We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't think of a thing to change!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mas d'Oleandre - Maison d'Hotes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at the Mas d'Oleandre for 5 nights and were simply overwhelmed by the quality of the rooms, the care and consideration of Esther and Leonard - the multilingual hosts, and the peace / tranquility the atmosphere of the Mas and St. Mediers provided.
We also made the wise choice to share a table d'hotes with 4 other couples and it was OUTstanding! Esther is a wonderful chef - and surprisingly, she managed to outdo her breakfasts at this meal. Leonard is a great partner to her and a kind/caring host.
The location is a nice change - if you want to hear a nightingale warble or complete silence under the stars. If you want a bistro next door - sorry!
Pont du Gard is near, an excellent restaurant in nearby Montarens and several in Uzes just down the road. Great Wednesday and Saturday markets in Uzes also.
Conclusion: 5 wonderful days spend touring the surrounding area (Avignon, Uzes, Gordes, Chateauneuf du Pape, Nimes and so on. Highly recommend this 'home' to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WKGuy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Mas d'Oleandre - Maison d'Hotes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 88 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have just returned from our second stay at Mas d'Oleandre having been there for the first time last year in the fall. This visit was even more wonderful because we enjoyed really perfect weather and of course Esther and Leonard were just as pleasant and helpful as our first stay. We have really come to appreciate having an apartment to stay in because it is such fun to cook your own meals with all the wonderful food you can buy during the day at the incredible markets all around the area. We extended our visit to 10 days this year to really get into a sense of living in the area and it flew by! There is much to do and many different day trips can be planned. Esther and Leonard are happily willing to help you plan a perfect day. Mas d'Oleandre is a very special place and the area is also quite magical. You will find everything clean, tidy and spotless, all decor in impeccable taste. We will be back next year for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. Lovely location, beautiful decor, outstanding hosts! Apart from being 'off the beaten track', which has some advantages, this was a fabulous place to stay. Very relaxing , beautiful grounds and swimming pool. Breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. Located near Uzès, so easy access to Avignon, Pont du Gard, Nimes etc? There are double rooms or apartments to choose from.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizfromAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a four day (too short!) stay at Mas d'Oleandre, and are already planning our return next year. Leonard and Ester are the best hosts you can possibly imagine - attentive, helpful, great cooks, and tons of fun! The location is perfect, the scenery breathtaking and the mas like something from a fairy tale. We can't recommend it highly enough and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Sadly. I only got to stay here one night but this would be the perfect getaway for a week or so. Mas d'Oleandre is a restored, stone farmhouse set around a little courtyard full of character in the hamlet of St. Mediers 7 kilometers or so from Uzes.

They have some rooms with a kitchenette (ask for the first room on the right when you enter the courtyard). There is a beautiful pool set amongst a lovely garden in a quiet and peaceful spot.

This place is charming. The rooms spotless, the bathroom sparkling clean (bring your own soap though). The bed was comfortable, the linen fresh. There was a sofa, table and chairs so you are getting a little living space as well as the bedroom. There is also a table and chairs outside your door in the courtyard to eat breakfast or have a drink.

There was an electric kettle with lovely big cups to drink from with a selection of teas etc. If I remember rightly there was a fridge too. All in all, beautifully kept up. Very comfortable. My only complaint (forgot to tell them) would have been to have a thinner pillow but that's just my personal preference so if you are picky like me bring your own!.

The breakfast was delicious. The night before our host asked us what we would like. I thought this such a nice detail, especially as I have a wheat allergy. No problem, they gave me rice cakes, cheese, and free-range eggs from a local farm, hot freshly brewed coffee all brought to our room. Deelicious! No need for lunch.

Leonard and Esther are an adorable, very attractive couple and have a sweet coterie of animals The place is homey, warm and like staying with friends but with the addition of great, friendly service. Their English is beyond perfect and they are very knowledgable about the area.

Tip:As great as the town of Uzes is, I would recommend staying in a place like this outside Uzes if you are looking for peace and quiet. There is quite a bit of traffic in Uzes. Mas d'Oleandre would be a perfect choice for anyone.

Room Tip: To get the nice kitchenette first room on the right when you enter the courtyard.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mitey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We arrived in early November on a rainy night, it was dark and stormy, but our reception to Mas d'Oleandre could not have been more like simply coming home. Leonard was waiting to usher us in to our lovely apartment, a perfect bottle of wine waiting there with candles and music, everything we could have wished for. We had a wonderful stay here, all was just right, Ester and Leonard have created an environment of beauty and ease in every way. They know that all of us travelers are on a vacation to unwind and enjoy ourselves and they do everything they can in a very conscious way to make that happen. They were very helpful in guiding us on daily journeys to enjoy the stunning area, from the amazing Roman ruins, to exploring the many fabulous markets we love to go to. We will certainly be back again, we're already 'homesick' for our perfect little apartment and it's still November! I promise you, you are in for a treat to stay at Mas D'Oleandre!

Room Tip: The apartments they offer are wonderful because you can make your own meals if you choose to. The k...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

On our recent trip to Southern France we stayed at this wonderful B&B. We were looking for something that would give us a true taste of living in the French countryside and this lived up to every expectation. A charming setting, gracious hosts and adorable entertainment from their wonderful dogs and cat. Each morning Leonard would map out day trips for us to take. We went to places we never would have imagined picking and fell in love with each new experience we encountered. Ester and Leonard made our stay effortless with wonderful food and beautiful surroundings. It was like stepping back into time. We highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Our room was spacious, clean.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbm26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montaren-et-Saint-Mediers
4.4 mi away
La Maison d'Ulysse
La Maison d'Ulysse
#1 of 1 in Baron
411 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Maison d'Uzes
La Maison d'Uzes
#4 of 13 in Uzes
208 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Entraigues
Hotel Entraigues
#2 of 13 in Uzes
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Chateau d'Arpaillargues
Chateau d'Arpaillargues
#1 of 1 in Arpaillargues
402 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chambres de l'Artemise
3.6 mi away
L'Albiousse
L'Albiousse
#3 of 49 in Uzes
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas d'Oleandre - Maison d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas d'Oleandre - Maison d'Hotes

Address: Route de Saint Mediers | Lieu dit Hameau Saint Médiers, 30700 Montaren-et-Saint-Mediers, Uzes, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Uzes > Montaren-et-Saint-Mediers
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Montaren-et-Saint-Mediers
Price Range: $168 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mas d'Oleandre is a former farmhouse in the characteristic Mediterranean style, of which the main house together with the four holiday-accommodations (gites) constitute a tiny little idyllic village at the verge of the hamlet of St. Mediers, which in itself is hardly bigger. The accommodations are situated round leafy terraces with different levels, resembling tiny little squares, opposite a garden with pool, at the foot of the mountains overlooking the low-lying countryside of France's oldest Dukedom of Uzes. Deeply immersed in the fragrances and colors of the Provencal country. Table d'hotes -iIf you like you can join us at our table for the tables d'hotes to enjoy our regional cooking. Don't miss it !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mas d'Oleandre - Maison d'Hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mas D'Oleandre - Maison D'Hotes Montaren-Et-Saint-Mediers, France - Uzes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing