary accommodation and gorgeous meals. The wellness centre was equally fantastic. A "Necker Island" experience right in the Eastern Cape. Recommended without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Don't look any further.
This is the ultimatum of luxury and comfort.
The owners, Tim and Gail Davidson, certainly know how to spoil their guests!
The suites are beautiful, the food and service is unbeatable.

The endless beaches of the Wild Coast are also unique.

We enjoyed our stay inmensely and will certain come back.

Linge and Harry Kuiper

Room Tip: All suites are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jemma3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The most beautiful venue with fantastic service, rooms and food in amongst the trees and the birds in Cintsa. Very friendly hosts, and right near the beach for long beach walks. We had wonderful sessions at the spa too! Definitely highly recommended! Thank you! Just looked at the additional details below - the sleep quality is better than excellent...

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Prana is a beautiful 5 star lodge in the middle of "nowhere" in the Easter Cape. The whole area is very untouched and makes it so unique in terms of South African coastlines. The beach is so beautiful and remote, and you can walk for kilometers and not see another sole. The coastline is rugged and beautiful. As for the lodge and the staff, it was truely a treat. The meals were all beautifully made and 3 course meals served in either the beautiful dining room, or privately in your own room. The staff are very happy to do anything you ask of them, and always with a smile. The rooms are large and spacious, with a lounge area and fire place, as well as a deck and small plunge pool. The spa at the lodge offered amazing treatments all in a traditional thai style. The lodge really is very special and a little peace of heaven. Will definitely be back as soon as we can! Thank you to everyone at Prana who made our stay very memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianamargaret3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Most tranquil and serene environment, luxurious feel, the hosts pays finer attention to detail.
Very relaxing - everything great!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueTravelLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chintsa
8.7 mi away
Haga Haga Beach Hotel & Self Catering
22.3 mi away
Trennerys Hotel
Trennerys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kei Mouth
430 reviews
17 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 14 in East London
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 14 in East London
653 reviews
15.3 mi away
Morgan Bay Hotel
Morgan Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morgan's Bay
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prana Lodge

Address: Chintsa Drive, Chintsa 5275, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Chintsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chintsa
Price Range: $234 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Prana Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury stay over: your own private haven awaits at Prana Lodge.At Prana Lodge, understated luxury pampers your body, mind and spirit. Only 8 individually designed suites, featuring select pieces from a private collection of famous South African artists, Persian carpets, luxury linens, and oversized bathrooms with garden views promise relaxation of the first order. Completely private and secure behind your own garden walls, relax on your patio with your own plunge pool. The ultimate romantic retreat, specializing in mini-moons, honeymoons and baby-moons,Prana Lodge has the perfect package for your romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Prana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prana Hotel Cintsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing