We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A daunting entrance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chintsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2013

A collection of buildings, set amongst the dune forest above the beach. Reached by a winding narrow brick road, with the last section precipitously steep. Service was good, and the room was comfortable. Decor was a bit disappointing, with the feel more "big city corporate- greys and beige" than seaside beach. Missed some colour. The dinner was a buffet, well done-not dry and tired, with a good variety. We stayed in one of the sea facing rooms- great view, but the rooms above must have an even better view- and, with the wooden floors, they couldn't hear us going to the bathroom at 4a.m.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs in the sea facing rooms/
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 375 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

No, nothing wrong with this place, but just not our cup of tea.... The lodge is nicely situated along a beautiful beach, staff is friendly, rooms are well equipped, but something is missing....I don't know, it's just a "white people reserve" I guess, like most of the lodges and resorts along the east coast....we got really sick after the seafood buffet. The staff was very kind and well prepared and provided us with loperamide....makes you think..... Next time I'd rather stay in a smaller, more intimate place ..... We were travelling on AAA vouchers (we payed all accommodation in advance), this was the only place we had to pay an additional (small) amount of money, we thought that was very unfriendly and bad practice.... If AAA doesn't pay enough for the rooms Crawford's should sort it out with them.....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMS121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Crawford's is situated along a stunning 15km beach. The rooms are simple but elegant, with all comforts provided. The staff are friendly and the pool is a great place for young children to play. The only thing that let us down at Crawford's was the lack of catering to specific dietary requirements. We had one vegan and one vegetarian in our group and had to repeatedly ask for food to meet their requirements.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate1984Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stopped over at Crawford's on our way between Cape Town and Durban and we liked it so much we did the same on the return trip. Unfortunately it was only a one night stay each way.
The rooms are comfortable and large, the food is quite acceptable and there is a very nice relaxed feel to the whole place. Crawford's doesnt pretend to be five star but they deliver on the promise of a family run, casual, fun destination.
Easy access from the rooms straight onto the beach.
Cintsa beaches are really lovely and within a 5 min walk of the hotel you feel like Robinson Crusoe. Nobody in sight and miles of beautiful sandy beach.
We would love to return and spend a bit longer
Only complaint - service in the resturant was a bit indifferent.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are definitely the best and worth the slight premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We only stayed here for one night. The room was clean and comfortable. The food was good. The staff were friendly. Great location for the beach. Great place if your taking a troup of kids or using it as a stop over to the garden route.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLourencos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Only spent one night here but we loved every second.. One of the few lodges or B&B where the bar stays open after 9pm. Try the local Ale/Beer
The rooms are well equipped. The bathroom in our room is hidden in a cupboard..
Be careful of the address, it's in Cinsta/Chinsta and not East London!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank PiggyPaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very nice stay in crawfords ! we were staying 2 nights in a low period, so the staff gave us an upper room, upstairs, with large balcony, big room very cosy with wood ! very nice bed, and the balcony with a nice view on the sea !
Very big and nice restaurant with a nice pool!
The best? an private access to the beach for a nice walk !

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebastien N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chintsa
0.1 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
313 reviews
22.3 mi away
Trennerys Hotel
Trennerys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kei Mouth
418 reviews
8.9 mi away
Haga Haga Beach Hotel & Self Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Morgan Bay Hotel
Morgan Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morgan's Bay
453 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
2.5 mi away
Inkwenkwezi Private Game Reserve Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crawford's Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crawford's Beach Lodge

Address: 42 Steenbras Drive | Chintsa East, Chintsa 5275, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Chintsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chintsa
Price Range: $120 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crawford's Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crawford's Beach Lodge offers barefoot luxury and elegant thatched accommodation for the most discerning of traveller and conference organizer, who is looking for fun, sun and relaxation. Crawford's Beach Lodge is nestled in the middle of the beautiful Chintsa Bay on the Wild Coast, surrounded by rolling hills, lush tropical beach forests and the warm Indian Ocean. The perfect venue for your honeymoon or even for the more adventurous, wanting to explore the many beautiful treasures the Wild Coast has to offer. Our location is also a malaria free area. We are approximately 42km from East London, the surfside city famous for its Nahoon Reef. Treat yourself and the special person in your life to a romantic getaway. We also offer Spa Treatments at our Senses Spa, with a great ocean view. Stay in a luxury thatched rooms, relax on the deck while you sip on champagne watching the sun go down over the shimmering ocean. Come and share our slice of paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crawford's Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crawford`s Beach Hotel Cintsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing