We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment”
Review of Clos du Lethe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montaren-et-Saint-Mediers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clos du Lethe
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We were so looking forward to staying here, it was our ‘splurge’ of the holiday at what looked like it was going to be a blissful few days in beautiful surroundings.

It was all unfortunately spoilt by the sheer arrogance of the place from the moment we stepped through the door. Yes, the place is in a beautiful area and is stylishly done out but then so were the other places we stayed during our holiday, and for half the price and without the attitude.

Although some would think it’s wonderful to be left in peace while on your holiday, which I agree it is, it would be nice to even get a ‘Bonjour’ in the morning or a welcome when we arrived to show us where everything was as we had done in buckets with the other B&B’s we had stayed. Our welcome was a stunned face, when we could finally track someone down who worked there, and when we informed them that we had a reservation, we were simply told that the room was not ready. No ‘Bonjour, welcome, would you like to leave your bags while you wait, can we get you a drink, would you like to wait by the pool’. Nothing. We apologised like a typical Brit for any inconvenience we had caused them arriving at midday to check in and that if we could just leave our bags that would be great.

We then took ourselves off to the to the pool that we found through a thatch of overgrown reeds and got our books out. The pool again could have been lovely but had, like the garden, looked like it had been left for weeks. The sun loungers were dirty, the hot tub was full of scum and didn’t work, the pool looked like it needed a good clean.

In terms of other facilities, the gym looked great, the spa is very small and does not appear to be used. You are left a card to call a lady for any spa treatments that you want but despite me leaving several messages she did not get back to one of them. Plus, it was a hassle to have to keep calling rather than being able to book it through Les Clos. The breakfasts was minimal but what you had was very good. You have a bottle of shower gel in your bathroom and nothing else. We asked to book a table for a number of evenings at the owner's restaurant. We were told it was shut on two of the nights and after the third time asking/reminding it there was any availability we got a response.

Given we had had no welcome or been shown how anything worked in our room, or where anything was, we again finally tracked someone down to see if they could help us to work the computer in our room and also to replace the light in the windowless WC. This was all ignored, even after asking for the third time.. You really got the impression from these various experiences, a few mentioned above, that your presence here was an imposition and inconvenience.


This was confirmed at check out when we politely raised the fact that the light had not been changed in our WC and that we had not been able to use the equipment in our room after asking someone three two or three times for some assistance. This polite and minor grumble was met with the response that we were staying in someone’s house so why would we expect these sort of things and that we were would be paying three times as much in a hotel to stay in a place like Les Clos du Lethe. Just to be clear we had not mentioned the price of the rooms. We were also told how much of an inconvenience it was that we had arrived at midday when the room was not ready.

So there we go. For the sake of an I pod in your room, please go and give your business to some of the other stylish, welcoming and charming places in the area. Les Clos has been stylishly interior designed but the buck stops there. It falls far short of the charm, sophistication and good service it should, and claims to have given the price point and marketing of the place. No one wants to experience this sort of arrogance and rudeness on their holiday, particularly when they have saved long and hard to go away.

Les Clos could be wonderful but it is quite clear that your business and presence is not wanted. Plus, I have never paid anyone 280 euros a night to stay at their ‘home’.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Londonbritta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stmediers, Propriétaire at Clos du Lethe, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
4/ The parents told our cleaning lady that a lightbulb was not working in their toilet. Since I also run a restaurant, I only came back at 11:30pm and thought it wasn't a good time to go in their room to change a lightbulb. So I waited until the morning and changed it when they were having breakfast. Not really 48 hours.
5/ Minimal breakfast? Breakfast is composed of : tea, coffee etc. fruit salad, fromage blanc mousse with a different flavour every morning, croissants, pain au chocolat, a different type of cake every morning (if you don't stay longer than 10 nights like some of our happy guests), bread, 5 or 6 different cheeses, 2 types of ham, 8 different home-made jams and a choice of 5 fruit-juice.
6/ Dinner at l'Artemise: During peak season we are fully booked a few days in advance every single night. So I didn't tell twice that it was closed (our only night off is Tuesday), I just told that the restaurant was fully booked. When we could finally book a table for them on their last night, they cancelled at 7:30pm.
8/ Le Clos du Léthé is not a hotel : it is a B&B and my home : we try to make people feel like it is their home too and are always very disappointed when some guests just have no respect for the place and even worse : for our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
93
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I stayed in Clos du Lethe for 3 nights with my husband as part of our honeymoon and the hotel took our breath away. It is tucked away in the tiny hamlet of St Mediers. The entrance is an old wooden door fixed into an even older stone wall with a tiny sign posted to a tree next to it. When we were brought inside, it felt like we had found our own secret garden. There was a courtyard overgrown with lavender and the scent was intoxicating. We stayed in Quatorze, which is the smallest room but it was huge and absolutely perfect. I wished it was my own room at home. There was an ipod jammed with every type of music you could want, a huge screen for the internet and tv. The bathroom was exceptional with an open shower and bath big enough for two. ( We took some lavender from the garden to put in the water...amazing) You also have a little fridge for drinks and a safe. The decor was elegant and stylish. The bed was 2.4meters wide and had linen bedclothes, perfect for the heat of the south of France.
The rest of the hotel is a charming labyrinth steps, courtyards, terraces and rooms. The winter dining room leads to a chillout rooms which leads to the best steamroom I have ever found. A gigantic, fully decked out kitchen leads to the breakfast area which in turn leads to the infinity pool and ginormous sunloungers.
Breakfast is made from scratch every morning and served outside. It is delicious. It is also possible to use the kitchen yourself if you want to make some lunch which makes a nice change to eating out all the time.
There are a couple of small things that we found werent up to scratch. The rooms were not cleaned until about 5o clock every day and were not done to a very good standard, for example, the milk for tea and coffee was never replaced. The internet also was constantly down and when it was working, it was very slow. I don't know if it was the time of year but the pool area was infested with hornets all day long which was a bit worrying too.
All in all, this hotel was amazing and the perfect place to spend a honeymoon or romantic break. There is plenty to do in the area if you can drag yourself outside the door and I would happily recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzytea007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
411 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 556 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Clos du Lethe is situated in the tiny hamlet of St Mediers, which is about 6 km from the town of Uzes and 45 km from Avignon. The unassuming rustic entrance to Clos du Lethe opens onto a splendid array of lavender beds and water features with paths leading into and around the property. The property itself is a converted convent dating many centuries but brought up to date with a combination of quirky and arty design. The place is a real rabbit-warren and it takes a few wrong turns before you map out where everything is. Facilities include a salon plus mezzanine library with video art installations, a well-equipped gym, a steam room and hammam (better suited to the winter but doubling up for massage), a dining room (with more video art) and a very chefy kitchen (used for preparing breakfast and the occasional cookery lesson, but not really for guests to use), and, outside, a garden left up to its own devices and an infinity pool with plenty of sunbathing space.

The property has just five suites, ranging in price from 200 to 300 euros. We stayed in the middle of the range 'La Blanche', which has a 44 m sq bedroom, a 20 m sq bathroom and an outside garden area with large bean bags on decking plus a table and chairs. This was rather overlooked but excellent for sunbathing, sundowners and reading into the evening. The vaulted ceilings in both rooms and imaginative lighting added bags of character. The bed was a massive 2.5 m wide and supremely comfortable. The thick stone walls help to keep the interior cool, but mid-July daytime temperatures were well into the 30s, so nights got a bit sticky; fans would have helped. The toilet had an amusing glass chandelier suspended from the ceiling used as a toilet roll holder, but given that two of the arms were broken, safety inspectors would probably regard it as a health hazard. The rusty toilet brush would earn another black mark. Other facilties in the room include a flat screen TV with a Mac PC and fully-loaded iPod, a stack of books, a chiller mini-fridge and a microwave. Breakfasts were served on the terrace outside the kitchen adjacent to La Blanche's garden and were superb, highlights being the finely diced fruit salad, the lightly-whipped, fruit-flavoured fromage blanc, the freshly-baked mini gateaux, rustic breads and home-made jams.

Apart from breakfast, meals aren't usually provided at Clos du Lethe, so eating-out or bringing-in is the norm. There's also no honesty bar. The local Intermarche in nearby Montaren is as good a supermarket as you could hope to find, with an excellent deli section, fresh fish and a good range of wines which were very cheap compared to the UK. A local Blanc de Blanc at just 99 cents a bottle was actually drinkable. There are no restaurants within walking distance, so guests generally drive in or go to Uzes by taxi. The main focal point in Uzes, the Place aux Herbes, is replete with restaurants plying for the tourist trade, and large platefulls with unnecessary garnishings and pizzas en masse are highly visible. Food of greater refinement is available at Terroirs, still on Place aux Herbes, but catering for vastly fewer covers and offering locally-sourced food with a Carluccio-style deli for post-prandial purchases. Easily best of the lot is Clos du Lethe's owner's own, just-opened restaurant, L'Artemise, off the D982 out of Uzes. This offers small-scale French cuisine with an Asian twist in a stylish and relaxed setting, far away from pizzas and families with screaming kids. The 'menu surprise' isn't exactly cheap at 50 euros a head, but this is serious foody heaven with ingredients plucked straight out of the kitchen garden (a la Raymond Blanc) and unusual taste combinations (e.g. the strawberry and tomato gaspacho) in a beautiful setting. Intriguingly, the owner plans to add eight rooms above the restaurant plus a spa, potentially turning L'Artemise into the place to go to for 2011.

All in all, Clos du Lethe provides just about everything one needs for a week in the French sun, adding charm, style and seclusion for good measure. A few tweaks here and there would make it truly exceptional. And we'll be keeping an eager eye on developments at L'Artemise.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2010

This place was just stunning. The room was beautiful with some beautiful design touches. Pierre was incredibly welcoming, the breakfasts were tasty and the facilities (gym, lounge, pool area, dvd library) were truly first class.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

This is, hands down, one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The hotel is beautiful with thought put into every single corner. Pierre is a wonderful host, making breakfast every morning and hosting cooking lessons in the evenings. The rooms are all individually decorated and ours was exceptionally comfortable. This is a very small hotel so you have to appreciate that there is no restaurant / poolside service but there are a number of supermarkets and good restaurants near by. Small issue with wasps by the pool but perhaps this was due to the time of year we went. We will definately go back to clos.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cobnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We have never been in such a lovely place in southern France before.
The mix between french charm and latest design is absolutely fabulous.

Another thing which is really stunning is the breakfast. It' s the best we had with a lot of "spécialités" home-made by the owner Pierre. Try his breakfast creams you'll understand.

Always helpful, the service is really good. Just ask and you'll be helped.

If you want to try to cook french "cuisine" you should have a cooking course with Pierre.

All in all a charming, lovely place up to date with modern accents.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginestet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Bliss indeed.

Living and working in Paris, we are always looking for perfect destinations for a short break. We have our favourites, La Réserve in Geneva, One Aldwich in London, …. And then friends told us we must go to Uzès. So we looked it up on a map, checked out tripadvisor and went ahead and booked a couple of nights at the clos du lethe. Well to start with the destination, Uzés is simply mesmerising. The medieval town and the surrounding countryside are so romantic and enchanting you feel as if in another world. January may not be the best time to visit, we managed to miss the snow, but it was very cold, however this didn’t dampen the magic.

Arriving at the Clos du Lethe, set in a hamlet just outside Uzès, you push the little wooden door into the overgrown garden hiding a sprawling stone house. The room was just huge, with a bed so large that even W’s heavenly beds can’t compete. A large open bathroom, you can find the shower until you realise you are standing in it, and a bath large enough to call it a plunge pool!!!

Too cold to use the stunning infinity pool and too lazy to use the fitness room, but the steam room was perfect to sweat away the day to day stress, not to mention the few glasses of wine we enjoyed with our charming host Pierre afterwards.

We will definitely be back, and not just for two nights this time.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BungusParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montaren-et-Saint-Mediers
2.4 mi away
La Maison d'Uzes
La Maison d'Uzes
#4 of 12 in Uzes
176 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Entraigues
Hotel Entraigues
#1 of 12 in Uzes
296 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chateau d'Arpaillargues
Chateau d'Arpaillargues
#1 of 1 in Arpaillargues
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Le Clos de Pradines
Le Clos de Pradines
#1 of 1 in Saint-Quentin-la-Poterie
323 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chambres de l'Artemise
5.0 mi away
La Maison d'Ulysse
La Maison d'Ulysse
#1 of 2 in Baron
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clos du Lethe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clos du Lethe

Property: Clos du Lethe
Address: route de Saint Mediers | Montaren et Saint Mediers, 30700 Montaren-et-Saint-Mediers, Uzes, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Uzes > Montaren-et-Saint-Mediers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Montaren-et-Saint-Mediers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Clos Du Lethe Hotel Montaren-Et-Saint-Mediers
Clos Du Lethe Montaren-Et-Saint-Mediers, France - Uzes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing