We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to unwind.. even in low season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I travelled in low season so you have to expect that most places on the backpacker route are going to be quiet. I did however find that the accommodation was excellent, simple but clean. I was lucky enough to stay in one of the cottages which was very comfortable, but also saw the new double rooms which looked exquisite and I think are excellent value for money.
Dinners & breakfast were delicious, great value with very generous portions.
The staff were brilliant, very helpful and interesting to chat to which I think is really important when there aren't a lot of other travellers around. They seemed genuinely interested in socialising with the guests and went out of their way to assist me with getting on activities.
I would highly recommend both the cultural tour and the horse ride (despite not really being a horsey person).
Wouldn't hesitate to return!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 388 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

I came to Cintsa because I wanted to do several of the lodge's activities, including the mountain biking and township tour. Sadly, all of the lodge's guides were at the tourism conference in Durban, so none of these signature activities were offered, meaning we had to make our own fun with a few self-guided activities. Considering Cintsa's relative isolation, I feel that it was irresponsible of the BP staff to not inform us of this important detail when we made our reservation. That said, the beach is beautiful, the river is nice for a paddle, the lunch is tasty and the bar gets pretty busy.

One other point to mention- my friend had money stolen from her wallet inside the lodge's safe. Also, while Cintsa is apparently partly community owned, I still found that the Bucc's team was largely split along racial lines between office staff and cleaning/grounds staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dha10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The beach is very nice but the lodge is very poor equiped and dirty.iI could be nice if you don't take care of the room cleaning and you don't need commodities as Wifi or TV at the room.
Breakfast was also very poor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Had a good couple of days at this backpackers on my way down the coast.

It is very isolated however in high season this would not matter.

Reception staff could be more informative in regards to trips and more willing to help you book them.

However the bar staff were excellent and very funny especially Shaun!

I would say that even though it is off season more care could be taken of the hostel, a lot of lunch options were not available and there were no coast to coasts.

The horse ride they offer is well run in regards to safety. Try not to book on a windy day though.

Fantastic beaches and views from the hostel!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
Thank Pug88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

The location of buccaneers is absolutely stunning but what made it so great were the staff! Everyone was so welcoming and really made you feel at home. The food was really good and the rooms were clean with beautiful views. Two nights wasn't long enough and I can't wait to get back there as soon as I can.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Really nice backpackers with great views of the beach. Really nice bar area and good buffet style food. Small communal kitchen. Stayed in an ensuite cabin which was lovely, really big with a terrace overlooking the beach. very short walk to the beach which is beautiful and has monkeys in the trees! Would definitely recommend would love to come back

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank ccknight23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuccaneersCintsa, Owner at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thanks for your really lovely review
We are so thrilled that you had such a lovely stay with us!
and we really look forward to having you back in the future.
kind regards
The Buccs Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

The location of this hostel is simply stunning. The views will blow you away and the beach is a short walk away.

On my first night here I stayed in one of the safari tents, as the dorm was full, which was OK though quite noisy and not great value for money. I also cut my foot open on a rock walking there as the path is really badly lit.

The dorm rooms are OK not the cleanest but alright. We had a slightly random experience when a man came into the dorm from the balcony at 9.00pm, asked which bed was free and then proceeded to sleep on top of the covers before leaving very early the next morning. Apparently he worked there but I have never known staff to sleep in the dorms before, especially not when they sneak in via the balcony.

The shared kitchen could definitely be better but if you don't want to self cater the restaurant does food every night and is apparently very good.

I met some cool people here and would stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank Scal_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuccaneersCintsa, Owner at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

thanks for your review
We are pleased that you enjoyed our stunning location - however we are really worried to hear of your experiences with one of our staff coming into your dorm.
This is totally unacceptable and we really need to follow it up -
So if possible, would you be willing to correspond via mail with us, just to get a description of the guy, so we can ensure it not to happen again?
Also we are most apologetic about your comment on the lighting up the the safari tents and we are definitely going to get that looked at asap
-so- we hope that your next stay will be a better one!
kind regards
the Buccs team
The buccs Teamhat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chintsa
0.9 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
326 reviews
9.5 mi away
Haga Haga Beach Hotel & Self Catering
23.1 mi away
Trennerys Hotel
Trennerys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kei Mouth
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 14 in East London
259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arendsnes Holiday and Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers

Address: | Cintsa West, Chintsa 5217, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Chintsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Chintsa
Price Range: $28 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buccaneers, set in beautiful indigenous gardens with magnificent views of the Cintsa Bay and lagoon, has been a haven for travelers for the last 17 years. With its great location and wide range of accommodation offering from camping to en-suite rooms and facilities like a swimming pool, free canoes, volleyball court & (of course) the beach right on its doorstep. Buccaneers has been Fair Trade certified and is intricately involved in local community projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccaneers Lodge And Backpackers
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers Hotel Cintsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing