We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My first ocean fishing trip'” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bahia La Tortuga Fishing Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guerrero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bahia La Tortuga Fishing Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My first ocean fishing trip'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

WE STAYED AT THE LODGE FOR SEVEN DAYS .
IT WAS THE BEST TIME I EVER HAVE HAD FISHING. John and his first mate was great
We caught all the fish we wanted too. John ask us what fish we wanted to caught and he got us on the fish. there was 4 in are group and we all caught sailfish,roosterfish,dardos. The food was great
and the rooms were very clean and very roomy. we all rebooked and going to tell everyboby this is the place to go. WE REBOOKED FOR NEXT YEAR AND WE WILL BE BRING MORE FAMILY WITH US..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GARY615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
20
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Amazing experience. Paved road changes to gravel and then to dirt and then you go through the gate to this absolutely georgeous lodge. Met at the car with margaritas and welcomed like long lost family. Treated like that the rest of the trip.
Food is wonderful and plentiful. Fishing was very good and the place is so isolated that you feel like you are the only ones out there on the water. I am already booked for next year and cannot wait.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steven a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Just returned from a 7 day trip to Bahia La Tortuga and we had a great time. This is not a 5 star resort, but for a fishing trip this is the place to go! John and Angie are wonderful host, and any special request we made they did their best to accommodate us. The rooms were nice size with A/C and were cleaned every day. The food was fabulous! The pool was small, but after a day of fishing it was the perfect size to relax in. We had five days of fishing and caught sailfish and dorados. If you are looking for a certain type of fish call John and he will let you know the best time of year to go.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bkkb97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed at the lodge for six days in Nov 2011. The weather was perfect, hosts and staff were incredible, fishing was very good, boat skippers were good. This is not a five star resort but a great place to be for fishing and relaxing. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back. Looking forward to fishing for other species from here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

I just returned from my 7th stay at Bahia La Tortuga Fishing Lodge, accompanied by my long time fishing buddy and his father (this was also the 7th trip for my fishing buddy and 3rd for his father), as well as a 2nd year returnee friend that I introduced to the lodge last year. We fished during the first week of November.
John Lorenz, the owner of the lodge, was very candid with us upon our arrival, and said the the fishing had been slow. Our fishing preference is mainly in-shore fishing, although we generally spend at least one or two days off-shore during our stay. He said that the Bonito and Sierra Mackeral were just starting to show up, and off-shore fishing had been spotty. He was preparing us.
I'm not going to go into a lot of detail, but during our stay we experienced great in-shore fishing, with only one slow day, which was the day we went off-shore. We did have one Sail attack the trolled bait, jumping completely out of the water, however that fish spit the hook as soon as the bait was consumed.
We caught more Bonito than we could keep track of, trolling, casting plugs and top water, and my long time fishing buddy caught many, many on a fly rod. Not "trolling" a fly, but actually casting to schools of busting Bonito, from the bow of the panga. He caught so many, his arms ached.
We didn't catch a lot of Sierra, but I managed to bring in a few in the 2-3 pound range, and one that was pushing 6 pounds. Great eating.
A number of larger Dorado were lost, due to various reasons, and a number of smaller Dorado were boated and enjoyed for dinner and lunch sandwiches.
The weather was fantastic, with mostly flat water. We did get some wind and chop one day, but still caught a lot of fish.
There was a lot of poker played in the afternoon, before dinner. And, speaking of dinner, as always the food was excellent and plentiful. The last night there, we had the largest lobster of any prior visit. They were fantastic.
John and Angie (owners/operators) were gracious hosts, and their staff was outstanding, as usual.
From John's initial assessment of the fishing, prior to our arrival, we were less than optimistic about what our week would be like. From the first day on the water, to the last, we experienced great in-shore fishing. We all caught lots of fish, and had a great time.
I highly recommend Bahia La Tortuga to anyone who wants a true Mexican fishing experience, away from the touristy resorts and high prices. I've stated this numberous times, when reviewing this lodge: "It's not a 5 star resort", but it is an attractive, clean, quaint, secluded, and comfortable fishing lodge that caters to fishermen. It's a great "bang for the buck" and worth checking out.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally equipped and air conditioned
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tallnxee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

My son and I stayed at this lodge in January 2011. We had a great time. John and his wife were great and caring hosts. The lodge was clean, well decorated and clearly well cared for.

We enjoyed the fishing and caught the fish we were targeting.

For those looking to go deep sea fishing from a lodge on the Pacific Ocean side of Mexico, I recommend this lodge. I hope to go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron_Adkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

This is my second visit in as many years to Bahia La Tortuga Resort. Their web address (www.escapeixtapa.com) describes the place perfectly. This is not plush 5 diamond resort, and it's not next to a big fancy marina full of million dollar yachts. But it is the BEST fishing experience in Mexico!

Within seconds of your arrival, you are greeted by the owner John and his wife Angie, your bags are whisked away to your room, and there is a cold beverage in your hand. At this moment, you relaize that the staff is absolutely committed to making sure you are taken care for your entire stay.

The best description I can give while laying in a hammock on the beautifully landscaped patio, staring at the ocean, under the giant palapa - you feel like you were transported into a Corona commercial.

The food is absolutely incredible, the most authentic you will find at any place in Mexico, and it is served by an extremely courteous staff of locals.

Let's not forget about the reason you came in the first place - FISHING. Forget the crowds and competition of Ixtapa.....this is place to be if you want to catch fish. Although the language barrier with the boat captains can be difficult for some, they know why you came. No interpreter is needed when you hear the reel spinning out of control with a 100+lb. sailfish!

It's is truly a fishing experience unlike any I have had anywhere else.....and that's what makes it so great! Can't wait until next year!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scrpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guerrero hotels
0.0 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#7 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vida en el Lago
Vida en el Lago
#1 of 1 in Tepecoacuilco de Trujano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
#14 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gran Plaza
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montetaxco
Hotel Montetaxco
#2 of 24 in Taxco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Brisas Acapulco
Las Brisas Acapulco
#4 of 179 in Acapulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia La Tortuga Fishing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia La Tortuga Fishing Lodge

Property: Bahia La Tortuga Fishing Lodge
Address: | Puerto Vicente Guerrero, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 159 Specialty Lodging in Guerrero
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Bahia La Tortuga Fishing Hotel Guerrero
Bahia La Tortuga Fishing Lodge Mexico/Guerrero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing