We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprises Await !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakeview Hecla Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hecla Island
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We looked very forward to our short winter get-away. Right from the get-go we encountered disappointing aspects of this property. Starting with having to look for a plug-in for our car, climbing over snow banks, and still not finding one. (We know that this is a year of plentiful snow in our area). Desk personnel were most courteous, but they did not to think to mention that there was not a cook available for breakfast. That was not a problem, but they did not mention that instead, a courtesy continental breakfast was available. We did not discover this until we were going out walking.
Our room was large and spaceous, with ample storage space. The bathroom was not as clean as one would expect, and the carpet in the sleeping area could certainly have used a vacuuming , or better still, a cleaning. Bed was comfortable, with lovely pillows. View was very nice.
There was not a hotel amenities pamphlet, so we were not aware that the adult pool area was actually a mineral spa area. There was ongoing work being done in the Spa, so maybe this will be added at some point? We thought this was too important not to mention to guests. The second pool in that area, had a small sign in a plastic holder, but the print was almost too small to read without glasses. We would like to go back on a summer get-away. We know the area, trails, and would use the golf course.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,215 - 1,221 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed at Lakeview Hecla two nights at the tail end of the Feb long weekend. We had beautiful weather so we took advantage of free snowshoeing and cross country skiing. We brought our dog along and he had a blast! Our three teens stayed in their own room while we enjoyed some solitude in our own King room. The affordability of the rooms made this quite doable. The rooms were very nice and the restaurant service was great! The hotel comped us a meal after our check-in was delayed two hours, which was appreciated. The food was good, but Gluten-Free options were limited, which might prevent our return next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidJCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Love the pools in this place, the rooms, and even the lounging area at the front is so beautiful and peaceful. I wish I would've stayed longer! We had a good dinner at the restaurant as well. Customer service is awesome. I recommend this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Was very relaxed atmosphere and clean. Would highly recommend it to friends.
It's just nice to get away to a beautiful setting in the middle of nowhere
we packed our snowmobile's and rode right to the door trails were awesome and very scenic


  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great winter get away. Restaurant selections were limited but quality and quantity were great. More plainer choices would have been appreciated.
Skating rink needed better cleaning.
Waterpark was great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Lakeview Hecla for one night- we had heard about it opening up and wanted to drive 4.5 hours to check it out. First impression of the resort is how pretty it is from the outside! Clearly a great spot for snowmobiles as we saw 20+ parked outside. We had a pet friendly room which was very nice with 2 queen beds, and a pet bed for our dog. The bathroom was one of the nicest hotel bathrooms I've ever seen- very impressive! The beds were sleep number beds which I was very excited to try but ended in a restless night. We had supper and breakfast in the dining room, both meals we experienced good service and were delivered within a timely manner. The starter salad was just boxed lettuce with 3 rings of red onion and 3 cherry tomatoes- I felt that could of been improved. The adult pools were a very nice- there was a sign on the door stating no outside alcoholic allowed but there was a large group who had several 40's sitting by the pool being drank very fast.
Overall we had a great time at Hecla and can't wait to return in summer!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lovetravelling987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed at the Lakeview overnight with a group of people, all having children. The intent was to get away and give the kids a fun day in the pool, as our Winnipeg weather has been unreasonably cold this year. The pool was a great hit with all the kids and the slide was great for all the big kids, dads included! The resort was at full capacity, so I understand they were very busy, but the restaurant was terrible. We waited well over an hour for dinner and the food was unappealing when it arrived. I ordered a steak sandwich and it was cold and half fat. My daughter's grilled cheese sandwich was burnt and the cheese wasn't even melted. How hard is it to make a grilled cheese?? The manager and staff did try their best, but it was very lacking. Our second meal was breakfast the next morning and I had hopes that since it was not busy when we arrived, that the food would improve. Unfortunately this was not the case. The manager greeted and sat us, asking about our experience the night before, but did nothing about our reported dissatisfaction. The french toast I ordered arrived as if I had made it at home. It was okay, but nothing special, with not even a hint of garnish. Over-priced for the quality. Overall we enjoyed our stay, but there are no other options for meals, so I would not go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FebruarySunSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lakeview Hecla Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Hecla Resort

Address: Highway 8, Manitoba R0C 2R0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Hecla Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hecla Island
Price Range: $98 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Hecla Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 360 acres in Hecla Grindstone Provincial Park, MB the Lakeview Resort Hecla is a uniquely contemporary and comfortable destination. We invite you to enjoy our functional and spacious guestrooms or a luxurious suite. Explore nature right outside your window; rejuvenate and relax; make time to check out the outdoor biking and hiking trails; or taste a delectable treat or sip a beverage in our on-site Seagulls Restaurant & Lounge, visit the golf course or spa plus numerous other nearby attractions. Hecla has more for you to simply enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lakeview Hecla Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hecla Resort Hecla Island, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing