We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location”
Review of Cintsa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cintsa Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Chintsa B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We were very well received in this extremely well-appointed guest house, and greatly enjoyed our stay there. It is in an ideal situation with superb views, and the rooms are very comfortable. The whole place is very well organised, and the breakfasts are excellent. We were given good advice and directions to restaurants for evening meals, which certainly lived up to their reputations, and we found the owners helpful and friendly, adjectives which could also be applied to the resident dog. He showed us the best way to the beach, and brought us back again. All in all, an excellent experience.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank abfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 35 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2012

We chose this place from the Portfolio Bed and Breakfast Collection. It is really a Bed and Breakfast place in a gorgeous spot rather than one some might expect from a "Lodge". The rooms are fantastic - we were offered a choice so we saw other rooms and the views are lovely with huge picture windows. There is a great pool and sun lounging area. The breakfasts are super. We booked in for 2 nights and stayed for a 3rd. You have to drive to have an evening meal but we were given good advice on where to go and the owner booked for us. The beds and linen were wonderful and we hope to return one day. But this is not the place to stay if you want full blown hotel service!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paddy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

The views are magnificant and the pool area lovely. Decent breakfasts too. Other than that we found the dogs a nuisance, with doggy smells pervading the lounge. Although quiet, this is not a relaxing place to stay because you feel as if you are imposing in someone's home. In other words they are running the place to supplement the pension, not as a business or with any passion. The owners didn't engage with us and offered zero suggestions for things to do, places to see etc - the info folder in our room was out of date, giving details of places to eat that were either closed down (two) or not open at the times printed in the folder. Cintsa is a lovely spot, but do yourself a favour, avoid Cintsa Lodge, save some money and get better service and more fun down the road at Bucaneers. We had lunch there one day and know people who've stayed, whilst rough and ready, it's a whole lot better than C. Lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WebstersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

My husband and I set off on our honeymoon down the Wild Coast on 16 December. When we arrived at Cintsa Lodge on 21 December we were welcomed by a locked front door, an Alsatian tied to a rope and another one barking at us inside the house. My husband rang the bell with no response, he tried again, and at last he rang the 'night bell'. The owner, Gerhard, eventually opened up and greeted us with “What is wrong with you? You only have to ring the bell once!”. I then replied with “What is wrong with you?” since we have not been welcomed in this manner at any of the other places we stayed at. Ignoring the rudeness, my husband said that we’d like to check in under our married surname – I called the week before to change the surname I booked under and was told that it’s irrelevant. He then rudely asked whether we booked. As my husband was signing in, Gerhard said to him: “If you wife does not want to stay here, you can find other accommodation.” Of course we decided to rather spend the night elsewhere than stay with such an arrogant and rude host. Never have we been treated so disrespectfully. Please do not support this guest house!

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
5  Thank karinsteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

European clean style with lovely finishes. All recently done and well maintained. Exquisite pool area if you hit the weather right. 10 min walk down to a beach that goes on forever and is breathtakingly serene. Breakfast delicious, health, fresh. Only knock is that owners are not engaging, one has poor English command & smokes (not in house but odor lingers), 2 huge furry dogs=allergies and smell.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adventuressCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alonsoracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Mirca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chintsa
0.6 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
326 reviews
8.4 mi away
Haga Haga Beach Hotel & Self Catering
21.9 mi away
Trennerys Hotel
Trennerys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kei Mouth
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 mi away
Morgan Bay Hotel
Morgan Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morgan's Bay
473 reviews
17.4 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 14 in East London
259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cintsa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cintsa Lodge

Address: 684 Fish Eagle Drive, Chintsa 5275, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Chintsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chintsa
Price Range: $148 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cintsa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cintsa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing