We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning place for family or romantic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chintsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at Crawfords for 5 nights in January 2014. The rooms are amazing, the staff is friendly and helpful the food and venue are beautiful. We have 2 year old twins and usually struggle to find the right holiday spot, but this was it!
This is not just wonderful for families, but for couples too.
The food is outstanding and the location and weather that time of the year is excellent.
We can not wait to go back.

Room Tip: Dolphin rooms are fantastic for couples. Ask for bigger accommodation if you are a family
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 818Merlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for Crawford's Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 364 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at Crawford as a stop off on our tour round South Africa. For the price we paid the rooms were a good size with a huge balcony. The beach below the hotel is beautiful and was completely empty when we stayed making it feel very private.
The staff were very helpful throughout our stay, quickly turning round some washing for us as we had been on the road for several weeks. We stayed on a Saturday night which is seafood night in the restaurant. Sadly were quite disappointed with the poor quality of the food and the fact that although being kept on hot plates much of it was quite cold.
On the plus side they had some really good local beers on tap behind the bar and the breakfast buffet was good.

All in all for the cost of accommodation here I would say it is acceptable but not exceptional

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Rich_C1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Crawfords is quite simply a fantastic hotel. We spent 4 days there, on full board , the staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful as well as being so friendly. The food was amazing, truly home cooked meals, with loads of variety of salads, fish, meat and poultry. the rooms were huge and well presented and clean. the views awesome from our room

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrawfordsBeach, Owner at Crawford's Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Crawfords Guest,

Thank you for you kind review. I hope you enjoyed the final week of your holiday and have adjusted to the UK weather without too much of a shock.

Hope to see you soon again.

Regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Have just spent a night at Crawfords and wished we could have stayed longer. Magnificent food, exceptionally helpful staff and great views made this a fantastic end to our slack packing wild coast meander. The room was huge and the bed very comfy. The little touches such as putting chocolates on the pillow made this a home from home.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view rooms
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrawfordsBeach, Owner at Crawford's Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Crawfords Guest,

Thank you for your great review.
We are thrilled you enjoyed it. I'm just glad the beers were cold after your long hike to get here.
Keep well and we hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed at this lodge for 2 nights when I was in East London for a wedding. When I drove in I was awed by the location, the view was just amazing though I was a little put off by the steepness of the roads. I enjoyed my 2 nights there, the meals, the service and the bed was amazing. I just had a problem with tv, the dstv wasn't working so I could not watch tv at all. The shower and toilet water was brown, I do not know if it's due to rust or what. Overall, I would definitely return, I am already making my bookings with them for Feb!

Room Tip: Get an ocean facing room
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rae8701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrawfordsBeach, Owner at Crawford's Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Crawfords Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.
Apologies for the TV and water. The municipality decided to work on the pipes making all our water brown for a few days - unfortunately we lost a bit of white linen in the process, but on the positive we have had clear water since.

We hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Buccaneers didn't offer what we expected (maybe it's us getting a bit to old for the backpack vibe ;)) so we went on and settled down at the more expensive Crawford's Beach Lodge starting with one night. The surrounding: Cintsa doesn't offer that much, but if you just are tired of all the wildlife spotting, traveling Crawford's is the place to chill out, eat and enjoy! We eventually stayed for 3 nights.

The rooms are spacious, have AC (duh!) and are spotless. Clean bathroom, with a good shower and so forth. What i really need to mention is the restaurant. I wanted to watch my weight but failed (horribly ;)). The food was amazing. Every day (morning and evening) the buffet offered a different oasis of the most delicious meals and bites (finally real cheese!). It looked like the chefs where trying to show off to each other, trying to win in their own little food competition. Anyway, great! The location of the complex is on a cliff near the beach, windy but HEY! that's normal. There are a lot of sunbeds with umbrellas to give some comfortable shade.

They just started a Spa service which was not perfect (yet) but definitely good enough to drift away with in your ears the sound of the infinite waves crashing onto the beach.

What else is there to say? I don't know. Recommend it? Yes! Just live for a few days in absolute bliss.

Feedback: maybe i missed it but a fitness center would just make everything complete.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjamientje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrawfordsBeach, Owner at Crawford's Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Crawfords Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review.
We are glad you got to relax for a few days while on holiday.
I laughed at your remark of the Spa - my wife stared it as a side hobby just before you got here and it has become a business on it's own. We have had to increase its size and have added a Jacuzzi (albeit an inflatable one) to keep up with demand.

Hopefully we will see you here again in the not too distant future.

Happy travels.

Regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

When were arrived we thought we arrived in paradise. Overlooking the Indian Ocean the view is breathtaking. Our room was spacious, excellent bed. Diner- and breakfast buffets tasted great. Nice bar. We were sorry we did not stay any longer than 2 nights.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francisca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrawfordsBeach, Owner at Crawford's Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Crawfords Guest,

Thank you for the positive response.
Nothing makes us happier than a satisfied guest.

When my grandfather started this hotel, he used tell all his guest, "welcome to Paradise" so your description brings back great memories for me.

Keep well and we hope to see you here again one day.

Happy travels.

Regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chintsa
0.1 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
307 reviews
22.3 mi away
Trennerys Hotel
Trennerys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kei Mouth
414 reviews
8.9 mi away
Haga Haga Hotel
Haga Haga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Morgan Bay Hotel
Morgan Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morgan's Bay
442 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
2.5 mi away
Inkwenkwezi Private Game Reserve Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crawford's Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crawford's Beach Lodge

Address: 42 Steenbras Drive | Chintsa East, Chintsa 5275, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Chintsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chintsa
Price Range: $125 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crawford's Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crawford's Beach Lodge offers barefoot luxury and elegant thatched accommodation for the most discerning of traveller and conference organizer, who is looking for fun, sun and relaxation. Crawford's Beach Lodge is nestled in the middle of the beautiful Chintsa Bay on the Wild Coast, surrounded by rolling hills, lush tropical beach forests and the warm Indian Ocean. The perfect venue for your honeymoon or even for the more adventurous, wanting to explore the many beautiful treasures the Wild Coast has to offer. Our location is also a malaria free area. We are approximately 42km from East London, the surfside city famous for its Nahoon Reef. Treat yourself and the special person in your life to a romantic getaway. We also offer Spa Treatments at our Senses Spa, with a great ocean view. Stay in a luxury thatched rooms, relax on the deck while you sip on champagne watching the sun go down over the shimmering ocean. Come and share our slice of paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crawford's Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crawford`s Beach Hotel Cintsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing