We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, wow, WOW!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Wow, wow, WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Bucceneers is a fantastic place!
Awesome location, you cant get much better.
Fantastic accommodation, comfy,, clean, nice bedding, a really good shower with hot water even though it was busy. Our room was quiet even though we had neighbours.
Lots to see and do, there are plently of free activies and some that you would need to pay for.
We had dinner, it was really delicious and good value for money. There is an awesome vibey bar, great beach, bucceneers is paradise.
The staff are really friendly, helpful and just a delight! Booking was easy, I love this place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CintsaSunshine, Public Relations Manager at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi there!

It's great to receive such an awesome review - thank you for taking the time to share your positive thoughts on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

April
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    102
    39
    12
    12
See reviews for
31
140
53
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a double room with shared bathroom. So we were in a bungalow quite a walk from the reception/bar restaurant & communal kitchen. The only problem with this was it was on a very steep hill and heavy backpacks isn't a great combination. The path/roads are not lit up at night and have many pot holes so it is pretty dangerous. The double room was great but the kitchen was very poorly equipped. The kettle was not electric & had to be heated on the gas stove. But as non smokers we didn't have a light for it so we borrowed some from the communal kitchen. We came prepared knowing there were no shops near by but the couple we were sharing the bungalow with didn't so had to use the restaurant on site. The gas oven kept going out so we ended up having to take our food up to the communal kitchen.
If your looking for a quite couple of drinks in the bar. This is probably not the place for you.. It seems a bit of a party place for locals so being so far away from the bar was a bonus.
The view from our bungalow was gorgeous beaches and the sea. Perfect :)
as for the staff we didn't have much dealings with them as we only stayed over night.

Room Tip: The view from the bungalows are beautiful but the hike to them is not so great especially in the dar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CintsaSunshine, Public Relations Manager at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Buccaneers on TripAdvisor, I'm glad you enjoyed your room and our perfect view! :)

Buccaneers is indeed spread over a large property which has often earned us the name "Backpackers Village" - this mean that some guests rooms and some of our cottages are situated a few minutes walk from reception (and up our hill!). Some guests see this as a positive as it allows them to escape into the tranquility of the property if and when they want to as well as the option to be a part of the activity when they want to be.

I'm glad that you were happy with your room. Our kitchens do try to provide all the basic necessities, including matches for the gas stove but these do often go missing. Thank you for bringing up the issue with the stove - I will pass your concerns on the management who will check the facilities asap.

I hope that you will consider us for your next stay in Chintsa,

Kind regards,

April
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Buccaneers quickly grew to become one of my favorite spots in the world. The view is amazing, the staff is amazing, the overall atmosphere of this place is simply magical. Bucs is a great place to stay even if you are not a backpacker. I recommend staying here with your family and friends, or significant other- even solos will enjoy their time here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HilaryCianciolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CintsaSunshine, Public Relations Manager at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi there!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us on TripAdvisor - I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us, we agree that Buccaneers is a magical place - somewhere to really fall in love with.

Hope to have you with us again soon!

Kind regards,

April
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

What a great place that offers everything, all in close proximity, yet in a rustic, off-the-beaten track (read bumpy road) near East london. We were two families, booking two separate spaces the day before arrival. The Price family and staff are friendly, courteous and keen to make sure that guests enjoy their stay. The setting on the mouth of the chintsa river, with the wide open beach ahead, is incredible - there are sand dunes to slide down, waves to surf on, water to swim in, leaky canoes to paddle in, horses to ride on, cycle paths to explore, bird hides, and lots more. A lively place, there is bands and troubadours for party animals, but you can also escape to your own quiet spot (tip- stay down the other side from the bar area). a treat, real eastern cape paradise.

Room Tip: rooms down towards the beach are quieter, away from the bar area. also, the dirt road into buccaneer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janetheard13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CintsaSunshine, Public Relations Manager at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience of Buccaneers on TripAdvisor, I'm really glad that you had a good stay with us and I will pass your compliments onto our staff and management.

We hope to see you again here soon!

Kind regards,

April
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here in a double room in one of the cottages for 3 nights and shared a bathroom with the guests from the dorm upstairs. Facilities were clean but quite basic. The door to our bedroom didn't lock and one of the power points in the room did not work.

The service was good as was the breakfast and the traditional south African braii night.

Could be a little noisy at times but that's to be expected when you have a dorm upstairs from you.

It was quite difficult to get to place and wished we'd had a 4WD as the road was bumpy and quite steep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cantwait2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CintsaSunshine, Public Relations Manager at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to review our backpackers on TripAdvisor - your feedback is really appreciated as we use it to improve the experience that we provide to future guests.

I'm really glad that you enjoyed the food that was served and found our staff helpful.

We have had comments over the last few months about our budget double or twin rooms only being able to lock from the inside with a latch - we are in the process of upgrading all of our rooms and are seriously considering upgrading these rooms to a better locking system as it has proved to concern several guests.

I will also ensure that the power points are all checked asap.

Our road has been damaged by the recent rains and is in need of some work - it is an expensive job and we are planning to service the road before high season at the end of the year. It is accessible with 2x4 and does not require a 4x4 but I would recommend for guests to take it slowly (and take the opportunity to enjoy the view!).

Thanks again for your comments, I hope you will stay again with us soon,

April
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

With a plethora of activities, spacious dorms and cottages, lively bar, quality food and picture perfect serene beach location, Buccs is the best Hostel in South Africa. We stayed a few days and loved the beach, surf school and horseback rides. Great Hostel atmosphere, very social, but can also be quiet and romantic because the grounds are nice and spread out. If you have your own car, its only 15 min off the N2.....otherwise Baz Bus drops you right off. You are definitely isolated at Chintsa and the only real food available is at Buccs but luckily the food is good and the company is even better!

Downside: Road in to Buccs needs to be redone, I was worried at times I might pop a tire. Also, time to think about renovating some of the cottages....they are great but a renovation may be due soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CintsaSunshine, Public Relations Manager at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi there!

Thank you so much for sharing your experience of Buccs on tripadvisor - it's great to get such positive feedback. I just wanted to take the time to comment on the downsides described in your review:

The Road - I agree, the road does need work. It is always a nightmare and is very effected by the weather (the big rains that we experienced earlier this year put the road in a bad state). We have done some short-term pot-hole repairs recently and will be doing major repairs on the road later in the year.

Room Renovations - we also agree here - we are in the process of renovating our property slowly but surely. Our first cottage was finished this week and we are working a lot on this side of the business. We have also just finished our three brand new suites at the top of the property which are really stunning and we see them as setting a new standard.

Thanks again for your comments and come back and stay again soon!

Kind regards,

April
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I had a twin room in one of the cottages here for two nights. The room did not lock and the cottage was shared with up to 10 others in dorm beds or rooms. The bathrooms did not lock either. The cottage was damp and was not particularly clean.

The service we received was poor - the receptionist who showed us to our room was rude and abrupt - although we did notice that she was friendlier with male guests. I tried to book trips with her but was told they would not run with less than 4 people - despite the activities book saying they would - and the restaurant, snack bar, pool etc was closed - there was nowhere to get a coffee or lunch unless you walked across the river to Chintsa West.

The bar was VERY noisy late at night - until about 2 in the morning - and although the cottage was almost at the bottom of the hill the sound travelled and kept me awake.

Sub-standard rooms, rude staff, closed facilities, a poor night's sleep and trips not available - I wouldn't recommend this place and wish I had chosen o stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CintsaSunshine, Public Relations Manager at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to share you comments on TripAdvisor - we really do appreciate your feedback and I would like to take the opportunity to respond to your comments:

Our budget double or twin rooms are situated inside cottages with other rooms. These rooms have a latch lock on the inside (you can lock the door from the inside) but not all rooms have a lock which you can lock from the outside of the room. We often place guests who are a part of a tour group and therefore know, have or will be travelling with the same people for some length of time. I do understand your concern about the locks and will take this into consideration as we upgrade our rooms, which takes me to the next point...

We are in the process of upgrading and renovation all of our rooms. This will take time as Buccaneers is a large property and I apologise that you found the room sub-standard. The next few months sees a lot of work going into the presentation of our rooms and I hope that this will prevent other guests having a similar experience.

Your comments about the rudeness of staff and abrupt service have been followed up - meetings with both reception staff and kitchen staff have been undertaken and their level of service is being monitored with a view to improvement. Again, I apologise that the service you received was not adequate.

We do find it necessary to close the pool bar in the winter season - there are generally less guests with us and the outdoor arrangements do not always suit the winter climate. We do however open the main house or bar for light lunches, and again in the evening for dinners.

I'm concerned that there seems to be an inconsistency in information regarding our activities and the minimum no. of people required for each. I will follow up on this comment and ensure that any confusion between staff and written material is resolved.

The closing time of our guest bar is 2am and while we try to strike the balance between a fun and lively backpackers and a quiet place to relax, we obviously got it wrong this time. The noise from the bar can carry down to the cottages at the bottom of this hill when the wind is against us! I'm sorry that you had a poor sleep because of this.

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and please be assured that we are addressing each and every one of them, we do not want future guests to have the same under-par experience that you described above.

Kind regards,

April
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chintsa
0.8 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
9.5 mi away
Haga Haga Hotel
Haga Haga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
16.1 mi away
Morgan Bay Hotel
Morgan Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morgan's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
9.7 mi away
Areena Riverside Resort
Areena Riverside Resort
#2 of 40 in East London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.8 mi away
Inkwenkwezi Private Game Reserve Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers

Property: Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
Address: | Cintsa West, Chintsa 5217, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Chintsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Chintsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buccaneers, set in beautiful indigenous gardens with magnificent views of the Cintsa Bay and lagoon, has been a haven for travelers for the last 17 years. With its great location and wide range of accommodation offering from camping to en-suite rooms and facilities like a swimming pool, free canoes, volleyball court & (of course) the beach right on its doorstep. Buccaneers has been Fair Trade certified and is intricately involved in local community projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccaneers Lodge And Backpackers
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers Hotel Cintsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing