We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient for Gros Morne Theatre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cow Head
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
318 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Convenient for Gros Morne Theatre”
Reviewed July 1, 2006

Our room looking out over the Bay was standard motel fare, but the location was good because we had spent the day taking the Western Brook boat trip and seeing the northern most parts of Gros Morne and then were heading up to St. Anthony. We saw "Ethie" which was a locally written play about a historic ferry wreck. This included dinner and I am in agreement about the food, it was not very good. Dinner theatres tend to not have the best food because they are serving so many at once, but based on the other traveler's comment, perhaps we would have been no better off eating in the main dining room. While neither the food or the play were world class, we did enjoy our theatre experience overall.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    90
    38
    6
    4
See reviews for
34
94
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2006

Clean and comfortable rooms.
Food in restaurant was truly appalling.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harrietgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
We appreciate your comments. You'll be glad to know that thanks in part to your review, we have made major changes to our restaurant. I'm sure that if you come to see us again, you'll be impressed! All comments are welcome as they help us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40.44N 80.01W
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2006

Stayed one night in one of the cabins. It was very clean with plenty of room. The motel has a small, but adequately stocked gift shop. The dining room was very clean. It has a great view of the harbour. The staff was moderately friendly. The food; however, wasn't even up to average. It seemed to be of the same quality as a frozen dinner nuked in the microwave. It seemed to be the only place in town to eat, so if you're just looking to fill your belly, that's what you'll be filling it with. The most noticeable thing about Cowhead and the Shallow Bay Motel was that the sunset was absolutely stunning and after that sunset, if you were to go outside and listen, it was so quiet, you'd be able to hear a pin drop.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thanks for your review. There have been major changes to our menu and food preparation standards since your visit. Thank you for advising us of your experience. This was most helpful in evaluating our restaurant. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st john's
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2005

For a visit to GrosMOrne National Park I'd rather stay in Rocky Harbour or Trout River or Norris Point. There are more restaurants, more hiking trials. But Cow Head is good for the north part of the Park, and for the theatre beside it. The cabins are situated on the other side of the road from the water, so the setting is not great. They are clean and equipped simply but are adequate, I thought the bathroom was a little dated but the pressure for the water is good. The kitchen is nice and the microwave is a nice touch. They are quiet too, and the motel is okay too.

Helpful?
2 Thank kortney~andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Agatha Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2005

Stayed at the Shallow Bay Motel while on a recent trip up the west coast of Newfoundland. Room very clean, friendly reception desk staff, The room we booked was a suite with a jacuzzi & fireplace (electric) . The price was very reasonable for this type of room. We dined in the restaurant for supper and Breakfast and were happy with the quality of food and the friendly wait staff. The Gros Morne theatre is right beside the motel, but we attended a " Neddy Night" in the motel which was a group of six singers and musicians playing Newfoundland music and telling stories. Very entertaining. We will definitely stay there on our next trip to NF.

Helpful?
6 Thank countrypaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
We are so pleased that your experience was a positive one! Our team works very hard to make our guests' stay a pleasant one. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Head
23.2 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
23.5 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seabreeze B & B
Seabreeze B & B
#1 of 3 in Cow Head
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Gros Morne Suites
Gros Morne Suites
#6 of 15 in Rocky Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dockside Motel
Dockside Motel
#1 of 2 in St Barbe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Genevieve Bay Inn
Genevieve Bay Inn
#2 of 2 in St Barbe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins

Property: Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Address: 193 Main Street | P.O. Box 44, Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 2A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Cow Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cow Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Gros Morne National Park. Home of Gros Morne Theatre Festival, live theatre May - September. Minutes away from breathtaking scenery--Western Brook Fjords Pond boat tour, Shallow Bay Beach, and 18-hole golf course. 84 units--many in room comforts. Our facility offers--free Wireless Internet, Restaurant, Outdoor heated pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Exercise Room, Gift Shop, ATM and Laundromat. Combining the amenities of a 3.5* motel with luxurious oceanfront rooms. 2 Exits--North & South (drive through community). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and HRS so you can book your Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shallow Bay Motel And Cabins
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins Hotel Cow Head
Shallow Bay Hotel
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins Cow Head, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing