We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“November at Anglers”
Review of Anglers Paradise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halwill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anglers Paradise
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Had a few days holiday spare so decided on a long weekend at Anglers. This was my third visit and ended up going alone. Spent most of the time on Easy Access including a night stint. Ended up with fourteen carp, the largest being over 15lb. Greeted by Ziggy on the Saturday lunchtime (with the bottle of wine of course!). Over the weekend I didn't see any other visitors and there didn't appear to be any other cars on site. Quite strange to have the place to yourself. All facilities were closed but I'd already been warned so it wasn't a problem. However the spreader bar on my landing net broke and the tackle shop was opened especially to help me out. I've always stayed at the Swim and this time was no exception. Love the quality of the accomodation, although I spent little time in there! Had a good walk round on the Monday. Interesting to see the specimen carp lake empty. Thoroughly enjoyed it and will be back there in May for a week.

Room Tip: Nirvana and Eldorado complex are well worth a try. Check if breakfasts are being served. The special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jools_and_Keith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 57 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Making a plan to fish in October is always a risk, but had we known about the site layout and distances to lakes, we may have chosen differently.
The Staff are nothing but helpful and friendly, from reception, shop and the free "Rig clinic" that
was a highlight of our stay. We got two hours of dedicated instruction, without feeling stupid.
Look around any lakes you may think of fishing before booking or paying for "extras", and don't
book ahead or you may be disappointed. Always talk with the Staff and Bailiffs... they know the
lakes, conditions, good spots, and are always happy to help you out.
You need to be fit to get "down" to the lakes as almost all require a good, if not major walk, and a barrow for kit is a must (to hire on site is £50 per week with £100 deposit). Getting around is not good in the wet, we tried it, and got muddy, tired and soaked. Fishing was really tough all week, but still managed 2x 16lb+ 1x 20lb+ (PB) Mirror,but I felt a little "taken in" by the hype of big fish. Should have been more realistic, but fishing rewards did not live up to expectation.
The accommodation was excellent and high standard with spotless, clean and well equipped.
We had a good time, but not a great time.... just a pity fishing was not better (blame the weather) will probably be the reason given) I am sure it could be wonderful in the summer on a hot day.
Never saw the "big man" Zyg .... he was probably in the dry.... having a good laugh at us!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidW5260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My family, friends and I have been regular visitors to Anglers Paradise for over 10 years.
Following our most recent visit in June this year, I felt it was finally necessary to put 'pen to paper' and write a review. Note that as a keen angler, this review is written from an Angler's perspective.

Fishing:
Anglers Paradise caters for freshwater anglers of every level and discipline. Set in idyllic surroundings, the complex has been cleverly designed and stockings carefully planned and managed, so as to offer anglers a diverse range of fishing scenarios.
There are many 'personal best' opportunities available at Anglers Paradise - whether it's bivvying up for days seeking a single run from a huge carp, chasing after the "Main Lake" monster catfish, bagging up on the "Beginners Carp" water or spending a day angling for ornamental Koi, you're likely to leave Anglers Paradise with fond memories and a yearning to return.

Tackle shop:
Very well stocked with everything you could need tackle, bait and KitKat wise!
We have used the Paradise baits freezer boilies for the last two years to great success (e.g. Carp up to 40+ lbs) - however remember to order your boilies in advance.
You'll find all the usual high quality name brands stocked in the shop. What's very apparent is that the stock line is clearly tailored to service the specific requirements of the complex's lakes and species.
You'll find Richard on hand in the shop - always helpful and generous with advice regarding tactics, bait, tackle etc.

Accommodation:
Homely, clean and spec'd to a high standard.
Beds are comfy and showers warm.
The properties are very well maintained.

Staff
You are met with a warm welcome from the moment that you arrive at Anglers Paradise - be it the cleaners, Richard in the tackle shop, or the big man Zyg himself - you instantly can't help but feel at home.
The grounds staff such as Marty are equally friendly, and full of helpful advice.
You should also consider a session with the on site guide, acclaimed Julian Cihdgey - the 'Rig Clinics' are excellent!

Bar
Steeped in angling history, and like the tackle shop - well stocked ;)
Definitely worth a visit!

So there you have it. In summary, if you love angling, then I highly recommend Anglers Paradise for your angling holiday. Hope you find this review helpful. Tight lines...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Went to here in October last year ok, however this time the fishing was very poor, the access lake had an air oxygen pump in the disable area, the other lake were poor to fish ,the road to the site was designed for a four by four the pot holes were very large and six to 8 inches deep.
The access for disable persons was very poor to the other lake, they seem to have forgot that we disabled people have to get our gear to the lakes. The only going thing was the accommodation, however it could have been more disabled frendly also the wet rooms downstairs needs a frosted windows. Second and last time we go hear. What a shame it has gone to the dogs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

reading through piccycows comments disabled are not accomadated as per the brochure my son found the bed to low to get a hoist under provided by ourselves but thanks to staff a problem solved the disabled shower was not working and had to be replaced for a new one plus had to have lock changed on the door needs to be made a 100% better for disabled there was only one lake to get to if in a manual wheelchair long haul coming uphill for the abled person found it ok pity there where extra charges for fishing the variuos lakes would have thought that would be included in the holiday charges hope comments taken on board for the disabled otherwise not to bad.

arthur r

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arthur688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just had another great week in Sunny Devon, once again the welcome was great with plenty of free wine in the Africa bar, We went for the retreat this year as there were 6 of us and it has been extended with on suit bathrooms, Superb accomodation. Fishing was great and there is plenty to choose from, after a hard few days on the bigger waters we had a great days sport on the float lake and beginners carp lakes, the floats just did not stay still, with plenty of carp to 7 or so pounds and lots af ornamental fish in the float lake.
For ease we went to the BBQ, steak and Ale pie night and curry night, all the meals were great and makes the whole thing a lot easier and means you can stay fishing for longer.
The other nights we went to the local pub - The junction Inn and had equally good meals at good prices.
spent every evening in the bar cahtting to freinds both old and new, won the quiz night which paid for a round of drinks, also worth a mention is the rig clinic- held by Joe this week and picked up a few good tips as I already adjusted to the types of rigs that produce on the bigger waters last year, even if you think you are an expert it's worth the hour because these guys see the fish coming out all year and see what rigs are working- give it a go. As usual all the staff were brilliant ant helpful and always have time to stop and chat about your day.
Already booked in for next year, but heading back again in September for a long weekend- Highly reccomend you try this superb holiday location even if it is just for one year- but it won't be trust me.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We are shortly off to Anglers Paradise for our yearly trip. We go as a group of 10 made up of 2 families and grandparents. This year will be our 11th or 12th visit (I've lost count!) & we all can't wait to return each year. I know of a number of groups that rebook to return each year and I think this shows the quality of the venue.
Out of our group of 10, we have 3 adult fishermen, 4 children that all fish & 3 non fishers. AP is perfect for all of us. The kids started fishing at AP age 3 years and have always caught some lovely fish. The swimming pool is great for the kids too if they want to take a break from the fishing (this doesn't often happen now!). I think I'm correct in saying that out of the 3 adult fisherman, all of their UK pb's have been at AP.
The accommodation can not be faulted which is lovely for the 3 of us that don't fish. Sitting on the patio of our villa with a lovely glass of chilled wine overlooking the lakes with the view of Dartmoor in the background is the perfect end to a sunny day ~ it never rains in Devon!
Also AP is situated in a great location if you want to explore both Devon & Cornwall and the staff in reception are always helpful in suggesting places to visit or restaurants to eat in.
The African bar is a great place to spend the evening (if you're not night fishing of course). If you're lucky enough to have caught a big one, you can complete one of the lake catch books. The collection of fishy pictures and artefacts are great for giving the kids something to look at, as well as the pool table and dart board now they are older. The children are always made to feel very welcome.
The wine & dine night on Sunday is a must for us. The food is always wonderfully delicious and plentiful (as is Zyg's wine which is also tasty but very strong so be careful!).

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Tracey038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anglers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anglers Paradise

Address: The Gables Winsford Lane, Halwill EX21 5XT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Halwill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Halwill
Number of rooms: 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing