We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Provence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mas d'Oleandre - Maison d'Hotes
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A gem in Provence”
Reviewed April 13, 2011

This is the most peaceful and tranquil B & B that I have ever seen. We spent 4 nights at Mas d' Oleandre. Leonard and Esther were very warm and gracious hosts. The hamlet of St. Mediers that it is set in could be a setting for a romantic movie. The buildings are made of old stone that are in impeccable condition as is everything at Mas d'Oleandre. We left every morning to explore Provence and when we returned in the evening our rooms were immaculate and Leonard had the salon lit and heated with music playing so we could enjoy our wine and play games. Breakfast was served in a dining room in Leonard and Esthers living area since it was March and still a bit cool. In warmer weather there is a table on the porch. All the rooms have a little table and chairs outside the door to enjoy the beautiful courtyard. We chose to have dinner one of the nights that was prepared by Esther. The beet soup was delicious as was the salmon and lots of wine. The view from the pool area overlooking the meadows is breathtaking and my only regret is that since it was our first time to Provence we left every morning to explore all the cities. The next time I return it will be to stay all day at the Mas d'Oleandre and sit by the pool and relax and enjoy the view of the French countryside.

Room Tip: We looked at all the the rooms. All are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tron2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
70
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
northbrook, illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2011

What a fantastic place to stay while visiting southern France. Located in the hamlet of St. Mediers and is close to most everything by car. Leonard and Esther go way out of their way to make sure that you are comfortable and informed on the surrounding area. Not to mention the great food prepared by them. If you are traveling in southern France and do not stay at this beautiful farm house it truly is going to be your loss.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

This B&B is a beautifully renovated 250-year-old stone farmhouse graciously hosted by Leonard & Esther. It is in a peaceful hamlet not far from Uzes. Leonard serves a delicious homemade breakfast, and once a week he & his wife host all their guests for a wonderful homemade dinner. There is a courtyard enclosed by old stone walls that is a great place to sit and relax and read or have a glass of wine. The rooms are a bit small but very comfortable & the place is spotless. Access is easy to all the interesting sites and towns in Provence. It's one of the best B&B's we've encountered in years of traveling to France.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2010

My husband and I and another couple stayed at Mas d'Oleandre for three nights in October and had a great stay. Leonard was extremely helpful and had a fire ready for us every evening after a busy day of sightseeing. Our rooms were lovely, a little on the small side, but we had a lovely large lounge area off the garden for our use . They have larger rooms available which would be lovely if staying longer. The bed and breakfast was great for visiting Pont du Gard, Uzes, Nimes and Avignon. So many other places to visit also. Mas d'Oleandre is beautiful and very peaceful. Would highly recommend Esther and Leonard's great B and B. They made you feel at home and had a great breakfast each morning to start your day. Marsha Van Voorhis California USA

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarshaVanVoorhis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

My husband and I first met Leonard and Esther in 1999 when they managed a beautifully run (at the time) nearby mas. We were thrilled to learn that they had purchased Mas d'Oleandre and tried to stay with them on multiple occasions, but they were always filled - which didn't surprise us. We were finally lucky enough to stay there, along with another couple with whom we were traveling. There just isn't a better spot in the Gard! The rooms are all lovely and always spotlessly clean. Leonard and Esther are the consummate hosts -- multilingual, delightful, and Esther is a terrific cook. It's perfectly located to day trips to Uzes, Nimes, Arles, Avignon, and the surrounding small villages. We have recommended it to friends who have found it equally delightful and who have returned for multiple visits. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyAline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2009

A beautiful resort. Very good, nice breakfast, nice rooms and apartments.We are here in a year 4 times so that says something.
This is certainly not the last time that we were here.Also in the area is very much to do and see.Lots of markets and much culture and history.Een real winner here!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WimenMarit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2009

Apart from a wonderful surrounding, beautiful Mas, lovely places to visit (a.o. Uzes, the Camarque, Pont du Gard), great food; the hospitality from Esther and Leonard gives an additional extra to your stay. One whishes to stay forever in France, as if a day-dream comes true. But helas, reality travels quickly. But than again, one can look forward to the next holiday.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francofile2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montaren-et-Saint-Mediers
4.4 mi away
La Maison d'Ulysse
La Maison d'Ulysse
#1 of 1 in Baron
388 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Entraigues
Hotel Entraigues
#1 of 13 in Uzes
316 reviews
3.5 mi away
Le Clos de Pradines
Le Clos de Pradines
#1 of 1 in Saint-Quentin-la-Poterie
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Chateau d'Arpaillargues
Chateau d'Arpaillargues
#1 of 1 in Arpaillargues
385 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Maison d'Uzes
La Maison d'Uzes
#4 of 13 in Uzes
188 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mas d'Augustine
Mas d'Augustine
#1 of 2 in La Bruguiere
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas d'Oleandre - Maison d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas d'Oleandre - Maison d'Hotes

Property: Mas d'Oleandre - Maison d'Hotes
Address: Route de Saint Mediers | Lieu dit Hameau Saint Médiers, 30700 Montaren-et-Saint-Mediers, Uzes, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Uzes > Montaren-et-Saint-Mediers
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Montaren-et-Saint-Mediers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mas d'Oleandre is a former farmhouse in the characteristic Mediterranean style, of which the main house together with the four holiday-accommodations (gites) constitute a tiny little idyllic village at the verge of the hamlet of St. Mediers, which in itself is hardly bigger. The accommodations are situated round leafy terraces with different levels, resembling tiny little squares, opposite a garden with pool, at the foot of the mountains overlooking the low-lying countryside of France's oldest Dukedom of Uzes. Deeply immersed in the fragrances and colors of the Provencal country. Table d'hotes -iIf you like you can join us at our table for the tables d'hotes to enjoy our regional cooking. Don't miss it !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mas d'Oleandre - Maison d'Hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mas D'Oleandre - Maison D'Hotes Montaren-Et-Saint-Mediers, France - Uzes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing