We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Hilton but the best you will get in Tuguegarao”
Review of Hotel Roma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tuguegarao City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Roma
Brisbane
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not the Hilton but the best you will get in Tuguegarao”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel is old but the rooms were clean & tidy. Service was brilliant and the staff were more than happy to oblige.

The inn house restaurant was adequent and served good meals & cold beer.

Tuguegarao is a small city, so if you come here with limited / realistic expectations, you wont be disappointed!

A room update would be good but not sure if the demand is enough to justify it!

Room Tip: Don't expect a Hilton or Shangri La and you won't be disapointed. Service makes up for the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rishen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
11
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
175 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel Roma

This hotel in the heart of Tuguegarao City has got a beautiful lobby that is tastefully decorated (Filipiniana motif), very spacious and with comfortable lounging chairs. The hotel has two sections beyond the 3rd floor, the new and the old section. The new section is served by an elevator all the way to the top floor (6th I believe) while the older section is served only until the 3rd floor and it is via the stairs to the 4thand 5th floors. The hallways and stairwells are well lighted and beautifully decorated.
The single room I had at the 3rd floor was clean and spacious. The room is provided with a TV, bedside table, table lamp, a convenience light switch and power outlet. The room furniture included a dresser and closet. The only complimentary items provided are a tiny bar of soap and sachet of shampoo.
The room has a hot shower (apparently from a centralized water heater) but with no way to adjust the water temperature since the shower has only one shower knob, a simple on-off valve.
Later I moved to a matrimonial room which has the same amenities as the single room except for the wider bed and a veranda that looks into the main road. This room had the same problem as my previous room, only hot shower. Well of course it is cold water first then tepid to scalding if you happen to be the first to take a shower for the day.
The room faces the road and street noise can be heard in the room especially in the early morning. Also, a more comfortable bed and pillow can vastly improve the sleeping quality of the hotel room.
One outstanding service of the hotel is that it allows early check-in, as early as 6 AM to accommodate guests arriving via the overnight bus from Manila, provided room is available.
Roma Hotel has a restaurant, the Michelle Restaurant and service is quite good, coffee served quickly and hot meal breakfast served in 13 minutes, fried egg daing na hito with coffee and banana with side order of fresh mango. The Tuguegarao langgonisa I was told is delicious as well, perhaps next time.
The restaurant is rather busy during dinner time. It is evident that the restaurant is a favorite among locals. The sprawling dining room is packed with diners which included us. Service I can say is really efficient despite the crowd. The native pakbet (vegetable stew with fish paste) is exceptional with fresh tropical vegetables and generous proportion of chicharon bulaklak. The Kare-kare though was a let down.
The experience was completely different when I returned to the restaurant a few weeks later. I decided to forego dinner at Michelle that evening after waiting patiently for 10 minutes to be waited-on. With only 2 service crew attending to the dinner guests, my luck was out that night. Perhaps I will have better luck next time

Room Tip: if there are rooms away from the road, take that room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OWSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Last February 2013, I was on a business trip to the north and the highly recommended hotel was Hotel Roma. Location-wise, it was advantageous as it was in the heart of the city. Hotel rate is relatively okay for the value provided. I cannot remember anything remarkable or a big disappointment so I have to say I had an average hotel experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Demz_Pogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Asia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on a trip riding around the North of Luzon for 10 days. Stayed for 2 nights only because it was raining on the 1st morning, not a lot to see and do in the city itself.

Room was clean and reasonably well equipped and toiletries and cleaning was done daily. Good secure under building parking and great convient downtown location. TV channels limited and no fridge in room, plenty of storage space.

Staff were professional and helpful and the in house resturant was ok. Try to avoid getting a room that faces the street as the road noise can be loud.

On a world standard probably a 3 star hotel but for the Philippines with its abysmal hospitality standards you would place it as a 4 star. would stay again if I was in the area and needed a hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonbg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

They say its the best hotel in Tuguegarao. If this is the best then the others will really be mediocre. The hotel is really average and it needs a facelift, for the same price you'll get a far better hotel in bigger cities. It's clean though. There is really not much choice in this place so this hotel will have to do.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jepoyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan Hill, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife (Philippino) and i (Australian) visited in mid October 2012, i surprised here by getting a room here as she said it was a nice hotel and her friends recommened it to her. The Staff were exellent as i asked them to show me all the different rooms avalable, and it was no trouble at all to them i was very impressed to be honest. I settled on the Matrimonial suite as it was not to small and not to big , we spent 2 night there and enjoyed room service and the service was exellent and my wife was very impressed with the food as was i. We ate at the resturant as well and i recommend it it was a wonderful meal and the waiters were very professional, as of now the Hotel Roma was and is our favourate (we tried others) and we will stay again.Mr & Mrs Edwards Room 517......

Room Tip: Just enjoy the times you can spend time with the one you love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

You can get similar rooms in Manila for around the same price, but this is a city in the middle of no where and I would expect a lower price.

-Very low hot water pressure in shower

-Wifi didn't work for most of our 1 night stay. It took 2 calls to the front desk before they took me seriously about it. They said it was a problem with the service provider. I believe them but they should have some kind of backup if they advertise an internet connection. I only asked for two things before choosing this hotel and that was wifi and hot shower.

-Mattress and pillows were just cheap foam

-No sheet on the bed, just blanket and comforter (although, this seems pretty normal in the Philippines)

-There were small burn holes in the mattress (from a cigarette I'm guessing)

-TV Reception poor and went out completely multiple times (though channel selection was good)

-I asked them how to get the nearby attraction of Callao Cave. They called a van for me and added on 500 pesos for the trouble. The van with gas was only 1500. 500 pesos for one phone call??? If the weather is decent and you're not in a big group, I recommend you just find a tricycle to take you to the cave, it's not that far.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aphexx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tuguegarao City hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuguegarao City hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Plaza Hotel
Holiday Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Tuguegarao City
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lorita
Hotel Lorita
#5 of 19 in Tuguegarao City
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mango Suites
Mango Suites
#3 of 19 in Tuguegarao City
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Taj Hotel
Taj Hotel
#14 of 19 in Tuguegarao City
8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Juliana
Hotel Juliana
#1 of 4 in Tuguegarao City
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Property: Hotel Roma
Address: Luna Street | Corner Bonifacio Street, Tuguegarao City, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cagayan Valley Region > Cagayan Province > Tuguegarao City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Tuguegarao City
Number of rooms: 75

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing