We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous, Dreamy and Relaxing Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de l'Epinay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de l'Epinay
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous, Dreamy and Relaxing Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We visited Chateau de l'Epinay this past August and had a wonderful time! Our hosts Valerie and Patrice Montuoro couldn't have been more welcoming, warm and accomodating! The Chateau was better than I had hoped for. It is even prettier than in the pictures. It has all the charm of ages past, but has all the conveniences of modern times too. It is decorated perfectly in keeping with what you would expect a lavish french historic abode to have. Our suite was enormous and fit for a queen! Valerie showed me the other rooms they rented out as well, and they were all equally beautiful in their appointments and decorations. My 13 year old son was thrilled to have the basketball court to play on and the gym to workout in! My daughter made a friend with the Montouro's youngest daughter. We all fell in love with their three dogs and enjoyed watching them play together; they made us miss our pets at home. Breakfast each morning was more than just a continental breakfast spread...amazing fresh fruit cup, fresh croissants and breads, eggs, cheeses, cereals. We had two wonderful dinners that were as good as any fine dining experience that you would find in any major city but without the need to travel to dinner and fairly priced. In the evenings we all enjoyed shooting pool and playing chess. We enjoyed swimming in the pool and soaking up the sun in the natural evironment. We borrowed bikes and had a great bike ride in the country. Within a 5 minute drive was a grand historic Chateau that we were able to tour. We all wished that we had spent more than just our two nights/days here. We would definitely come back!

Room Tip: all rooms are equally beautiful and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiffanyZ954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    12
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
67
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sissinghurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We called in as a 'stopover' on our way home to England following two weeks down South. The Chateau was perfect in every way - the setting, the building itself, our room, the views and the lovely comfortable bed which was a welcome treat after a long drive. The owners, Valerie and Patrice could not have been more hospitable. We ended up playing table tennis with them and their lovely children before going on an epic bike ride along the banks of the Loire and then a glass of wine by the river before heading back. I cannot recommend this wonderful place more. My words wouldn't do it justice. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank potteb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The chateau has some ten large comfortable high ceiling rooms, 32 hectares of grounds, ponds, odd horses and cows, a donkey here and there. Friendly service, good breakfast...probably not much different to other authentic chateaux nearby in the Loire Valley. But Valerie Montuoro, the good looking and charming owner, has a passion: dogs. Aslan, a sad looking but happy beautiful Briand, who will nuzzle up to you for affection. Emoi, a charming, easy going Bull Mastiff, ready to play with your children. Last but not least, Ilona: a four month old St Bernard puppy, who has doubled in weight in the last two months. Her passion is to pull off and eat your shoe laces...particularly if you have on sneakers....she will follow you to the lake, tugging and pulling and rolling over her big front paws. All three dogs wander through the hallways and lounges to greet guests, and show up in the dining room for breakfast. If you enjoy dogs, this is your place. Ideal for an introduction for your children, in case you don't have a St Bernard puppy at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunge1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have been twice to the Chateau de l'Epinay and we can't wait to go back.
The place is exceptional, beautifully restored and decorated. The owners and their staff are very nice and helpful.
The weather was very hot when we went so we were very happy to use the swimming pool, which fits the place beautifully.
I strongly recommend the Chateau to everybody!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierril P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Beautiful Chateau in a lovely parkland setting, Valerie the owner made us cakes for our arrival & couldn't do enough for us. The rooms are fabulous and we had the opportunity to view three of them - all wonderful!! The bathrooms are 5 star and the cleanliness is faultless. We will definitely return in the future & stay for longer, there is so much to do at the Chateau & in the surrounding area. This more than met our expectations, steeped in history, wonderfully thoughtful interior design, luxurious yet in keeping, to make a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St Peter
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

To classify Valerie and Patrice Montuoro's fabulous Chateau as a 'bed & breakfast' destination is to under-rate it totally. The superlative hospitality and breathtaking ambience of their Chateau has to make it a must-visit place to stay for anyone touring within 100km of St-Georges-sur-Loire. As the pleasant hosts say on their letterhead, "ice...tout est luxe, charme, et serenite", words with which this reviewer and his wife wholeheartedly agree, and which need no translation. The refurbished Chateau has delightful and well-appointed bedrooms, lovely public rooms, great breakfasts entirely in keeping with the best of French B&B traditions, and is situated in a large estate with a lake, a 'green' swimming pool, and many opportunities for sporting activities. Totally excellent, thoroughly enjoyable, an a jewel of the highest lustre.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnTiratsoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We could not actually make the trip as planned, but the owner Valerie was absolutely charming and a delight to deal with.

We cant wait to visit next year and if the 'pre visit service' is anything to go by, we will have a divine trip.

Thank you again Valerie for all your help and assistance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Georges-sur-Loire
19.8 mi away
Chateau de Noirieux
Chateau de Noirieux
#4 of 33 in Angers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel 21 Foch
Hotel 21 Foch
#1 of 33 in Angers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
15.2 mi away
Loire et Sens
Loire et Sens
#1 of 1 in Juigne-sur-Loire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel D'anjou
12.4 mi away
Logis Du Cavier
Logis Du Cavier
#1 of 1 in Avrille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
22.4 mi away
Chateau des Briottieres
Chateau des Briottieres
#1 of 2 in Champigne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de l'Epinay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de l'Epinay

Property: Chateau de l'Epinay
Address: Chateau de l Epinay, 49170 Saint-Georges-sur-Loire, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saint-Georges-sur-Loire
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Georges-sur-Loire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de l'Epinay 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de l'epinay is a wonderful small and luxury hotel in the Loire valley. You will enjoy french history visiting chateaux and gardens around but you can also enjoy sport facilities, the 3kms long lake where you can canoe from island to island. gym room(Technogym) natural pool and jacuzzi are at your disposal all along the day. Enjoy movie theatre and game room.... Our therapist is at your disposal in the Carita and Cinq Mondes institute to take care of you and make your stay unforgettable. Our Restaurant l'Orangerie will propose you an italian delicious menu. We look forward to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chateau de l'Epinay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing