We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beautiful...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de l'Epinay
Certificate of Excellence
Hollywood, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just beautiful...”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We found this chateau by chance, thank goodness! if you are looking to visit the Loire Valley this is the place to stay.The chateau and grounds are beautiful and very well kept. This chateau will transport you back in time but with all the modern ammenities (great bathrooms). The rooms are romantic and comfortable, we stayed in two different ones since we actually checked out to venture off but returned a day later for two more nights because we liked it so much. Great place to stay and do day trips to castles and vineyards in the area. It's easy to see that the family has great taste and pride in their home. They were warm, welcoming and very helpful if need be yet not intrusive at all. Don't be surprised to get a fresh, home cooked meal made by the lady of the manor herself, delicious. Good breakfast too. Be sure to take a canoe ride on the river behind the chateau, very peaceful. Overall a romantic, fun and beautiful experience, highly recommended! Rob & Liza

Room Tip: The Royal Palace suite was beautiful.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    14
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
74
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We spent one night at the Chateau de l'Epinay during the summer of 2012. Our room was dirty and clearly not cleaned by the staff, there was still rubbish in all of the bins, but worse of all, there were insects crawling everywhere in our room. We find 3 big spiders crawling in the room just after searching for 5 mins, and every time we switched a light on, it would attract literally 100-200 little flies and bugs. Our bathtub had probably 5 different types of dead insects in it when we arrived. Below one of the bathroom halogen lamps there was a thin layer of dead flies, that if you blew on it, you would notice a little cloud of dead insects. Needless to say. my girlfriend and I hardly slept at all, dreaming that insects were crawling in our bed. Around midnight I wanted to notify the owners/concierge of the severe infestation so that we could change room, but the house was completely empty with no instructions on how to get in contact with them. I complained in the morning, and after an average breakfast spoke with the owner. She gave us a 20% discount (paid €140 instead of €170) and a bottle of local wine which I felt did not at all compensate us for the horrible night. I would have only been content of the sleepless night with a 100% discount and a strong honest apology (owner was reluctant to do so, claiming that in the countryside it is nearly impossible to keep out the flies). Furthermore they have what they call a 'Natural Swimming Pool' which translates to a half pool/half swamp where you can happily swim amongst water lilies, tadpoles and frogs, which was not at all tempting for us, and I even question the hygiene of swimming in such a pool. We were extremely disappointed especially since the chateau itself is very charming and beautiful. Unfortunately I have to say that this was the worst night I have ever spent in a hotel, and the service nearly non-existent.

Room Tip: Ask for a guarantee that the room in which you're staying has absolutely no insects whatsoever o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Markus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

In looking for a base to stay for a 5 day exploration of the Loire Valley with my wife and two children in August 2012, I came across the Chateau de L'Epinay on the internet and booked immediately. What a great choice - as soon as we drove through the gates we were spellbound. Elegant both inside and out with fantastic grounds, including boating lake, tennis court, and fabulous biological/natural swimming pool - all achieved with without any degree of pretentiousness. Our hosts were welcoming, informative and helpful, and spoke excellent English (much to our discredit our French is pretty poor!). Our family room was spacious in the extreme and slept 4 comfortably, with the children in a small room off the main bedroom, and furnishings to match. A tranquil place to return after a day exploring the Loire. Our children were welcomed unreservedly and fell in love with the Chateau, and the owners dog, Aslan. They had the freedom to explore to house and grounds, including playing chess on the oversize board and the 'play room' on the top floor. This is more Chambres D'Hotes with style, and much the better for it. Evening meals are available, along with a selection wines and other drinks served on request. As for location it is perfectly placed to explore the western and central Loire being approx one hour from Chinon and a similar distance to the coast at La Baule. Being approx 10 mins from the A11, the Chateau de L'Epinay is also very well located for those wishing to break their journey to destinations further south along the west of France. I really cannot praise the Chateau enough, and speaking with Patrice, the owner, he advised us of plans for the future that will only enhance the experience of staying at the Chateau de L'Epinay. We will no doubt return one day and recommend it to anyone planning a trip to, or through, this area of France.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Historic, Amazing castle, delicious French foods, welcome atmosphere, sumptuous and authentic décor. A must while visiting the Loire Vallee.
I host my French Yoga Retreat in this location and look forward to the next one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DhyaniGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Loire valley has got so many chateaux, so why l'Epinay? Because it is beautiful, historical, and truely let you experience how it is like living in a Chateau. How many chateau would have a fountain outside their front door to welcome you when you arrive? When we arrived at the place, we were stunned by its outlook. The family was super friendly, and the dog managed to open the front door for us (what a surprising warm welcome). The room is tidy and spacious. The breakfast has got only only bread and jam, but also cooked eggs in whatever way we requested. When we left, the cat came out and took photo with us together. What a memorable stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaKissKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at Chateau de l'Epinay for one night as part of a 2 week roadtrip through France in July. Although it was the first hotel we stayed at outside of Paris, it remains my most memorable stay. As our GPS directed us off the highway, then off the national road to some country roads, we marvelled and the verdant green scenery. But nothing prepared us for the magnificent ivy-clad chateau as we slowly rolled our rental car through the gates of the hotel. The three-storey structure is truly something from a fairy tale, so fitting for any visit to the Western Loire castle region. We immediately noticed the corralled horses and the absolutely lovely flowers in bloom everywhere. I had called the proprietor, Valerie, around noon on a Sunday to confirm our reservation, and she had kindly recommended a restaurant in nearby picturesque Montjean-sur-Loire for dinner (few are open on a Sunday night). When we actually arrived, she explained the property to us, and showed us to our Bleu Roi room. What a fabulous room it was, exquisitely decorated, with fittings you might expect for a trusted houseguest rather than what you might find in a standard hotel. My two daughters, 4 and 1, particularly loved the little wind up doll that played "It's a Small World After All". The beds in both rooms were large and comfortable, and the iron-clawed bathtub in the warm and inviting bathroom was a very nice touch. The breakfast the next morning was also the most delicious and wonderful of any place in our 2 week trip, and again we were really made to feel like privileged houseguests. We would not only recommend the hotel to anyone staying in the region (which has some of the most wonderful white wines by the way, for sampling nearby like Savinnieres or Coteaux du Layon) but would consider dedicating a trip just to stay here again, hopefully for a full week!

Room Tip: All the rooms are individualized so we can only speak for the Bleu Roi room, but that was definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Public_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I travelled as part of a couple to stay at the Chateau for 3 nights. It was supposed to be our base for visiting Angers but the Chateau was so nice we spent more time there instead of the city! There are large grounds to wander about in and lots of activites such as canoeing, table-tennis, tennis, cycling, board games etc. There is a fresh water pool with sunbeds for relaxing too.
The whole house is very elegantly decorated and our hosts were really welcoming (and spoke English). Our room was the Refuge Aphrodite up in the roof so there was a lot of character, wooden beams etc. Tea and coffee facilities are in the room, fluffy dressing gowns in the bathroom etc.

Overall, it feels very much as if staying in a family house. The dogs and cats certainly took a shine to us and were very friendly!

One piece of advice is that the location is pretty rural so you definitely need a car (or want to cycle long distance), especially to go out for dinner in the evening - the nearby villages are tiny and don't have much to offer other than one restaurant and a bakery.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Georges-sur-Loire
19.8 mi away
Chateau de Noirieux
Chateau de Noirieux
#4 of 33 in Angers
235 reviews
12.7 mi away
Les 3 Lieux
Les 3 Lieux
#1 of 4 in Les Ponts De Ce
56 reviews
15.0 mi away
Loire et Sens
Loire et Sens
#1 of 1 in Juigne-sur-Loire
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel au Poisson d'Argent
Hotel au Poisson d'Argent
#1 of 1 in Le Mesnil-en-Vallee
58 reviews
12.3 mi away
Logis Du Cavier
Logis Du Cavier
#1 of 1 in Avrille
148 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel 21 Foch
Hotel 21 Foch
#1 of 33 in Angers
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de l'Epinay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de l'Epinay

Property: Chateau de l'Epinay
Address: Chateau de l Epinay, 49170 Saint-Georges-sur-Loire, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saint-Georges-sur-Loire
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Georges-sur-Loire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de l'Epinay 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de l'epinay is a wonderful small and luxury hotel in the Loire valley. You will enjoy french history visiting chateaux and gardens around but you can also enjoy sport facilities, the 3kms long lake where you can canoe from island to island. gym room(Technogym) natural pool and jacuzzi are at your disposal all along the day. Enjoy movie theatre and game room.... Our therapist is at your disposal in the Carita and Cinq Mondes institute to take care of you and make your stay unforgettable. Our Restaurant l'Orangerie will propose you an italian delicious menu. We look forward to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de l'Epinay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing